David Barlow Memorial Award

The David Barlow Memorial Award is awarded to a student in the Earth Sciences program with a good academic record,and has shown qualities of leadershipin the department, student society, or community affairs.

2021 Recipient - Megan MacDonald
This year’s awardee is Megan MacDonald in recognition of her good academic record, qualities of leadership through participation in both school and community affairs, as well as services in Armed Forces related activities. Megan is currently a third-year student pursuing a combined honours degree in Earth Science and Physics with a minor in Math, and a certificate in Information Technology. She was listed as Dean’s List in the past year. She is the Communications Representative for the Physics Society, a Council Member on the Dalhousie Science Society (DSS), the DSS Representative for the Dawson Geology Society, and a member of the DSS Social and STEM Outreach Committees. In addition, she has been employed as a Military Interpreter at the Halifax Citadel since 2018, and a drummer for the Royal Nova Scotia International Military Tattoo as part of the Black Watch Association Pipes & Drums.

Previous Recipients


2021 Bailey Milos
2020 Jessica Mignault


2018 Aliya Anderson
Max Angel
Bay Berry
Juan Chavez
Catherine Evans
Tanner Milne
Kanwar Multani
Ben Myrer
Jordan Souter
Ryan Taylor
2016 Sarah McLeod
Jillian McKenna
2015 Jacob VanderWal
2014 Kate Gonzalez Woods
2013 Carolina Chang
2012 Ian Borg
2011 Zoe Braden
2010 Joe Taylor


2009 Anne Belanger
2008 Hayley Pothier
2007 Megan MacGillivray
2006 Heather Archibald
2005 Graham Hill
2004 Sheila Ballantyne
2003 Adam Mawer
2002 Andrea Mosher
2001 Adam Layman
2000 Simon Newton


1999 Krista McCuish
1998 Emily Suen
1997 Alana Coffin
1996 Bill Phu
1995 Kevin Doyle
1994 Darcy Baker
1993 Michael Collins
1992 James Duggan
1991 Laurel McDonald
1990 Paul Stiven


1989 Ken MacKenzie