Skip to main content

Our leadership

From academics to research, we benefit from strong, focused leadership across our 13 faculties and units supporting a student population of more than 21,000.
Blurred green leaves in the foreground with the stone exterior of Dal's Henry Hicks building focused in the background.

President

The president and vice-chancellor is the chief executive officer, responsible to the Board of Governors and to the Senate for the supervision of Dalhousie University’s administrative and academic work. Thirteen presidents have led Dalhousie to date. 

Chancellor

The chancellor is the titular head of Dalhousie University, carrying out the ceremonial and official functions of the university. There have been nine chancellors of Dalhousie to date.

President's Executive

The President’s Executive is accountable for the coordination among the offices that report directly into the President & Vice-Chancellor. 

Its role is to prioritize and accelerate key initiatives (often transformational, multi-disciplinary and / or cross-functional) that carry significant impact for the University, while modeling the values and behaviour expected at every level of Dalhousie University.

Provost and Vice-President Academic
Dr. Frank Harvey

Affiliated offices:

All of Dalhousie’s deans report to the provost, as do three vice-provosts (Student Affairs, Planning & Analytics and Equity & Inclusion) and the two associate vice-presidents academic.

Dr. Alice B. Aiken, CD, PhD, MSc, BScPT, BSc

902-494-6513
alice.aiken@dal.ca

Office contacts:

Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building 
6299 South St, Suite 231 
PO Box 15000 
Halifax, Nova Scotia 
B3H 4R2

 

Managing director, research and innovation 

Trevor Weissent, MBA, CPA, CMA, PMP

902-229-1294 
trevor.weissent@dal.ca

 

Chief of staff  

Dr. Martha Smith Brillant 

902-494-1896 
mbrillant@dal.ca

 

Senior Manager, Research & Innovation Communications 

Andrew Riley 

902-494-4148 
andrew.riley@dal.ca

 

Manager of research awards & special projects 

Maureen Keough 

902-494-7706 
maureen.keough@dal.ca

 

Executive assistant and special projects coordinator 

Jeana Daye 

902-494-6513 
jeana.daye@dal.ca

 

Administrative assistant to associate vice-president research 

Jessie Furze 

902-494-3162
jfurze@dal.ca

Gitta Kulczycki  

902-494-3862  
gitta@dal.ca

Office contacts:

Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building 
Dalhousie University 
6299 South Street 
PO Box 15000 
Halifax, NS B3H 4R2

 

Chief of staff
Sarah Sherwood 

s.sherwood@dal.ca

 

Operations manager and executive assistant
Florence Millard 

Room 108 
902-494-3862 
florence.millard@dal.ca

Quick links:

Office contacts:

Coburg Place, 6389 Coburg Road 
Dalhousie University 
P.O. Box 15000 
Halifax, NS  B3H 4R2                                                                      
Phone: 902-494-8801

Executive assistant and office manager  
Becky Merritt 

902-494-8534 
becky.merritt@dal.ca

Chief of staff and executive director, administration  
Kate Somers 

902-494-5138 
kate.somers@dal.ca

 

Grace Jefferies-Aldridge

gjefferi@dal.ca

Affiliated offices:

Erin Stewart-Reid

902-494-1225
erin@dal.ca

Quick links:

Vice-provosts, associate, and assistant vice-presidents

Our vice-provosts and associate and assistant vice-presidents oversee the operations of the university as established by the university's strategic plan

Associate vice-president, academic

Dr. Leslie Phillmore

avpa@dal.ca

University registrar and assistant vice-president, enrolment management

Adam Robertson 

adam.robertson@dal.ca

Vice-provost, equity and inclusion

Dr. Theresa Rajack-Talley 

902-494-1920 
theresa.rajack-talley@dal.ca

Assistant vice‑provost, equity and inclusion

Dr. Barb Hamilton-Hinch 

b.hamilton-hinch@dal.ca

Vice-provost, student affairs

Assistant vice-provost, student engagement and success

Assistant vice-provost, campus living and student wellbeing

Melissa MacKay 

melissa.mackay@dal.ca

Vice-provost, planning and analytics

Assistant vice-provost, planning and strategy

Leanne French-Munn 

902-499-6624 
leanne.french.munn@dal.ca

Associate vice-president, research

Dr. Jennifer Bain 

902-494-3268 
jennifer.bain@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, research services

Dr. Marlies Rise 

902-943-8016 
marlies.rise@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, innovation and entrepreneurship

Jeff Larsen 

902-233-3459  
jeff.larsen@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, industry relations, Office of Commercialization and Industry Engagement

Stephen Hartlen 

902-494-3237 
stephen.hartlen@dal.ca

Chief financial officer and assistant vice-president, financial services

Cheryl Earle 

902-494-2816 
cearle@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, facilities management (acting)

 

Craig Arthur 

902-494-2789
craig.arthur@dal.ca

Chief information officer and assistant vice-president of information technology

Jody Couch 

jcouch@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, ancillary services (acting)

Assistant vice-president, housing and conference services (acting)

Linda Parker

linda.parker@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, development

Assistant vice-president, alumni & external engagement (acting)

Assistant vice-president, global relations

Balakrishnan Prithiviraj, PhD 

bprithiviraj@dal.ca

Assistant vice-president, communications, marketing, and creative services

General Counsel and University Secretary

Deans

Deans are among the senior academic and administrative leaders of the university. They are the academic and administrative leaders of their Faculties. Both as academics and as managers, they provide models of performance and behaviour for their colleagues. 

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for the overall conduct, management, administration and control of the property, revenue and business of the university.

Senate

The Senate is responsible for the approval of new programs and the granting of degrees and diplomas, setting academic regulations and establishing the academic calendar.

Dalhousie Advisory Council

The Dalhousie Advisory Council provides the president with international strategic counsel on issues that may impact the university, on the development and evaluation of its strategic directions and more.