Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Clinical associates

While clinical associates are eligible primarily for supervision of clinical practica, these positions are not eligible for primary dissertation supervision. 


Current Clinical Associates

Angelopoulos, Maria PhD
Dalhousie University

Psychology Department
QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-8342
maria.angelopoulos@nshealth.ca

adult mental health, psychotherapy
(interpersonal, dynamic, CBT approaches), personality, clinical supervision, adjustment to illness

Howes, Janice PhD 
Western Ontario University

Psychology Department
QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-8639
janice.howes@nshealth.ca

cancer, life-threatening illness; coping with medical illness; post-traumatic stress disorder; cognitive psychology; adjustment problems

Aubie, Cheryl PhD
University of Windsor

Eating Disorders Clinic
QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-1560
cheryl.aubie@nshealth.ca

eating disorders, body image,
emotional intelligence, group therapy

Jefferson, Steven PhD
University of New Brunswick

Psychology Department
QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-4795
steven.jefferson@nshealth.ca

pathological gambling, mathematical foundations of statistical procedures used in the social sciences

Battista, Susan PhD 
Dalhousie University

CHOICES Adolescent Treatment Program
IWK Health Centre
(902) 864-8668
susanbattista@iwk.nshealth.ca

concurrent disorders, substance abuse, anxiety

Jerrott, Susan PhD 
Dalhousie University

Community Mental Health—Clinical Training Director
IWK Health Centre
(902) 864-8668
susan.jerrott@iwk.nshealth.ca

mood disorders, suicide, supervision in Psychology

Beattie, Tricia PhD
University of New Brunswick, Fredericton

IWK Health Centre,
Neuropsychology Service
(902) 470-6364
tricia.beattie@iwk.nshealth.ca

clinical child neuropsychology, neurodevelopmental disorders, rehabilitation psychology

Joyce, Ann Marie PhD
Dalhousie University

Community Mental Health (Dartmouth Site)
IWK Health Centre
(902) 460-3918
ann.joyce@iwk.nshealth.ca

ADHD and learning disabilities; cognitive assessment and intelligence; child and adolescent mental health
Boehm, Rebecca PhD
University of Saskatchewan

Mindful Therapies
(Private Practice) rebecca@mindfultherapies.org

workplace stress, burnout and wellness, positive psychology, mindfulness, women's health, addictions and trauma
Kayfitz, Adam PhD
University of Windsor

IWK Mental Health and Addictions Program 
Dartmouth Community Mental Health
(902) 460-3919
adam.kayfitz@iwk.nshealth.ca

attachment based and emotion focused treatments for internalizing/externalizing child and adolescent mental health prooblems; use of emotion focused family therapy as a primary modality; use of psychodynamic, emotion focused, solution focused, cognitive behavioural therapies for individual clients
Braha, Richard PhD
Dalhousie University

Health Administration—ABI Program
Nova Scotia Health Authority
(902) 473-1339
richard.braha@nshealth.ca

clinical neuropsychology, clinical psychology, neuropsychological rehabilitation, cognitive neuropsychology, test development, psychometrics
Kelln, Brad PhD
Calgary University

East Coast Forensic Hospital
(902) 460-7325
brad.kelln@nshealth.ca

forensic, violence, risk, offending, psychopathy, compulsive internet pornography use, sexual offending
Butler, Gordon PhD
Queen's University

Psychology Department
QEII Health Sciences Centre & Private Practice
(902) 473-7441
gbutler@dal.ca

coping with chronic illness, psychological aspects of organ transplant, health behaviours
Kelly, Brynn PhD 
University of Southern California

Mental Health & Addictions, Community Mental Health (Dartmouth)
IWK Health Centre
(902) 460-3934
Brynn.Kelly@iwk.nshealth.ca

evidence-based treatments, disruptive behaviour disorders, eating disorders, trauma, peer relations
Carter, Sherri L. PhD
University of Windsor

Psychology Department,
Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Centre
(902) 473-1367
sherri.carter@nshealth.ca

clinical neuropsychology, stroke, dementia/caregiver support, cognitive rehabilitation, cognitive complaints, outcome evaluation, ecological validity supervision
King, Sara PhD
Dalhousie University

Faculty of Education (School Psychology Program)
Mount Saint Vincent University   
sara.king@msvu.ca

learning disabilities, ADHD, developmental disabilities, chronic illness, peer relationships/friendships, disruptive behaviour disorders

Chatman, Jason PhD
 
University of California, Los Angeles

Dr. Jason Chatman Psychological Services
902-407-4757
drjasonchatman@gmail.com

assessment and treatment of children and adolescents, risk and resiliency, issues of diversity in clinical psychology including cross-cultural competence and ethnic identity development, program development and evaluation, Connect Parent Groups for parents of adolescents with disruptive behaviour disorders
Lee-Baggley, Dayna PhD
University of British Columbia

Nova Scotia Health Authority
(902) 473-4686
dayna.lee-baggley@nshealth.ca

chronic disease, behaviour change, obesity, professional resiliency
Chorney, Daniel PhD 
West Virginia University

Chorney and Associates
(Private Practice)
(902) 444-1160
drchorney@gmail.com

child and adolescent mental health, parent management training, cognitive-behavioural treatment of anxiety disorders, insomnia treatment

Lefebvre, Celeste PhD 
Dalhousie University

Youth Forensic Services
IWK Health Centre
(902) 491-2444
celeste.lefebvre@iwk.nshealth.ca

forensic psychology, risk assessments and treatment of youth and adults who have engaged in sexual, violent or or general criminal offenses. Current research involves the development of a comprehensive database for the examination of the demographic, psychological and risk profile of Nova Scotian youth who have engaged in criminal behaviour. Past research has also involved investigating the use of event-related brain potentials (ERPs) in clinical and forensic contexts

Clark, Sharon PhD 
Dalhousie University

Mental Health and Addictions
IWK Health Centre
(902) 460-3936
sharon.clark@iwk.nshealth.ca

mental health delivery using the Choice and Partnership Approach, mental health intervention with marginalized youth, program evaluation, attachment-based interventions including the Connect Parents Groups for caregivers of adolescent youth
Lowe-Pearce, Crystal PhD 
Dalhousie University

Clinical Neurosciences and Rehabilitation Care
IWK Health Centre
(902) 470-8153
Crystal.LowePearce@iwk.nshealth.ca

assessment and evaluation of children, adolescents and young adults; cognitive and learning assessments; developmental disabilities, learning disabilities and ADHD; rehabilitation; social skills and self-advocacy; functional behaviour analysis
Cohen, Jacqueline PhD 
University of New Brunswick

Psychologist and Co-Lead, Borderline Personality Disorder Treatment Program, Mental Health and Addictions Program (Central Zone)
Nova Scotia Health Authority
902-464-6093 (BPDTP Reception)
jacquie.cohen@nshealth.ca

dialectical behaviour therapy for borderline personality disorder; cognitive-behavioural therapy; anxiety disorders (especially PTSD and OCD); mental health of marginalized and minority populations (sexual minorities, Aboriginal persons, immigrants and refugees); forensic risk assessment

McAfee, Susie PhD 
University of New Brunswick

Clinical Psychologist at IWK Community Mental Health; Private Practice (LifeCentre Psychology) (902) 869-5388 susie.mcafee@iwk.nshealth.ca

Adolescence (mental health, resilience, thriving, social relationships, emotional competence); Acceptance & Commitment Therapy; prevention and early intervention, community-based initiatives; parenting; emotion-focused therapy; perinatal mental health

 

Connors, Angela PhD 
Simon Fraser University

Forensic Sexual Behaviour Program
Nova Scotia Hospital
(902) 464-4129
angela.connors@nshealth.ca

actuarial and dynamic risk assessment; analysis of illegal sexual behaviour; strength and skills-based approaches to treatment; tracking psychological defenses and readiness to change re tx motivation; therapist awareness as a variable in client change
McInerney, Robert J. PhD 
University of Victoria

Dr. Robert J. McInerney & Associates Ltd.
(Private Practice)
(902) 266-8311
robertm@uvic.ca

neuropsychological and psychoeducational assessment of children, teens, and adults.  Acquired and traumatic brain injuries, fetal alcohol spectrum disorder, ADHD, learning disabilities
Coolican, Jamesie PhD 
Dalhousie University

Feeding Clinic
IWK Health Centre
(902) 470-8411
jamesie.coolican@iwk.nshealth.ca

assessment and treatment of children with feeding difficulties, parent training
McLaughlin, Elizabeth PhD
Dalhousie University

Pediatric Health Psychology
IWK Health Centre
(902) 470-8410
elizabeth.mclaughlin@iwk.nshealth.ca

chronic illness, pediatric psychology, diabetes
Corkum, Valerie PhD 
Dalhousie University

Corkum and Associates Psychological Services, Ltd.
(902) 832-0332
drval@eastlink.ca

child clinical, developmental disorders, learning disabilities, cognitive and behavioural therapy
McNeill, Bonnie PhD
Queen's University

Garron Centre for Child and Adolescent Mental Health (Inpatient) 
OCD Specific Care Clinic, IWK Health Centre
(902) 470-3902
bonnie.mcneill@iwk.nshealth.ca

child and adolescent mental health, OCD, anxiety disorders, personality assessment, faking on self-report inventories
Day, Victor PhD
Queen's University

Marsh-Knickle and Associates
902-832-0830
vday@ns.sympatico.ca

clinical psychology, cognitive-behavioural therapy, anxiety, stress, procrastination, internet self-help programs
Patry, Brigitte PhD
University of Victoria

Psychology Department
Nova Scotia Rehabilitation Centre
(902) 473-8095
brigitte.patry@nshealth.ca

clinical neuropsychology, traumatic brain injury, cognitive rehabilitation, ecological validity, outcome evaluation, executive functions, memory
Durdle, Heather PhD 
Windsor University

CHOICES Adolescent Treatment Program
IWK Health Centre
(902) 470-6314
heather.durdle@iwk.nshealth.ca

substance use, problem gambling, smoking cessation, brief motivational interventions, group treatment
Pencer, Alissa PhD 
University of Calgary

Chorney and Associates
(Private Practice)
(902) 444-1160
drpencer@gmail.com

child and adolescent mental health, anxiety disorders in children and adolescents, substance use and abuse, psychosis
Emberly, Debbie PhD (Experimental)
Dalhousie University

Advanced Practice Leader-Outcomes and Evaluation IWK Health Centre: Mental Health and Addictions
(902) 470-3777
debbie.emberly@iwk.nshealth.ca 

health services research; outcome evaluation; knowledge translation; clinical practice guidelines;child and adolescent mental health
Poisson, Marie PhD 
McGill Unibversity

Private Practice
mariepoisson@ns.sympatico.ca

child and adolescent mental health

Fougere, Amber PhD
Monash University

Forensic Sexual Behaviour Program
Nova Scotia Health Authority
amber.fougere@nshealth.ca 

dialectical behaviour therapy for Boderline Personality Disorder; forensic risk assessment and treatment; PTSD

Ross, Michael PhD 
University of Saskatchewan

Mental Health Services, Bedford-Sackville
Cobequid Community Health Centre
(902) 865-3663
Michael.Ross@nshealth.ca

clinical supervision, cognitive behavioural therapy, interpersonal therapy
Freeman, Paul PhD 
Manitoba University

Community Mental Health Services-Dartmouth
Nova Scotia Hospital
(902) 466-1835
paul.freeman@nshealth.ca

application of mindfulness, Acceptance and Committment Therapy and CBT approaches to depression and anxiety disorders, psychotherapy supervision and training
Scattolon, Yvette PhD 
University of New Brunswick, Fredericton

Eating Disorders Clinic,
QEII Health Sciences Centre
Private Practice
(902) 473-6280
Yvette.Scattolon@nshealth.ca

eating disorders, depression, gender issues
Gamberg, Susan PhD 
McGill University

Borderline Personality Disorder Treatment Program (BPDTP), Nova Scotia Health Authority
(902) 464-4190
susan.gamberg@nshealth.ca

dialectical behaviour therapy for borderline personality disorder; eating disorders and body image; multicultural competencies; psychotherapy supervision and training
Starzomski, Andrew PhD 
University of British Columbia

Professional Practice Leader, Psychology (Mental Health)
East Coast Forensic Hospital                   
(902) 460-7402
andrew.starzomski@nshealth.ca

forensic assessment and forensic psychotherapy, psychodynamic psychotherapies, clinical applications of positive psychology and professional issues
Gillespie, Joanne PhD 
Western University

Pediatric Health Psychology Service
IWK Health Centre
(902) 470-8408
joanne.gillespie@iwk.nshealth.ca

pediatric psychology, preparation for medical procedures, enuresis/encopresis

Sullivan, April PhD 
York University

Adolescent Intensive Services
Mental Health and Addictions Program
IWK Health Centre
(902) 491-2327
April.Sullivan@iwk.nshealth.ca


assessment and treatment of adolescents in day/residential mental health setting

Hann, Gerald DEd, R. Psych 
Indiana Univ. of Pennsylvania

Dr. Gerald S. Hann Psychological Services
Halifax Professional Centre
(902) 453-8336
ghann@hannpsychologicalservices.com

therapy, assessment, consultation and group work for adults, children, couples and families, intensive short-term dynamic psychotherapy for depression, anxiety and somatic complaints

Uman, Lindsay PhD 
Dalhousie University

Community Mental Health (Dartmouth Site)
IWK Health Centre
(902) 460-3918
Lindsay.Uman@iwk.nshealth.ca
drlindsayuman@gmail.com 

psychological interventions for pediatric pain and anxiety, systematic reviews, health psychology, child and adolescent mental health, Community Mental Health, Health Psychology, Pediatric Pain Management

Hendrick, Jennifer PhD
Queen's University

Psychology Department
QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-7408
jennifer.hendrick@nshealth.ca

HIV/Aids, multiple sclerosis, chronic illness, stress management, health psychology
Wetmore, Ann MEd 
Acadia University

Private Practice
(902) 425-5588
awetmore@dal.ca

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, distance treatment/education, performance enhancement under stress, coping with difficult medical diagnosis, psychological preparation for surgery, rural care psychology issues, rural mental health care, trauma, coping in performance situations, dealing with complex medical diagnoses