Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Senate

What we do

The Senate is the university's senior academic governing body

It is responsible for:

  • the approval of new programs
  • approving the granting of degrees and diplomas
  • managing the reviews of Faculties, Centres and Institutes

The Senate is also responsible for setting academic regulations (including regulations governing student conduct and discipline), which affect the University as a whole, and it establishes the academic calendar.


Mailing Address:


University Secretariat - Senate 
Suite 210,
Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building
Dalhousie University
6299 South Street
PO Box 15000, Halifax, NS 
Canada  B3H 4R2

E-mail: senate@dal.ca
Tel:  902-494-3715

Map showing University Secretariat location on Studley campus (Building C300).

Officers of Senate:

Chair of Senate Kevin Hewitt
kevin.hewitt@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-2315
Senate Vice-Chair (Student Affairs) Tanya Packer
tanya.packer@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-2615
Senate Vice-Chair (Academic Programs)   Jeff Hoyle
hoylej@dal.ca
Tel. 902-893-3405

Staff:

Secretary of Senate

Susan Brousseau
susan.brousseau@dal.ca
902-494-1598

Associate Secretary of Senate & Manager, Secretariat Operations
Sundari Pashupathi
sundari.pashupathi@dal.ca
902-494-3715
Manager, Discipline & Appeals Robert (Bob) Mann
bob.mann@dal.ca
902-494-7619

Senate Coordinator, 
Senate & Senate Committees

Ann Pyne (filling in for one year leave)
ann.pyne@dal.ca
902-494-6564

Nakita Strowbridge (on leave until April 2019)

Coordinator, Discipline & Appeals

Kara Miller
kara.miller@dal.ca
902-494-8097