Dalhousie Advisory Council

Connecting with community leaders across Canada and around the world

The Dalhousie Advisory Council was formed in 2010 from a desire to provide the President with international strategic counsel to complement the Board of Governors.

The Dalhousie Advisory Council (DAC):

  • Advises the President and senior administration on issues that may impact the university, and acts as a sounding board on the development and evaluation of its strategic directions,
  • Facilitates linkages with individuals, institutions and organizations external to the organization that may assist the university in furthering its strategic goals and mission.

Provides advice and leadership to the university on fundraising, relationship marketing and national reputation strategies and activities.


The Dalhousie Advisory Council will meet at least three times per year, with the President and the Vice-President, Advancement. Other members of senior administration, faculty, and staff may be invited to attend as determined by the Chair of the Council and the President.

Terms of Reference: Dalhousie Advisory Council [PDF - 78KB]

Dalhousie Advisory Council Membership: 

  • The Hon. A. Anne McLellan, PC, OC, AOE (Honorary Co-Chair)
  • Mr. Jeff Leger (Co-Chair)
  • Dr. John Risley, OC
  • Dr. Fred Fountain, CM
  • Mr. Mark Dobbin
  • Dr. Robert Gillespie
  • Mr. Scott McCain
  • Dr. Mathai Mammen
  • Dr. John G. Schwarz
  • Dr. Jim Spatz
  • Dr. Ruma Bose
  • Mr. Ajith Rai
  • Mr. Nicholas Katespontes
  • Mr. Robert Hanf
  • Mr. Joe Ramia
  • Mr. Bryan Langlands
  • Mr. Gavin Brimer
  • Ms. Penny Tham
  • Dr. Cathy Campbell
  • Ms. Lynda Kuhn
  • Ms. Stefanie Butt