Cross‑listed Faculty

Cross-listed faculty are eligible for all aspects of supervision of comprehensives and dissertation, and, depending upon affiliation and area of expertise/qualification, clinical practica.

Read our Departmental Policy on these appointments.

Current Cross-listed Members

Abbass, Allan 
BSc (Ottawa) MD (Dalhousie) FRCPC (Toronto)

Department of Psychiatry
(902) 473-2514
allan.abbass@dal.ca

emotion physiology, short-term dynamic psychotherapy, psychotherapy integration, anxiety, depression, somatization

Ilie, Gabriela
BSc, MA (York), PhD (Toronto)

Community Health and Epidemiology, Urology, 
(902)-494-4527
gabriela.ilie@dal.ca

patient reported outcomes, prostate cancer, traumatic brain injuries, concussions, quality of life, mental health, substance use, health reported outcomes, behavioural conduct, violence, bullying, suicide, music therapy, stress relief, and mindfulness

Aiken, Steve 
BA, MSc (Western), PhD (Toronto)

School of Communication Sciences and Disorders
(902) 494-1057
steve.aiken@dal.ca

auditory electrophysiology, brainstem and cortical responses to speech, psychoacoustics, otoacoustic emissions, speech perception, hearing aid signal processing
Kiefte, Michael 
BA (Memorial), MSc, PhD (University of Alberta)

School of Communication Sciences and Disorders
(902) 494-5150
michael.kiefte@dal.ca

speech perception, psychoacoustics, speech production, stuttering
Bardouille, Tim 
BSc (Queens), MSc (Dalhousie), PhD (Toronto)

Department of Physics
902-470-3936
tim.bardouille@dal.ca

functional neuroimaging for the purposes of clinical diagnosis and treatment, measurement of small- and long-range neural synchrony in the brain in patients with stroke, epilepsy and traumatic brain injury
Lee-Baggley, Dayna PhD
BSc (Calgary), MA, PhD (UBC)

Nova Scotia Health Authority
(902) 473-4686
dayna.lee-baggley@nshealth.ca

chronic disease, behaviour change, obesity, professional resiliency, acceptance and commitment therapy
Boe, Shaun 
BPhEd (Brock) PhD (Western), MPT (Western)

School of Physiotherapy
(902) 494-6360
s.boe@dal.ca

central and peripheral nervous system adaptations and functional outcomes in neurorehabilitation, cortical contributions to balance control, electrophysiology, functional neuroimaging

Lovas, David
BSc, MD (Dalhousie)

Department of Psychiatry
(902) 470-6570
dlovas@dal.ca

somatic symptom disorders, somatization, chronic pain, functional disorders, biomarkers, mindfulness, child and adolescent psychiatry

Bombay, Amy 
BSc (Ottawa), MSc, PhD (Carleton)

Department of Psychiatry and School of Nursing
902-494-2225
amy.bombay@dal.ca

aboriginal health and well-being, determinants of health and well-being, mental health and mental wellness, historical trauma and contemporary racism, community-based research

McManus, Justin
BA (Carleton), MSc (Guelph), PhD (Dalhousie)

Rowe School of Business
Justin.McManus@dal.ca

Research website

self-related attitudes, beliefs, and motivations; organizational trustworthiness and brand trust; consumption signals (e.g., status, competence, morality); antecedents of new product evaluation

Campbell-Yeo, Marsha 
BScN and MScN (Dalhousie), PhDN (McGill)

School of Nursing
(902) 494 4283
marsha.campbell-yeo@dal.ca

non-pharmaceutical pain relief, maternal-led interventions, pain and stress, skin-to-skin contact, breastfeeding, neonatal intensive care, randomized controlled clinical trials

Meier, Sandra
BSc, MSc (Universitat Basel), PhD (Ruprecht Karls Universitat)

CRC Chair in Developmental Psychopathology and Youth Mental Health, Department of Psychiatry
902-470-7720
sn927765@dal.ca

genetic epidemiology, biostatistics and molecular genetics

Chorney, Jill 
BSc (Dalhousie) MA, PhD (West Virginia)

Department of Anesthesiology
(902) 470-7707
jill.chorney@dal.ca

perioperative care, psychological management of pain

Neyedli, Heather 
BSc Hons (Dalhousie), MSc, PhD (Toronto)

School of Health and Human Performance
(902) 494-6786
hneyedli@dal.ca

decision making, statistical decision making models, attention, movement selection and planning, neuroplasticity and neurofeedback

Cloutier, Anika
BA Hons., MA (Carleton), PhD (Queen's)

Rowe School of Business
Anika.Cloutier@dal.ca

organizational behaviour, leadership, occupational health, mental health, work-family interface

Pavlova, Barbara
MA (Palacky Univ. Czech Rep.) PhD (Charles Univ., Czech Rep), DClinPsy (King's College London)

Department of Psychiatry
902-473-2913
barbara.pavlova@dal.ca

bipolar disorder, anxiety disorders, comorbidity, early interventions, cognitive behaviour therapy, social anxiety disorder

Conrad, Colin
BAHons (Dalhousie), MA (Queen's), MEC, PhD (Dalhousie) 

School of Information Management
colin.conrad@dal.ca

information technology use, education technology, commercial applications of neuroscience, cognitive neuroscience, human-computer interaction, data mining

Robinson, Lynne 
BSc (Victoria) MA, PhD (Simon Fraser)

School of Health and Human Performance
(902) 494-1157
Lynne.Robinson@dal.ca

psychosocial issues in cancer, relationships, internet-mediated health promotion, health promotion, community based research

Dithurbide, Lori 
BA (St. Mary's), MA (Brock), PhD (Michigan State)

School of Health and Human Performance
(902) 494-2477
lori.dithurbide@dal.ca

sport and exercise psychology, group/team dynamics, efficacy and trust in dyads/groups/teams, athletic performance, measurement of psychosocial variables in sport and exercise

Semba, Kazue
BEd, MA (Tokyo) PhD (Rutgers)

Medical Neuroscience
(902) 494-2008
k.semba@dal.ca

neurobehavioural and physiological impacts of chronic sleep restriction; role of astrocytes in sleep/wake regulation; circadian control of sleep and waking

Filliter, Jillian H.,
BSc Hons, MSc, PhD (Dalhousie)

Department of Pediatrics
(902) 470-7275
filliter@dal.ca

autism spectrum disorder (ASD), improving health care access and interactions for youth with ASD, understanding cognitive and emotional processes in ASD

Smith, Isabel 
BA (Dalhousie) MSc (Brown) PhD (Dalhousie)

Joan and Jack Craig Chair in Autism Research. Department of Pediatrics 
(902) 470-7271
isabel.smith@iwk.nshealth.ca

autism spectrum disorder, developmental disabilities, intervention research

Finley, G. Allen 
BSc, MD, Dalhousie FRCPC

Department of Anaesthesia
(902) 470-7708
allen.finley@dal.ca

pediatric pain (measurement and management), audible alarm signals, perioperative anxiety, awareness and memory

Thomas, Megan
BSc (St. Andrews), MBChB (Manchester), DRCOG/MRCP(UK) (Glasgow), PhD (Central Lancashire), FRCPCH FRCP

Department of Pediatrics
(902) 470-7300
megan.thomas@iwk.nshealth.ca

sleep, autism spectrum disorders, neurodevelopmental disabilities, parent support, health service information and delivery

Fisher, Derek 
BSc (Ottawa), MSc, PhD (Carleton)

Department of Psychiatry
(902) 457-5503
derek.fisher@msvu.ca

schizophrenia, psychosis, psychopharmacology, nicotine, cognitive neuroscience, EEG, event-related potentials, mismatch negativity

Tibbo, Phil
BSc Hons. (Mt Allison), B.MEd.Sc, MD (Memorial), FRCPC, AHRMR (Alberta)

CRC Chair in Psychotic Distorders and Director of Early Psychosis Program, Department of Psychiatry
(902) 473-1678

Addictions, schizophrenia, Magnetic resonance spectrocscopy (MRS), early interventions, Diffusion Tensor Imaging (DTI), brain imaging

 

Fisk, John 
BSc, MA, PhD (Western)


Department of Psychiatry
(902) 473-2581
John.Fisk@dal.ca

neuropsychology, cognitive neuroscience and neuroimaging; aging, multiple sclerosis, dementia and neurodegenerative neuroimaging disorders: assessment, diagnosis, epidemiology, risk factors, health-related quality of life, treatment effectiveness, health policy

Top, Deniz
BSC Hons (Toronto), PhD (Dalhousie)

Department of Pediatrics, Division of Medical Genetics
dtop@dal.ca

circadian rhythms, sleep, feeding, learning/memory behaviours, transcriptional regulation, protein biochemistry

Ghanouni, Parisa
BSc, MSc (Shahid Behesheti Univ.), PhD (UBC)

School of Occupational Therapy
(902) 494-8434
Parisa.Ghanouni@dal.ca

Child and adolescent mental health, assistive technology and eHealth interventions, neurodevelopmental disorders and neurodiversity including Autism, ADHD, Comorbidity and cognition, patient oriented research, resilience, participation, and coping

 

Town, Joel 
BSC (York), D. Clin Psy (Univ. of Sheffield)

Centre for Emotions and Health, Department of Psychiatry
(902) 473-2543
Joel.Town@dal.ca

psychotherapy process-outcome and effectiveness research, emotion processing, Short-Term Dynamic Psychotherapy, psychotherapy for common mental disorders, medically unexplained symptoms
Good, Kim 
BSc (UNB) MSc, PhD (UBC)


Department of Psychiatry
(902) 473-4250
kim.good@dal.ca

olfactory and cognitive function in patients with psychotic disorders, and olfactory fMRI
Uher, Rudolf 
CCT, MRCPsych, PhD, MUDr. 

Department of Psychiatry
(902) 473-7209
uher@dal.ca

early interventions interventions to prevent severe mental illness, classification of psychopathology, the treatment of depression, the use the clinical assessment and genomics to personalize and optimize treatment and the interplay of genes and environment in the causation of mental illness
Hashmi, Javeria 
BSc (Punjab), MSc (Western), PhD (Toronto)

Department of Anesthesia, Pain Management and Perioperative Medicine
javeria.hashmi@dal.ca

acute and chronic pain, anethesisa, brain development, networks, predictive analysis
Ungar, Michael 
BA, BSW, MSW (McGill) PhD (Wilfred Laurier)

School of Social Work
(902) 494-3445
michael.ungar@dal.ca

qualitative methods, resilience, adolescent mental health, family therapy, ecological social work, program evaluation, cross-cultural research, delinquency, child development, social constructionism

Hernandez Castillo, Carlos
PhD (Veracruz)

Faculty of Computer Science
cr218043@dal.ca

Research Website

neuroimaging, movement disorders, neuroscience, artificial intelligence

Westwood, David A. 
BSc, MA, PhD (Waterloo)

School of Health and Human Performance
(902) 494-1164
david.westwood@dal.ca

cognitive neuroscience, sensory control of skilled action, functional neuroimaging