Research Facilities

The Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences houses a number of world-class laboratory research facilities, some of which operate as regional facilities with significant use by researchers outside of Earth and Environmental Sciences. Most of these labs are used for honours and graduate student teaching and thesis research. Some labs are staffed by university funded technologists, while other labs have grant- or contract-funded technicians. A number of the labs operate mainly as support facilities for teaching and research programs, and offer for teaching and research programs, and offer services to the community at large.

Faculty Research Laboratories

Laboratory Tech Support Contact
Laser Ablation ICP‑MS Lab James Brenan (902) 494-2355
James.Brenan@dal.ca
Roman Kislitsyn (902) 494-4455
Roman.Kislitsyn@dal.ca

Terrestrial Cosmogenic Nuclide Facility

  1. 10Be and 26Al sample prep wet and dry labs
  2. 36Cl wet lab
  3. 14C gas extraction lab
  4. ICP-OES lab
John Gosse (902) 494-6632
John.Gosse@dal.ca
Guang Yang, Facility Manager (902) 494-1211
Guang.Yang@dal.ca
The Robert M. MacKay Electron Microprobe Laboratory (EMPA laboratory) James Brenan (902) 494-2355
James.Brenan@dal.ca
D.J. MacDonald, Lab Technologist (902) 494-7087
DJM@dal.ca
Fission-Track Thermochronology Laboratory Isabelle Coutand (902) 494-7827
Isabelle.Coutand@dal.ca
(U-Th)/He Laboratory Djordje Grujic (902) 494-2208
Djordje.Grujic@dal.ca
Roman Kislitsyn (902) 494-4455
Roman.Kislitsyn@dal.ca
Basin and Resevoir Analysis Laboratory Grant Wach (902) 494-8019
grant.wach@dal.ca
Experimental High Pressure Geological Research Laboratory James Brenan
(902) 494-2355
James.Brenan@dal.ca
Yana Fedortchouk (902) 494-8432
yaCellna@dal.ca
 

Dalhousie Geodynamics Group
   
Facility for Steam Chemistry and Hydrology Shannon Sterling (902) 494-7741
shannon.sterling@dal.ca
Inductively Coupled Plasma (ICP-OES) Laboratory    
Marine Core Storage and Analysis Facility    
Patterns Numerical and Analogue Modeling Laboratory Lawrence Plug (902) 494-1200
lawrence.plug@dal.ca
Seismic Analysis and Modeling Laboratory Mladen Nedimovic (902) 494-4524
mladen@dal.ca
Tectonic Analogue Modeling Laboratory Djordje Grujic (902) 494-2208
Djordje.Grujic@dal.ca
Spatial Intelligence for Health Knowledge Laboratory (SILK-LAB) Daniel Rainham (902) 219-0933
daniel.rainham@dal.ca
Education for Sustainability Research Group Tarah Wright (902)497-1831
tarah.wright@dal.ca