International and National Awards and Prizes

The Order of Canada

This award recognizes a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation.

The Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering

This medal recognizes research contributions characterized by both excellence and influence.  It is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated sustained excellence and influence in research, for a body of work conducted in Canada that has substantially advanced the natural sciences or engineering fields.

Killam Prize

Five Killam Prizes are awarded annually to distinguished Canadian scholars in each field of health science, natural sciences, engineering, social sciences and humanities.  The prizes are not related to a particular achievement, but rather are given in recognition of a distinguished career and exceptional contributions in one of the above fields.  The prizes are awarded with the expectation that the prize recipients will continue to contribute to the research community.

Royal Society of Canada 

As Canada’s senior National Academy, the RSC exists to promote Canadian research and scholarly accomplishment in both of Canada’s official languages, to mentor young scholars and artists, to recognize academic and artistic excellence, and to advise governments, non-governmental organizations, and Canadians generally on matters of public interest.

Royal Society of Canada Fellows

This Fellowship is awarded to recognize outstanding contributions to the natural and social sciences, in the Arts and in the Humanities.

Dalhousie University Fellows:

Janice Graham Academy of Social Sciences 2018  
Sara Iverson  Academy of Science 2018  
Marlon Lewis Academy of Science 2018 Video
Ian Meinertzhagen Academy of Science 2018 Video
Sherry Stewart Academy of Social Sciences 2018 Video
Michael Ungar Academy of Social Sciences 2018 Video
Dr. Julia Wright  Academy of the Arts and Humanities 2017  
Richard Devlin Academy of Social Sciences 2015  
Jeffrey Hutchings Academy of Science 2015  
Kenneth Frank Academy of Science 2013  
Thomas J. Marrie Academy of Science 2013  
Mary Anne White Academy of Science 2013  
Dr. John Cullen Academy of Science 2012  
Andrew Roger Academy of Science 2012  
Bernard Boudreau Academy of Science 2011  
Prof. Raymond Klein Academy of Social Sciences 2011  
Prof. Jocelyn Downie Academy of Social Sciences 2010  
Harold Robertson Academy of Science 2010  
Dr. Francoise Baylis Academy of the Arts and Humanities 2007  
James Drummond Academy of Science 2005  
Prof. Jeff Dahn Academy of Science 2001  
Axel Becke Academy of Science 2000  
John Edwards Academy of Social Sciences 2000  
Benjamin Rusak Academy of Science 1999  
Susan Sherwin Academy of the Arts and Humanities 1999  
Dr. Manfred Jericho Academy of Science 1998  
Michael Gray Academy of Science 1996  
Dr. Anthony Bowen Academy of Science 1995  
Dr. Friedrich Gaede Academy of the Arts and Humanities 1995  
Dr. Patrick McGrath Academy of Social Sciences 1995  
Dr. Gilbert Winham Academy of Social Sciences 1994  
John Fraser Academy of the Arts and Humanities 1993  
Dr. Hans Kreuzer Academy of Science 1993  
Dr. W. Doolittle Academy of Science 1991  
Judith Fingard Academy of the Arts and Humanities 1991  
Dr. D.J. Wallace Geldart Academy of Science 1986  
Dr. Brian Hall Academy of Science 1985  
Dr. John Flint Academy of the Arts and Humanities 1980  
Dr. Denis Stairs Academy of Social Sciences 1979  
Dr. Peter Fillmore Academy of Science 1976  
Dr. Howard Clark Academy of Science 1975  
Leo Vining Academy of Science 1974  
James Eayrs Academy of Social Sciences 1965


Royal Society of Canada McNeil Medal

The McNeil Medal is intended to highlight the important role that science plays within our society and to encourage the communication of science to students and the public. 

Dalhousie University McNeil Medal recipients:

Dr. Francoise Baylis
Faculty of Medicine 

Dal News: Dal prof recieves prestigious McNeil Medal from Royal Society of Canada

Dr. Mary Anne White
Faculty of Science

Dal News: Ions in the fire


Royal Society of Canada Henry Marshall Tory Medal

Established in 1941, the Henry Marshall Tory Medal is awarded for outstanding research in a branch of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics, physics or an allied science.

Dalhousie University Henry Marshall Tory Medal recipients:

Dr. Jeff Dahn
Faculty of Science

Dal News: Two Dal researchers honoured with prestigious awards from Royal Society of Canada


Royal Society of Canada McLaughlin Medal

Established in 1978, the McLaughlin Medal is awarded for important research of sustained excellence in any branch of medical sciences.

Dalhousie University McLaughlin Medal recipients:

Dr. Ford Doolittle
Faculty of Medicine

Dal News: Two Dal researchers honoured with prestigious awards from Royal Society of Canada


The Governor General's Innovation Awards

The purpose of the Governor General’s Innovation Awards is to inspire Canadians to embrace innovation and to emulate innovative, entrepreneurial risk-takers who have developed new or better ways of creating value and who are having a meaningful impact on our quality of life.

Prix Galien Research Award

The Prix Galien is the most prestigious award in the field of Canadian pharmaceutical research and innovation.  Referred to as the Nobel Prize of pharmaceutical research, it recognizes the efforts and achievements of pharmaceutical research and development.

Dalhousie recipients

Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation fellowship

The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation fellowship offers sustained support to intellectuals who are recognized for their productivity, their commitment to communicating their findings to the public, and their ability to imagine innovative solutions to some of the major issues facing society.

NSERC - E.W.R Steacie Memorial Fellowships

NSERC’s E.W.R Steacie Memorial Fellowships honour the memory of Dr. Edgar William Richard Steacie, an outstanding chemist and research leader who made major contributions to the development of science in Canada during, and immediately following, World War II.

The Fellowships are awarded to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising university faculty who are earning a strong international reputation for original research.

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences Fellowship

The Canadian Academy of Health Sciences brings together Canada’s top-ranked health and biomedical scientists and scholars to make a positive impact on the urgent health concerns of Canadians.

These Fellows, drawn from all disciplines across our nation’s universities, healthcare and research institutes, evaluate Canada’s most complex health challenges and recommend strategic, actionable solutions.

The Canadian Academy of Engineering

The Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) comprises many of the country’s most accomplished engineers, who have expressed their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of the country and its enterprises. The Academy is an independent, self-governing and non-profit organization established in 1987 to serve the nation in matters of engineering concern.

The Academy is an active member of the International Council of Academies of Engineering and Technological Sciences (CAETS), which involves 26 leading countries.

Fellows of the Academy are nominated and elected by their peers, in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession. Fellows work closely with the other national engineering associations in Canada, and with the other Canadian academies that comprise the Council of Canadian Academies.

If there are awards or recipients missing from this page, please contact