Presidents of Dalhousie

Although Dalhousie was established in 1818 by George Ramsay, the ninth Earl of Dalhousie, it did not function as a college until 20 years later.

The first president was Rev. Thomas McCulloch, whose term was from 1838 to 1843. He was a graduate of Glasgow University; a Scottish divine (Presbyterian); founder of Pictou Academy; and taught logic, Greek, political economy and natural philosophy.

After Dr. McCulloch’s death in 1843, Dalhousie closed its doors for 20 years. When it reopened, Rev. James Ross served as president from 1863 to 1885. A pupil of McCulloch’s at Pictou, Ross was also a Presbyterian minister. He joined Dalhousie as a professor; under his presidency, women were admitted to the university.

Rev. John Forrest; 1885 to 1911. Known as “Lord John,” he was the first George Munro professor of history and political economy, joining Dalhousie in 1880.

Dr. Arthur Stanley MacKenzie, 1911 to 1931. The first non-cleric and a Dalhousie graduate of 1885, he taught physics at John Hopkins University and Dalhousie (1905-1910).

Dr. Carleton Wellesley Stanley, 1931 to 1945. A University of Toronto and Oxford graduate, he taught English at Toronto and Greek at McGill. He was also a Canadian correspondent of the Manchester Guardian (1913 to 1916).  

Dr. Alexander Enoch Kerr served as President from 1945 to 1963. He was the second Dalhousie graduate to become president. Born in Louisbourg, he was the third Presbyterian minister, and principal of Pine Hill Divinity Hall (1939 to 1945).

Dr. Henry Davies Hicks was Dalhousie’s leader from 1963 to 1980. A Rhodes Scholar, lawyer, politician, Premier and first Minister of Education of Nova Scotia in the 1950s, he is the only Dalhousie president (to date) to become a Senator of Canada.

Dr. William Andrew MacKay, 1980 to 1986. Born in Halifax; former law professor, Dean of Law, and vice-president, Dalhousie; first law professor and former law school administrator and the fourth Dalhousie graduate to become president; former Ombudsman of Nova Scotia. Dr. MacKay went on to become a judge of the Federal Court of Canada.

Dr. Howard C. Clark, 1986-1995. Born in New Zealand; taught chemistry and held administrative posts at the Universities of Western Ontario, British Columbia, Auckland and Guelph. While at Guelph he held a position as vice-president. 

Dr. Tom Traves, 1995-2013. As president, Dr. Traves oversaw mergers with the Technical University of Nova Scotia and the Nova Scotia Agricultural College, and spearheaded the $280 million Bold Ambitions Fundraising campaign. Dr. Traves also presided over a significant reshaping of campus, including the addition of new buildings and student spaces.

Dr. Richard Florizone, 2013-2018. Under Dr. Florizone's leadership, Dalhousie reached new heights in enrolment, research income and fundraising; strengthened academic programs and Dalhousie's physical campus; advanced research and innovation of vital importance to the region and the world; and made real progress in creating a Dalhousie where all truly belong. Dr. Florizone left Dalhousie poised to confidently advance our mission as we enter our third century.

Dr. Deep Saini, 2020-2022. Dr. Saini’s tenure began at the start of 2020, just as the COVID-19 pandemic began. In the months that followed, Dr. Saini ably guided Dalhousie through the uncharted, challenging waters of remote work and learning. Dr. Saini provided renewed vision through his leadership, helping launch Dalhousie's Third Century Promise strategic plan in 2021.