Adjunct (FGS) Appointments

Adjunct appointees are eligible for all aspects of co-supervision (with a full member of the department) of comprehensives and dissertation, and, depending upon affiliation and area of expertise/qualification, clinical practica. 

Read our Departmental Policy on these appointments.


Current Adjunct Appointees

Barresi, John 
BSc (Brown), MA (S. Calif), MSc, PhD (Wisconsin)

Psychology and Neuroscience Department, Dalhousie University
Email: John.Barresi@dal.ca

personology, social cognition, philosophical psychology, history of psychology

 

Mitchell, Donald E. 
BSc, MASc (Melbourne), PhD (Berkeley)

Psychology and Neuroscience Department, Dalhousie University
(902) 494-6419
D.E.Mitchell@dal.ca

visual system development, visual perception

Chipman, Karen 
BA (UPEI), MA, PhD (Western)

Neuropsychology Service, Nova Scotia Hospital
(902) 464-6059
Karen.Chipman@nshealth.ca

neuropsychology, cognitive rehabilitation, functional outcomes, aging, mild cognitive impairment (MCI), dementia and neurodegenerative disorders, schizophrenia, affective disorders, family/caregiver support

Pohlmann-Eden, Bernd 
PhD, MD (Univ. of Heidelberg)

bpohlmanneden@me.com

clinical epileptogenesis, new-onset epilepsy, cognition and psychiatric comorbidity in epilepsy, advanced neuroimaging, ischemia-related seizures, mechanisms of pharmacoresistance, knowledge transfer, medical education, and didactic tools in medicine

Church, Elizabeth 
BA (St.John's), MA, PhD (Toronto)

School Psychology, Mount Saint Vincent University
(902) 457-6721
Elizabeth.Church@msvu.ca

stepfamilies, parenting, self help, rural mental health, interprofessional collaboration

Omisade, Antonina 
BA (York), PhD (Dalhousie)

Neuropsychology (Epilepsy Services), QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-4799
akuznetsova@dal.ca

clinical neuropsychology, cognitive neuroscience and neuroimaging, epilepsy, neurodegenerative disorders, assessment: early detection of cognitive impairment and lateralization of cognitive functions

Cohen, Annabel
BA (McGill), MA, PhD (Queen's)

Department of Psychology, University of Prince Edward Island
(902) 628-4325
acohen@upei.ca

music perception and cognition; interdisciplinary research in singing, film music

 

O'Neill, Patrick 
MSc, PhD (Yale)

Professor Emeritus, Acadia University
poneill243@gmail.com

ethical decision making, community psychology

Conrad, Nicole

BA (Saint Mary's) PhD (McMaster)

Psychology Department, Saint Mary's University
902-420-5080
nicole.conrad@smu.ca

development of reading skills, memory, cognitive and linguistic factors related to reading and spelling 

Robertson, Erin 
BA (Mount Allison), MA, PhD (Western Ontario)

Psychology Department, Cape Breton University
902-563-1804
erin_robertson@cbu.ca

Research interests:  language and reading development and disorders in children, speech perception, phonology, morphology, syntax, working memory

DiGiorgio,Carla
BA (UCCB), BSC, BEd (Dalhousie), MEd(St.FX), PhD (Univ. South Australia)

School of Education, Acadia University
(902) 217-9509
Email:  Carla.digiorgio@acadiau.ca

learning exceptionalities and inclusion, sociocultural factors in education including parent perspectives, minority language education, research methods and action research, leadership and gender in learning, complex school systems 

Rodger, R.S. 
MA (Edin), PhD (Queen's University, Belfast)

swann@bellaliant.ca

statistical methodology; especially the evaluation of the multiple, null contrasts against their alternatives (parametric and non-parametric), using decision-based error and detection rates

Ellsworth, Christine 
BA (McMaster), MA, PhD (Queen's)

Psychology Department, IWK Health Centre
(902) 470-8454
Christine.Ellsworth@iwk.nshealth.ca

neurodevelopmental disorders (infants and preschoolers), early identification, parent education and support

Roy-Charland, Annie
BPs, MAPs, PhD (Moncton)

École de psychologie, Université de Moncton
(506) 858-4304
Email: annie.roy-charland@umoncton.ca

social cognition, development, reading, emotional facial expressions, eye movements

Flanagan, Helen 
BA & BSc (McMaster), MA, PhD (York)

Psychology Department, IWK Health Centre
902 457- 5596
helen.flanagan@iwk.nshealth.ca

Intervention for young children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), developmental trajectories in ASD, parent coaching

Saint-Aubin Jean 
BA (Sherbrooke), MPs, PhD (Laval)

École de psychologie, Université de Moncton
(506) 858-4768
jean.saint-aubin@umoncton.ca

missing-letter effect, working memory, eye movements, shared book reading

Gilin OoreDebra 
BSc (Northern Michigan), MA, PhD (Missouri-St. Louis)

Psychology Department, Saint Mary's University
(902) 420-5846
Debra.Gilin@smu.ca

managerial decision making, conflict escalation and resolution, interpersonal and organizational change

Schellinck, Heather 
BSc, MSc, PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology and Neuroscience, Dalhousie University
heathers@dal.ca

olfactory learning in animal models of neurodegenerative disease; pheromonal mechanisms in rodents

Ivanoff, Jason 
BSc, MA (Guelph), PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology Department, Saint Mary’s University
(902) 491-6345
jason.ivanoff@smu.ca

attention, decision-making, executive control, response preparation, cognitive neuroscience, functional magnetic resonance imaging, event-related potentials

Shaw, Stephen R. 
BSc (London), PhD (St. Andrews)

Psychology and Neuroscience Department, Dalhousie University
(902) 494-2886
Stephen.Shaw@dal.ca

insect sensory neurophysiology, visual optics, single neuron evolution, light- and electron-microscope neuroanatomy

LoLordo, Vincent 
BA (Brown),  PhD (Pennsylvania)

Psychology and Neuroscience, Dalhousie University
902-494-3441
Vincent.LoLordo@dal.ca

learning, animal behaviour

Smith, Steven M. 
BA (Bishop's), MA, PhD (Queen’s)

Psychology Department, Saint Mary’s University
(902) 420-5493
steven.smith@smu.ca

attitudes and persuasion, attitude change, behaviour change, health promotion, psychology and law, eyewitness identification, confession evidence, media and persuasion, media and the legal system

Marchand, Yannick 
MCS (Univ. of Paris), PhD (Compiegne, France)

Yannick.Marchand@dal.ca

computational modeling of reading, dyslexia, speech technology, event-related brain potentials

Vallis, T. Michael 
BSc (Dalhousie), MA, PhD (Western)

Psychology Department, QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-4799
T.Michael.Vallis@nshealth.ca

health psychology, diabetes, gastroenterology, cardiovascular risk reduction, obesity, motivational readiness to change, cognitive therapy

MacNeil, Brad
BSc (St. FX), PhD (UNB)

Policy & Planning, Mental Health and Addictions, NSHA
902-460-6228
Brad.MacNeil@nshealth.ca

group process and interventions, patient/user experience, body image and eating disorders
Watt, Margo 
BA (St. FX), PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology Department, St. Francis Xavier University
(902) 867-5215
mwatt@stfx.ca

anxiety, cognitive-behavioural interventions, health-related behaviour, forensic psychology