Institutional Awards and Prizes

The Arthur B. McDonald Research Chairs

The Arthur B. McDonald Chairs were established in 2016 as a way to honour Dr. McDonald, a Dalhousie Alumnus and Nobel Laureate, and to recognize and retain professors of high-calibre at the university.

Terms of Reference [PDF - 96KB]

The President’s Research Excellence Awards

The Dalhousie University President’s Research Excellence Awards recognize the research achievements of Dalhousie University faculty at all stages of their career.  

Emerging Investigator

The President’s Research Excellence Awards for Emerging Investigators have been created to honour those who, early in their careers, have made noteworthy contributions to Dalhousie’s research culture.

Terms of Reference [PDF - 81KB]

Research Impact

The President’s Research Excellence Awards for Research Impact have been created to recognize researchers who have, in recent years, made a major and impactful contribution to their field of research.  

Terms of Reference [PDF - 106KB] 

University Research Professorships

The title of University Research Professor is granted to a limited number of individual Dalhousie faculty members who have achieved distinction in scholarship. 

Terms of Reference [PDF]

Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Chairs

The Killam Chairs are awarded to academics of the highest distinction at Dalhousie, with appointments of up to five years. 

Belong Research Fellowship Awards

In keeping with Dalhousie's strategic plan and commitment to increasing diversity and gender equity, and to support and enhance research excellence across the institution, the Offices of the Provost & Vice-President Academic and the Vice-President, Research & Innovation launched the Dalhousie Belong Research Fellowship Awards on November 2, 2018. The goal of the fellowship awards is to provide pre-tenure faculty members from equity-seeking groups with support to further research in their respective fields. 

Additional information can be found here



Sorayya Askari
School of Occupational Therapy, Faculty of Health 
Research Project:
Factors Describing Cognitive Fatigue in Multiple Sclerosis

Timothy Bryan 
Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Research Project: Hate Crimes in Nova Scotia

Lisa Binkley
Department of History, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Research Project: Makazinanag: Many Tender Feet


Dr. Parisa Ghanouni
School of Occupational TherapyFaculty of Health 
Research Project:  Challenges and Facilitators During Transition of Adolescents with Autism to Adulthood

Shauntay Grant 
Department of EnglishFaculty of Arts and Social Sciences
Research Project: Rewriting Canadian folklore, Repositioning Black Canada:  A case from old Nova Scotia

Dr. Barbara Hamilton-Hinch
School of Health and Human PerformanceFaculty of Health
Research Project:  Benefits or Challenges of Culturally-Specific Programs in Attributing to Students’ Success in Post-secondary Education

Dr. Fadi Oudah
Civil Engineering (Structures and Solid Mechanics)Faculty of Engineering
Research Project: Reliability-Based Approach for Optimizing Tidal Turbine Base Foundation for Reduced Weight

Dr. Melanie Zurba
School of Resource and Environmental StudiesCollege of Sustainability 
Research Project: Designing Governance Frameworks for Protected Areas with Meaningful Indigenous Participation

If there are awards or recipients missing from this page, please contact