Michael J. Keen Memorial Award

Michael J. Keen (1935 - 1991) was a prominent Canadian geoscientist. He was a professor in the Department of geology from 1961 - 1977 and Chairman of the Department for many of those years. From 1977 to 1991 he was with the Atlantic Geoscience Centre ( GSC(Atlantic). He devoted much of his time and interest towards encouraging young people, especially women, towards science. 

The Keen Award provides stipend funding for a female undergraduate student summer research experience in the Department of Earth Sciences similar to an NSERC USRA. The successful student will work closely with a supervisor in the Department with the goal of exposing the student to scientific research work in general and to specific research in the field of Earth Sciences.

2021 Recipient - Rosa Toutah

Previous Recipients


2020 Anna Ryan


2019 Olivia Rolfe
2017 Ariel Greenblat and Sarima Vahrenkamp
2016 Corin Jorgenson
2015 Erin Anderson, Eva Norberg and Nora Whalen
2014 Erin Anderson and Samantha Hamilton
2013 Naomi Plummer and Carmen Lee
2012 Jennifer Archibald and Carmen Braun
2011 Rhea Hurnik and Siobhan McGoldrick
2010 Svieda Ma



2009 Beth Cowan
2008 Anne Belanger
2007 Jenn Noade
2006 Andrea Blentzas
2005 Dannica Switzer
2004 Krista Sutton
2003 Samatha Jones and Victoria Arbour  
2002 Maureen White
2001 Andrea Mosher
2000 Camilla Melrose


1999 Jane Hawken
1998 Johanna Hoehne
1997 Sarah Foster
1996 Sarah Richardson and Leah Hagren
1995 Natalie Boudreau
1994 Heather Boyd and Jennifer van de Gaag  
1993 Rachel Jones
1992 Barbara Medioli
1991 Allison Creech