Awards & grants

School of Nursing Awards and Scholarships

Scholarships and funding awards are essential to supporting student progress. We encourage master's students to apply for funding awards with the assistance of their supervisors, and require that PhD students apply for a minimum of one funding award during their program of study.

A number of awards and scholarships are available to graduate students and alumni of the School of Nursing.  Applicants who meet all criteria will be invited to apply to the pertinent award/scholarship.

Alexandra Hirth Award for Excellence in Nursing Research

Awarded annually to a full- or part-time student in the Dalhousie University MScN or PhD in Nursing program whose thesis has the potential to contribute to the development of nursing knowledge and whose research focuses on issues related to individuals or families living with chronic illness.

Parkin Family Nurse Practitioner Scholarship

Dr. Robert P. Parkin established the scholarship fund as an initiative to assist in the education of well-trained nurse practitioners.

This renewable scholarship is awarded to full- or part-time students entering Master of Nursing program, Nurse Practitioner option.  The awarding committee will consider students with an outstanding GPA who have shown ability, interest, and commitment to work in underserviced communities

Masters Alumni Leadership Award

Established by the Dalhousie University Nursing Alumni Association, this award is given annually to a graduating student in the Master of Nursing program who has demonstrated significant leadership during her/his years of study.

The intent is to recognize a student who models leadership while managing the multiple responsibilities of a Master's student.

Students graduating in the Fall or Spring of the current academic year are eligible. Deadline for applications is April 30.

Katherine and Robert MacDonald Scholarship

Provides financial assistance to a student who is studying in a non-thesis option of the Master of Nursing program at Dalhousie University and who has demonstrated excellence in clinical nursing practice at the end of the first year of study. The application deadline is May 31.

The School of Nursing Masters Scholarship

Awarded annually to a successful applicant for part-time study, whose academic background is outstanding and who demonstrates the contribution that they can make to nursing and health care as an outcome of graduate study in nursing.

Margaret Cragg Award

This award supports a graduate student whose research is in the area of violence against women and/or children or people living in high-risk or disadvantaged environments.

Full- or part-time graduate students should apply by October 15, supplying a brief description of the work they propose to do in the area of violence.

Electa MacLennan Memorial Scholarship

Awarded annually to a graduate of the School of Nursing, Dalhousie University (from either the Baccalaureate or Masters degree program), who demonstrates potential for or shows active involvement in advancing the nursing profession in Canada.

Applicants must be accepted as a full-time student or have completed three credits (1/3 of a graduate program) as a part-time student in a recognized School of Nursing. The deadline for application is May 31.

Helen Watson Memorial Scholarship

Established to recognize Helen Watson’s lifelong commitment to promoting excellence in community health nursing practice.

Applicants must be enrolled in the PhD (Nursing) program; normally have a minimum GPA of 3.66 in their previous degree; and submit a letter outlining their contribution to nursing leadership, how their research will improve health outcomes in their chosen practice area, and how their research will influence health and social policy to improve health and the health care system.

School of Nursing PhD Scholarship

Awarded annually to a student(s) enrolled in the PhD (Nursing) program.

Sigma Theta Tau International Rho Rho Chapter Award

Awarded to recognize outstanding scholarship by qualified nurses and/or nursing students that will advanced knowledge in the area of nursing science and practice.  The applicant must be an active member of the Rho Rho Chapter.

Ruth May Award

Awarded annually to a student in the Nurse Practitioner option of the Master of Nursing program at Dalhousie University who has demonstrated clinical excellence and professional growth.

Dr. R.M. MacDonald Scholarship

Awarded annually to a student in the Nurse Practitioner option of the Master of Nursing program at Dalhousie.

Margaret Inglis Hagerman Graduate Scholarships

Awarded annually to a full-time student entering the Master of Nursing or Master of Science in Nursing program at Dalhousie who has demonstrated leadership qualities.

Lottie M. Morrison Scholarship

Awarded annually to assist a student entering a graduate nursing program at Dalhousie with the intention of furthering their studies in the area of mental health.

Anna Trenholm Memorial Prize

The prize is awarded to one or more graduates of the Nurse Practitioner program who in the judgment of the faculty show(s) the most promise for contributing to the health of a disadvantaged Canadian community.

Support from the Faculty of Graduate Studies

Graduate students at the School of Nursing are also eligible to apply for several awards offered by the Faculty of Graduate Studies. Find more information about these institutional awards.

Teaching and research assistantships

Teaching assistantships are available every year. Students will be advised electronically of all opportunities for teaching and research assistantships.