G.V. Douglas Memorial Award

This award commemorates Professor George Vibert Douglas, Head of the Department of Geology from 1932-1957, and the first to hold the appointment as Carnegie Professor of Geology, which was established 1933 with a gift of $125,000 from the Carnegie Foundation. Before coming to Dalhousie, Douglas was the Geologist on Shackleton’s Last Antarctic Expedition (1921-22) and he explored Rio Tinto’s concession on the Congo/Zambia (formerly Rhodesia) border in 1930-31.  This award is given to a student entering second year Earth Sciences with an outstanding academic record in their first-year studies. The first award was made in 1962; this year is the 57th annual presentation of the award.

2021 Recipent
This year’s awardee is Brooke Reid in recognition of her good academic standing in first-year classes and high level of participation in student affairs. Brooke is from St. Andrews, New Brunswick. In high school, she was the Student Council Executive every year and graduated as the Student Council Co-President. She entered the Integrated Science Program at Dalhousie in the Fall of 2020. She is currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science, Combined Honours in Earth Sciences and International Development Studies. She was named to the Dean’s List last term. She has joined the World University Service of Canada, Local Committee at Dalhousie where she acts as the Secretary, Health and Wellness Support, and Event coordination member. In addition, she has been an avid community supporter. She has coached children's summer soccer and tutored grade five math students at her local elementary school.

Previous Recipients


2020   Megan MacDonald


2019 Michael Powell
2018 Anna Ryan
2017 Olivia Rolfe
Raymond Craddock
Maya Soukup
2013 Carolina Chang
2012 Kai Boggild
2011 Mitchell Grace
2010 Shannon Broughm



2009 Derrick Midwinter
2008 Maria Whitehead
2007 Laura Ratcliffe
2006 Adam Leather
2005 Heather Archibald
2004 Michael Giles
2003 Carmen Lishman
2002 Adam Mawer
2001 Daun Lynch
2000 Christopher Crowell


1999 Victoria Burdett-Coutts
1998 Mark Rabin
1997 Maggie Boudens
1996 Sarah Richardson
1995 Lisa MacDonald
1994 Craig Hawkins
1993 Rachel Jones
1992 Bruce Dodson
1991 Michael Parsons
1990 Allan Wilkie


1989 Steven Grant
1988 Bruce Northcote
1986 Kenneth Billard
1985 Andrew MacRae
1983 Katherine Bishop
1982 Walter Burke
1981 Keith Johnston


1979 Kevin Slauenwhite
1978 Andrew Hubley
1977 Robert Myers
1976 Garnet Douglas
1975 Stewart Brower
1970 Rebecca Jamieson


1968 Martin Pickford
1967 Janet Burgess
1966 Elizabeth Allport
1965 Barton Stone
1964 Judith Tulloch
1963 Signe Frihagen
1962 Charlotte Davidson