Faculty Awards Programs

Dalhousie Diversity Faculty Awards

The Dalhousie Diversity Faculty Awards (DDFA) program is a recruitment initiative designed to increase the number of faculty members who come from historically under-represented groups. The program was introduced in 2011 in partnership with the Dalhousie Faculty Association and augmented through collective bargaining. 

To date, Dalhousie has awarded 20 DDFA's as follows:

Penghao Xiao Department of Physics & Atmospheric Science 2021
Hamid Afshari Department of Industrial Engineering 2021
Brian Gillis Department of English 2020
Michelle Williams Schulich School of Law 2020
Suresh Eshwarathasan Department of Mathematics & Statistics 2019
Lisa Binkley Department of History 2019
Asha Jeffers Department of English 2019
Saurabh Chitnis Department of Chemistry 2018
Maria Dugas Schulich School of Law 2018
Leonardo Perez Fountain School of Performing Arts  2018
Miao Zhang Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences  2018
Rita Orji Faculty of Computer Science 2017
Eric Oliver Department of Oceanography 2017
Ren Thomas School of Planning 2016
Ajay Parasram Department of International Development Studies 2016
Tamara Franklin Department of Psychology & Neuroscience 2015
Diana Lewis Department Sociology & Social Anthropology 2015
Shauntay Grant Department of English 2015
Hany El Naggar Department of Civil & Resource Engineering 2014
Amy Bombay School of Nursing and Department of Psychiatry 2014

If you have questions about the Dalhousie Diversity Faculty Awards Program, please contact Marlo Shinyei, Academic HR Consultant, marlo.shinyei@dal.ca or 902.494.2965.