Research Facilities

The Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences houses a number of world-class laboratory research facilities, some of which operate as regional facilities with significant use by researchers outside of Earth and Environmental Sciences. Most of these labs are used for honours and graduate student teaching and thesis research. Some labs are staffed by university funded technologists, while other labs have grant- or contract-funded technicians. A number of the labs operate mainly as support facilities for teaching and research programs, and offer for teaching and research programs, and offer services to the community at large.

Faculty Research Laboratories

Laboratory Principal Investigator
Contact
Basin & Reservoir Lab Grant Wach   (902) 494-8019
Grant.Wach@dal.ca
Dalhousie Geodynamics Group Chris Beaumont   (902) 494-3779
Chris.Beaumont@dal.ca
Experimental High Pressure Geological Research Laboratory James Brenan (902) 494-2355
jbrenan@dal.ca
Yana Fedortchouk (902) 494-8432
Yana@dal.ca
Facility for Stream Chemistry and Hydrology Shannon Sterling (902) 494-7741
Shannon.Sterling@dal.ca
Fission-Track Thermochronology Laboratory Isabelle Coutand (902) 494-7827
Isabelle.Coutand@dal.ca
Inductively Coupled Plasma (ICP-OES) Laboratory John Gosse (902) 494-2358
John.Gosse@dal.ca
Laser Ablation ICP‑MS Lab James Brenan (902) 494-2355
jbrenan@dal.ca
Roman Kislitsyn, Lab Technologist (902) 494-4455
Roman.Kislitsyn@dal.ca
Marine Core Storage and Analysis Facility Vittorio Maselli vittorio.maselli@dal.ca
Owen Sherwood (902) 494-3604
owen.sherwood@dal.ca
NFSI (National Facility for Seismic Imaging) Mladen Nedimovic (902) 494-4524
Mladen@dal.ca
Patterns Numerical and Analogue Modeling Laboratory Lawrence Plug (902) 494-1200
Lawrence.Plug@dal.ca
Seismic Analysis and Modeling Laboratory Mladen Nedimovic (902) 494-4524
Mladen@dal.ca
Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry Laboratory Owen Sherwood (902) 494-3604
owen.sherwood@dal.ca

Terrestrial Cosmogenic Nuclide Facility

  1. 10Be and 26Al sample prep wet and dry labs
  2. 36Cl wet lab
  3. 14C gas extraction lab
  4. ICP-OES lab
John Gosse (902) 494-6632
John.Gosse@dal.ca
Guang Yang, Facility Manager (902) 494-1211
Guang.Yang@dal.ca
The Robert M. MacKay Electron Microprobe Laboratory (EMPA laboratory) James Brenan (902) 494-2355
jbrenan@dal.ca
D.J. MacDonald, Lab Technologist (902) 494-7087
DJM@dal.ca
(U-Th)/He Laboratory Djordje Grujic (902) 494-2208
Djordje.Grujic@dal.ca
Roman Kislitsyn, Lab Technologist (902) 494-4455
Roman.Kislitsyn@dal.ca