Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

People

Our most important resource

The members of our department represent our most important resource and are the reason why we are recognized as a world-class centre in oceanographic education and research.

Summary of faculty research interests

Christopher Algar
(calgar@dal.ca)
Sediment biogeochemistry, nitrogen cycling, ecosystem modeling, microbial ecology, deep biosphere
David Barclay
(dbarclay@dal.ca)
Acoustical oceanography, noise, sediment acoustics, deep ocean trenches
Christopher Beaumont
(chris.beaumont@dal.ca)
Geodynamics, isostasy and lithospheric rheology
Bernard P. Boudreau
(bernie.boudreau@dal.ca)
Diagenesis, gas in sediments, ocean acidification
Carolyn Buchwald
(cbuchwald@dal.ca)
Biogeochemistry, marine chemistry, geochemistry
John Cullen
(Retired/Emeritus)
(john.cullen@dal.ca
)
Oceanography, phytoplankton, ocean observations, ballast water treatment issues
Laura deGelleke
(laura.degelleke@dal.ca)
Sediment transport, paleoceanography, biogeochemistry
Katja Fennel
(katja.fennel@dal.ca)
Coupled physical-biological modeling, biogeochemical cycles
Jonathan Grant
(jon.grant@dal.ca)
Aquaculture-environment interactions, ecosystem modelling
Alex Hay
(alex.hay@dal.ca)
Acoustical oceanography, sediment dynamics
Paul S. Hill
(paul.hill@dal.ca)
Sediment transport, particle dynamics
Dan Kelley
(dan.kelley@dal.ca)
Dynamics of transport and mixing processes
Markus Kienast
(markus.kienast@dal.ca)
Paleoceanography, sediment biogeochemistry
Stephanie Kienast
(stephanie.kienast@dal.ca)
Paleoceanography, sediment transport
Marlon Lewis
(marlon.lewis@dal.ca)
Phytoplankton, bio-optical oceanography, upper ocean physics
Keith Louden (Retired/Adjunct)
(keith.louden@dal.ca)
Marine geophysics
Anna Metaxas
(anna.metaxas@dal.ca)
Ecology of benthic invertebrates, invasive species, deep sea biology
Robert M. Moore (Retired/Emeritus)
(robert.moore@dal.ca)
Marine biogeochemistry, air-sea interaction
Barry Ruddick (Retired/Adjunct)
(barry.ruddick@dal.ca)
Ocean mixing processes, internal waves, seismic oceanography
Jinyu Sheng
(jinyu.sheng@dal.ca)
Ocean modeling and prediction, shelf circulation
Christopher Taggart
(chris.taggart@dal.ca)
Fisheries oceanography/ecology, zooplankton, fish, turtles, whales
Helmuth Thomas
(helmuth.thomas@dal.ca)
Marine carbon cycle, coastal biogeochemistry
Keith R. Thompson
(keith.thompson@dal.ca)
Shelf and ocean circulation, data assimilation, extremes
Douglas Wallace
(douglas.wallace@dal.ca)
Biogeochemistry, carbon dynamics, deep water ventilation