Michael Keen Research Award

Michael J. Keen (1935-1991) was a prominent Canadian geoscientist was a professor in the Department of Geology from 1961-1977 and Department Chair from 1969-1972 and 1975-1977. He left to become Director of the Atlantic Geoscience Centre at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography. Dr. Keen devoted much of his time and interest towards encouraging young people, especially women, towards science. This award was established to encourage greater participation of women in science (including teaching in science). The Keen Award provides stipend funding for a female undergraduate student summer research experience in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences similar to an NSERC USRA. The successful student will work closely with a supervisor at Dalhousie with the goal of exposing the student to scientific research work in general and to specific research in the field of Earth and Environmental Sciences. 

2021 Recipient - Catherine Brenan
This year’s awardee is Catherine Brenan, who is a third-year co-op student with a joint major in Environmental Science and Chemistry. Her summer research will involve measuring carbon fluxes in the Bedford Basin which will serve as the data collection portion of her honours thesis. She will be supervised by Dr. Craig J. Brown in the Department of Oceanography.



Previous Recipients


2021 Rosa Toutah
2020 Anna Ryan


2019 Olivia Rolfe
2017 Ariel Greenblat and Sarima Vahrenkamp
2016 Corin Jorgenson
2015 Erin Anderson, Eva Norberg and Nora Whalen
2014 Erin Anderson and Samantha Hamilton
2013 Naomi Plummer and Carmen Lee
2012 Jennifer Archibald and Carmen Braun
2011 Rhea Hurnik and Siobhan McGoldrick
2010 Svieda Ma



2009 Beth Cowan
2008 Anne Belanger
2007 Jenn Noade
2006 Andrea Blentzas
2005 Dannica Switzer
2004 Krista Sutton
2003 Samatha Jones and Victoria Arbour  
2002 Maureen White
2001 Andrea Mosher
2000 Camilla Melrose


1999 Jane Hawken
1998 Johanna Hoehne
1997 Sarah Foster
1996 Sarah Richardson and Leah Hagren
1995 Natalie Boudreau
1994 Heather Boyd and Jennifer van de Gaag  
1993 Rachel Jones
1992 Barbara Medioli
1991 Allison Creech