Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Cross Appointments

Cross appointees are eligible for all aspects of supervision of comprehensives and dissertation, and, depending upon affiliation and area of expertise/qualification, clinical practica.

Read our Departmental Policy on these appointments.

Current Cross Appointtees

Abbass, Allan 
BSc (Ottawa) MD (Dalhousie) FRCPC (Toronto)

Psychiatry, Dalhousie University
(902) 473-2514
allan.abbass@dal.ca

emotion physiology, short-term dynamic psychotherapy, psychotherapy integration, anxiety, depression, somatization

Ilie, Gabriela
BSc, MA (York), PhD (Toronto)

Community Health and Epidemiology, Urology, Dalhousie University
(902)-494-4527
gabriela.ilie@dal.ca

patient reported outcomes, prostate cancer, traumatic brain injuries, concussions, quality of life, mental health, substance use, health reported outcomes, behavioural conduct, violence, bullying, suicide, music therapy, stress relief, and mindfulness

Aiken, Steve 
BA, MSc (Western), PhD (Toronto)

School of Human Communication Disorders
Dalhousie University
(902) 494-1057
steve.aiken@dal.ca

auditory electrophysiology, brainstem and cortical responses to speech, psychoacoustics, otoacoustic emissions, speech perception, hearing aid signal processing
Kay-Raining Bird, Elizabeth 
BA (Queens) MSc (Columbia) PhD (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

School of Human Communication Disorders
Dalhousie University
(902) 494-5152
rainingbird@dal.ca

child language development and disorders, Down syndrome, autism, language assessment and intervention, literacy
Bardouille, Tim 
BSc (Queens), MSc (Dalhousie), PhD (Toronto)

BIOTIC MEG Laboratory, IWK Health Centre
902-470-3936
tim.bardouille@dal.ca

functional neuroimaging for the purposes of clinical diagnosis and treatment, measurement of small- and long-range neural synchrony in the brain in patients with stroke, epilepsy and traumatic brain injury
Kiefte, Michael 
BA (Memorial), MSc, PhD (University of Alberta)

School of Human Communication Disorders
Dalhousie University
(902) 494-5150
michael.kiefte@dal.ca

speech perception, psychoacoustics, speech production, stuttering

Boe, Shaun 
BPhEd (Brock) PhD (Western), MPT (Western)

School of Physiotherapy, Dalhousie University
(902) 494-6360
s.boe@dal.ca

central and peripheral nervous system adaptations and functional outcomes in neurorehabilitation, cortical contributions to balance control, electrophysiology, functional neuroimaging

Lovas, David 
BSc, MD, Dalhousie University

Psychiatry, Dalhousie University
(902) 470-6570
dlovas@dal.ca

somatic symptom disorders, somatization, chronic pain, functional disorders, biomarkers, mindfulness, child and adolescent psychiatry

Bombay, Amy 
BSc (Ottawa), MSc, PhD (Carleton)

Department of Psychiatry and School of Nursing
902-494-2225
amy.bombay@dal.ca

aboriginal health and well-being, determinants of health and well-being, mental health and mental wellness, historical trauma and contemporary racism, community-based research

Neyedli, Heather 
BSc Hons (Dalhousie), MSc, PhD (Toronto)

School of Health and Human Performance
Dalhousie University
(902) 494-6786
hneyedli@dal.ca

decision making, statistical decision making models, attention, movement selection and planning, neuroplasticity and neurofeedback

Campbell-Yeo, Marsha 
BScN and MScN (Dalhousie), PhDN (McGill)

School of Nursing
Dalhousie University
(902) 494 4283
marsha.campbell-yeo@dal.ca

non-pharmaceutical pain relief, maternal-led interventions, pain and stress, skin-to-skin contact, breastfeeding, neonatal intensive care, randomized controlled clinical trials

Pohlmann-Eden, Bernd 
PhD Md (Univ. of Heidelberg)

Neurology, Dalhousie University
(902) 473-6501
B.Pohlmann-Eden@dal.ca

clinical epileptogenesis, new-onset epilepsy, cognition and psychiatric comorbidity in epilepsy, advanced neuroimaging, ischemia-related seizures, mechanisms of pharmacoresistance, knowledge transfer, medical education, and didactic tools in medicine

Chorney, Jill 
BSc (Dalhousie) MA, PhD (West Virginia)

Department of Anesthesiology
Dalhousie University
(902) 470-7707
jill.chorney@dal.ca

perioperative care, psychological management of pain

Robinson, Lynne 
BSc (Victoria) MA, PhD (Simon Fraser)

School of Health and Human Performance
Dalhousie University
(902) 494-1157
Lynne.Robinson@dal.ca

psychosocial issues in cancer, relationships, internet-mediated health promotion, health promotion, community based research
Dithurbide, Lori 
BA (St. Mary's), MA (Brock), PhD (Michigan State)

School of Health and Human Performance, Dalhousie University
(902) 494-2477
lori.dithurbide@dal.ca

sport and exercise psychology, group/team dynamics, efficacy and trust in dyads/groups/teams, athletic performance, measurement of psychosocial variables in sport and exercise

Semba, Kazue

BEd, MA (Tokyo) PhD (Rutgers)

Medical Neuroscience
Dalhousie University
(902) 494-2008
k.semba@dal.ca

neurobehavioural and physiological impacts of chronic sleep restriction; role of astrocytes in sleep/wake regulation; circadian control of sleep and waking

Filliter, Jillian H.,
BSc Hons, MSc, PhD, Dalhousie University

Department of Pediatrics
Dalhousie University
(902) 470-7275
filliter@dal.ca

autism spectrum disorder (ASD), improving health care access and interactions for youth with ASD, understanding cognitive and emotional processes in ASD

Smith, Isabel 
BA (Dalhousie) MSc (Brown) PhD (Dalhousie)

Joan and Jack Craig Chair in Autism Research
Pediatrics, Dalhousie University
(902) 470-7271
isabel.smith@iwk.nshealth.ca

autism spectrum disorder, developmental disabilities, intervention research

Finley, G. Allen 
BSc, MD, Dalhousie FRCPC

Anaesthesia, Dalhousie University
(902) 470-7708
allen.finley@dal.ca

pediatric pain (measurement and management), audible alarm signals, perioperative anxiety, awareness and memory
Town, Joel 
BSC (York), D. Clin Psy (Univ. of Sheffield)

Centre for Emotions and Health, Psychiatry
Dalhousie University
(902) 473-2543
Joel.Town@nshealth.ca

psychotherapy process-outcome and effectiveness research, emotion processing, Short-Term Dynamic Psychotherapy, psychotherapy for common mental disorders, medically unexplained symptoms
Fisher, Derek 
BSc (Ottawa), MSc, PhD (Carleton)

Psychology Department, Mount Saint Vincent University
(902) 457-5503
derek.fisher@msvu.ca

schizophrenia, psychosis, psychopharmacology, nicotine, cognitive neuroscience, EEG, event-related potentials, mismatch negativity
Uher, Rudolf 
CCT, MRCPsych, PhD, MUDr. 

Psychiatry, Dalhousie University
(902) 473-7209
uher@dal.ca

early interventions interventions to prevent severe mental illness, classification of psychopathology, the treatment of depression, the use the clinical assessment and genomics to personalize and optimize treatment and the interplay of genes and environment in the causation of mental illness
Fisk, John 
BSc, MA, PhD (Western)

Psychiatry, QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-2581
John.Fisk@dal.ca

neuropsychology, cognitive neuroscience and neuroimaging; aging, multiple sclerosis, dementia and neurodegenerative neuroimaging disorders: assessment, diagnosis, epidemiology, risk factors, health-related quality of life, treatment effectiveness, health policy
Ungar, Michael 
BA, BSW, MSW (McGill) PhD (Wilfred Laurier)

School of Social Work, Dalhousie University
(902) 494-3445
michael.ungar@dal.ca

qualitative methods, resilience, adolescent mental health, family therapy, ecological social work, program evaluation, cross-cultural research, delinquency, child development, social constructionism
Good, Kim 
BSc (UNB) MSc, PhD, University of British Columbia

Psychiatry, Dalhousie University
(902) 473-4250
kim.good@dal.ca

olfactory and cognitive function in patients with psychotic disorders, and olfactory fMRI
Westwood, David A. 
BSc, MA, PhD (Waterloo)

School of Health and Human Performance
Dalhousie University
(902) 494-1164
david.westwood@dal.ca

cognitive neuroscience, sensory control of skilled action, functional neuroimaging
Hashmi, Javeria 
BSc (Punjab), MSc (Western), PhD (Toronto)

Anesthesia, Pain Management and Perioperative Medicine, Dalhousie University
javeria.hashmi@dal.ca

acute and chronic pain, anethesisa, brain development, networks, predictive analysis