Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Facilities & Laboratories

The Earth Sciences Department at Dalhousie houses a number of world-class laboratory research facilities, some of which operate as regional facilities with significant use by researchers outside the Earth Sciences department. Most of these labs are used for honours and graduate student teaching and thesis research. Some labs are staffed by university funded technologists, while other labs have grant- or contract-funded technicians. A number of the labs operate mainly as support facilities for teaching and research programs, and offer services to the community at large.

Lab names, contact information, and facility webpages can be found in their respective facilities tab in the sidebar.
 

Regional Facilities

Laboratory

Tech Support

Contact

Robert M. MacKay Electron Microprobe Laboratory

Yana Fedortchouck

Dan MacDonald, Technologist

902 494-8432
Yana.Fedortchouk@dal.ca

902 494-7087
Daniel.MacDonald@dal.ca

Additional Laboratories

Laboratory

Tech Support

Contact

Terrestrial Cosmogenic Nuclide Facility

  1. 10Be and 26Al sample prep wet and dry labs
  2. 36Cl wet lab
  3. 14C gas extraction lab
  4. ICP-OES lab
John Gosse 902 494 6632
John.Gosse@dal.ca
Guang Yang, Facility Manager 902 494-1211
Guang.Yang@dal.ca

Fission-Track Thermochronology Laboratory

Isabelle Coutand

902 494 7827
Isabelle.Coutand@dal.ca

(U-Th)/He Laboratory

Djordje Grujic 902 494 2208
Djordje.Grujic@dal.ca
Roman Kislitsyn 902 494 4455
Roman.Kislitsyn@dal.ca

Basin and Resevoir Analysis Laboratory

Grant Wach

902-494-8019
grant.wach@dal.ca
Experimental High Pressure Geological Research Laboratory James Brenan
Yana Fedortchouk
 

Dalhousie Geodynamics Group

 

 

Facility for Stream Chemistry and Hydrology

Shannon Sterling

902-494-7741
shannon.sterling@dal.ca

Inductively Coupled Plasma (ICP-OES) Laboratory.

   

Marine Core Storage and Analysis Facility

 

 

Patterns Numerical and Analogue Modeling Laboratory

Lawrence Plug

902-494-1200
lawrence.plug@dal.ca

Seismic Analysis and Modeling Laboratory

Mladen Nedimovic

902-494-4524
mladen@dal.ca

Tectonic Analogue Modeling Laboratory

Djordje Grujic

902-494-2208
Djordje.Grujic@dal.ca

 

Supporting Laboratories

Laboratory

Tech Support

Contact

Core and Rock Repository and Teaching Facility

Thomas Duffett

902 494-3777
Thomas.Duffett@dal.ca

Crystal Isolation Lab

Isabelle Coutrand  Director 902 494-7827
Isabelle.Coutand@Dal.Ca
Thomas Duffett Technologist 902 494-3777
Thomas.Duffett@dal.ca

Thin Section Lab

Sergei Ratchinski

902 494-2561
Sergei.Ratchinski@Dal.Ca

X-Ray Diffraction  and X-Ray Fluorescence Labs

Grant Wach

902 494-8019
grant.wach@dal.ca