Our Faculty


Katherine Fierlbeck McCulloch
Professor of Political Science
RM 301B, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-Mail         (902) 494-6631


David Black Lester B. Pearson
Professor of International
Development Studies
RM 356, Henry Hicks Bldg.             
E-Mail  (902) 494-6638
Brian Bow RM 357, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-Mail (902) 494-6629
Frank Harvey
Provost and Vice-President Academic E-Mail (902) 494-1439
Robert Finbow Deputy Director, Jean Monnet European Union Centre of Excellence, Honours Coordinator, Political Science
RM 365, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-Mail         (902) 494-6606

Associate Professors

Peter Arthur Director, Centre for the Study of Security and Development
EDIA Student Mentor
RM 361, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-Mail (902)494-6630
Louise Carbert RM 359, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-Mail (902)494-6628
Margaret Denike Coordinator LJSO
RM 364, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-Mail (902)494-6298
Kristin Good Graduate Coordinator
RM 301C, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-mail (902)494-1944
Anders Hayden Undergraduate Advisor
RM 358, Henry Hicks Bldg.
E-Mail (902)494-6602
Ruben Zaiotti Director, Jean Monnet European Union Centre of Excellence
RM 353 & 339 Henry Hicks Bldg
E-Mail (902)494-6609

Assistant Professors

Kiran Banerjee
RM 355A, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail (902) 494-6603
Rachael Johnstone RM 355, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail (902) 494-4587
Scott Pruysers RM 360, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail (902) 494-6626
Leah Sarson
RM 362, Henry Hick Bldg. E-Mail (902) 494-6611
Igor Shoikhedbrod
RM 354, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail (902) 494-6605

Part-Time Faculty

Larissa Atkison RM 355, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail
Darryl Eisan RM 352, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail  
Adam MacDonald
RM 352, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail  
Carlos Pessoa RM 352, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail  
Julia Rodgers RM 352, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail  
Wes Petite RM 352, Henry Hicks Bldg. E-Mail  

** Mail for part-time faculty can be sent to Room 301, Henry Hicks Building, 6299 South St.

Post Doctoral Fellows

Alexa Dodge RM 343, Henry Hicks Bldg.

Professors Emeriti

Robert Boardman Dalhousie University
David M. Cameron Dalhousie University                             
James Eayrs                                
Jennifer Smith Dalhousie University    
Denis Stairs Dalhousie University    

Cross-Appointment Professors

John Cameron
Dalhousie University, International Development Studies

Advocacy strategies of Civil Society Organizations; Public Engagement strategies and representations of ‘development’ in the global North; Cosmopolitan theory and global citizenship  

Susan Dodd
University of King's College

History of Western culture, politics of memory, critical theory (literary and political), technology and culture

Robert Huish
Dalhousie University, International Development Studies

Global Health, North Korea, Cuban Development, Activism and Social Justice

Simon Kow
University of King's College

Early modern political thought, history of political thought, western conceptions of East Asia, East Asian thought and culture, early modern piracy

Nissim Mannathukkaren
Dalhousie University, International Development Studies

Left and communist movements, Development and democracy; Politics of popular culture; Marxist and postcolonial theories

Ajay Parasram
Dalhousie University

Colonial, Postcolonial and Decolonial studies, Global Development and political economy, Modern and colonial South Asia, Global history and International relations

Lori Turnbull

Director, School of Public Administration, Dalhousie University
Canadian parliamentary governance, Political ethics, Elections, Electoral systems,Public engagement

Adjunct Professors

Donald Abelson
St. Francis Xavier University

American Politics and US foreign policy; the role of think tanks and their efforts to influence public opinion and public policy

Larissa Atkison
Dalhousie University


Florian Bail
Dalhousie University (Retired)

Juergen Habermas and Hannah Arendt, Deliberative Democracy, German Foreign Policy

Sharon Batt
Independent Scholar and Writer

Ethical issues in health policy

James Bickerton
St. Francis Xavier University

Canadian and comparative federalism and regionalism, Canadian party and electoral politics

Maya Eichler
Mount St. Vincent University

Gender integration and sexual violence in the CAF, veterans' policy, and the transition from military to civilian life in Canada

George MacLean
University of New Brunswick
Canadian foreign policy, human security, non-proliferation initiatives, and multilateralism
Elizabeth McGibbon
St. Francis Xavier University

Structural determinants of health: social injustice, oppression, and the political economy of health

Timothy Shaw
University of Massachusetts Boston

International Political Economy, Human Development and Human Security, African and Caribbean Region

Heather Smith
University of Northern British Colombia
Canadian Foreign Policy, Critical and feminist pedagogies, Gender and Canadian Foreign policy, Decolonizing Canadian Foreign Policy  
Ipek Eren Vural
Dalhousie University

Shelly Whitman
Roméo Dallaire Child Soldiers Initiative

Child soldiers, peace, human security, development, and international institutions