Adjunct Appointments

Adjunct (FGS) appointees are eligible for all aspects of co-supervision (with a full member of the department) of comprehensives and dissertation, and, depending upon affiliation and area of expertise/qualification, clinical practica. 

Adjunct (FoS) appointees can supervise undergraduate students in research or projects, and/or conduct collaborative research in a given unit. 

There are several other levels of adjunct appointments, so please read our Departmental Policy to find out more information.


Current Adjunct Appointees

Asp, Elissa 
BA (Glendon), MA, PhD (York)

English Language and Literature, Saint Mary's University

Elissa.Asp@smu.ca

 

LoLordo, Vincent 
BA (Brown),  PhD (Pennsylvania)

Psychology and Neuroscience, Dalhousie University
902-494-3441
Vincent.LoLordo@dal.ca

learning, animal behaviour

Barresi, John (FoS)
BSc (Brown), MA (S. Calif), MSc, PhD (Wisconsin)

Psychology and Neuroscience Department, Dalhousie University
Email: John.Barresi@dal.ca

personology, social cognition, philosophical psychology, history of psychology

 

MacNeil, Brad
BSc (St. FX), PhD (UNB)

bmacne@midwestern.edu

group process and interventions, patient/user experience, body image and eating disorders

Birnie, Kathryn
BA (Calgary), PhD (Dalhousie)

Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, Cummings School of Medicine
University of Calgary
Kathryn.Birnie@ucalgary.ca

pediatric pain, child health, family factors, knowledge mobilization, health systems

Marchand, Yannick 
MCS (Univ. of Paris), PhD (Compiegne, France)

Yannick.Marchand@dal.ca

computational modeling of reading, dyslexia, speech technology, event-related brain potentials

 

Cawley, Elizabeth
BSc Hons (Ottawa), MSc, PhD (McGill)

Director, National Mental Health Strategy, ASEQ/STUDENTCARE
(514) 975-9493
elizabeth@studentcare.ca

E-mental health, student assistance programs, self-directed therapy, short-term solution focused counselling, online peer support, best practices in implementing mental health programming for post-secondary students, the National Standard for the Mental Health and Well-Being for Post-Secondary Students, mental health literacy, post-secondary student mental health, youth help-seeking behaviour

Mazerolle, Erin
BSC, MSc, PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology Department
St. Francis Xavier University
emazerol@stfx.ca

neuroimaging, functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI), calibrated fMRI, diffusion imaging, brain physiology, brain function, brain connectivity, neurovascular coupling, cerebrovascular reactivity, multiple sclerosis, essential tremor, cerebrovascular disease, dementia, reproducibility

Champod, Anne Sophie
BSc (Montreal), PhD (McGill)

Psychology Department
Acadia University
(902) 585-1332
Email:  anne.champod@acadiau.ca

neuropsychology, stroke, rehabilitation, cognition, attention, working memory

McLaughlin, Paula
BSc (Toronto), MA, PhD (York)

Seniors Health Program and Director of Training for the Clinical Psychology Residency Program, Nova Scotia Health
902-473-4799
paula.mclaughlin@nshealth.ca

neuropsychology, dementia and neurodegenerative disorders, cognitive aging

Chipman, Karen 
BA (UPEI), MA, PhD (Western)

Neuropsychology Service, Nova Scotia Hospital
(902) 464-6059
Karen.Chipman@nshealth.ca

neuropsychology, cognitive rehabilitation, functional outcomes, aging, mild cognitive impairment (MCI), dementia and neurodegenerative disorders, schizophrenia, affective disorders, family/caregiver support

Mitchell, Donald E.  (FoS)
BSc, MASc (Melbourne), PhD (Berkeley)

Psychology and Neuroscience Department, Dalhousie University
(902) 494-6419
D.E.Mitchell@dal.ca

visual system development, visual perception

Church, Elizabeth
BA (St.John's), MA, PhD (Toronto)

School Psychology, Mount Saint Vincent University
(902) 457-6721
Elizabeth.Church@msvu.ca

stepfamilies, parenting, self help, rural mental health, interprofessional collaboration

Olthuis, Janine
BA (Smith College), PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology Department
University of New Brunswick
(506) 453-4707
j.olthuis@unb.ca

anxiety, posttraumatic stress, distance delivered psychological interventions, transdiagnostic interventions, exercise and mental health, alcohol use in adolescents and young adults

Cohen, Annabel
BA (McGill), MSc, PhD (Queen's)

Psychology, University of PEI
902-628-4325
acohen@upei.ca

music cognition including across the lifespan with a focus on adolescents, young and older adults; memory for pop music; multicultural perspective;  singing; Parkinson's disease (reminiscence singing group therapy); equity in music education,  music and pain;  film music and audiovisual integration; creativity/improvisation

Omisade, Antonina 
BA (York), PhD (Dalhousie)

Neuropsychology (Epilepsy Services), QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-4799
akuznetsova@dal.ca

clinical neuropsychology, cognitive neuroscience and neuroimaging, epilepsy, neurodegenerative disorders, assessment: early detection of cognitive impairment and lateralization of cognitive functions

 

Conrad, Nicole
BA (Saint Mary's) PhD (McMaster)


Psychology Department, Saint Mary's University
902-420-5080
nicole.conrad@smu.ca

development of reading skills, memory, cognitive and linguistic factors related to reading and spelling 

Redden, Ralph S.
BA, MSc, PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology, St. Francis Xavier University
rredden@stfx.ca

attention, social cognition, eye movements, individual differences, open science

 

Corbit, John
BSc (Dalhousie), BSc Hons (SfFX), MA (Concordia), PhD (Simon Fraser)

Psychology. St. Francis Xavier University
John.Corbit@dal.ca

human development; cooperation; fairness; social cognition; and culture

Rigney, Gabrielle
BPsy-Hons, PhD (Univ. of South Australia)

Health and Applied Medical Sciences, Central Queensland University
g.rigney@cqu.edu.au

pediatric sleep, eHealth intervention for youth

DiGiorgio, Carla
BA (UCCB), BSc, BEd (Dalhousie), MEd(St.FX), PhD (Univ. South Australia)

School of Education, Acadia University
(902) 217-9509
Email:  Carla.digiorgio@acadiau.ca

learning exceptionalities and inclusion, sociocultural factors in education including parent perspectives, minority language education, research methods and action research, leadership and gender in learning, complex school systems 

Robertson, Erin 
BA (Mount Allison), MA, PhD (Western Ontario)

Psychology Department, Cape Breton University
902-563-1804
erin_robertson@cbu.ca

Research interests:  language and reading development and disorders in children, speech perception, phonology, morphology, syntax, working memory

Ezekiel, Rick
BA, MSc (Western), PhD (Toronto)

Vice-Provost Student Affairs, Dalhousie
902-494-8021
Rick.Ezekiel@dal.ca

postsecondary student mental health and wellness, stress / mental health and learning (disparities and disproportionality within marginalized communities), developmental cognitive neuroscience (attention and cognitive control), neuroimaging -  fMRI & development of functional brain networks

 

Roy-Charland, Annie
BPs, MAPs, PhD (Moncton)

École de psychologie, Université de Moncton
(506) 858-4304
Email: annie.roy-charland@umoncton.ca

social cognition, development, reading, emotional facial expressions, eye movements

Flanagan, Helen 
BA & BSc (McMaster), MA, PhD (York)

Psychology Department, IWK Health Centre
902 457- 5596
helen.flanagan@iwk.nshealth.ca

Intervention for young children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), developmental trajectories in ASD, parent coaching

Saint-Aubin Jean 
BA (Sherbrooke), MPs, PhD (Laval)

École de psychologie, Université de Moncton
(506) 858-4768
jean.saint-aubin@umoncton.ca

missing-letter effect, working memory, eye movements, shared book reading

Garland, Sheila
BA, MSc and PhD (Calgary)

Psychology, Memorial University
sheila.garland@mun.ca

health psychology, behavioral sleep medicine, psychosocial oncology, digital health

Schellinck, Heather 
BSc, MSc, PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology and Neuroscience, Dalhousie University
heathers@dal.ca

olfactory learning in animal models of neurodegenerative disease; pheromonal mechanisms in rodents

Gilin OoreDebra 
BSc (Northern Michigan), MA, PhD (Missouri-St. Louis)

Psychology Department, Saint Mary's University
(902) 420-5846
Debra.Gilin@smu.ca

managerial decision making, conflict escalation and resolution, interpersonal and organizational change

Shaw, Stephen R. 
BSc (London), PhD (St. Andrews)

Psychology and Neuroscience Department, Dalhousie University
(902) 494-2886
Stephen.Shaw@dal.ca

insect sensory neurophysiology, visual optics, single neuron evolution, light- and electron-microscope neuroanatomy

Ivanoff, Jason 
BSc, MA (Guelph), PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology Department, Saint Mary’s University
(902) 491-6345
jason.ivanoff@smu.ca

attention, decision-making, executive control, response preparation, cognitive neuroscience, functional magnetic resonance imaging, event-related potentials

 

 

Smith, Steven M. 
BA (Bishop's), MA, PhD (Queen’s)

Psychology Department, Saint Mary’s University
(902) 420-5493
steven.smith@smu.ca

attitudes and persuasion, attitude change, behaviour change, health promotion, psychology and law, eyewitness identification, confession evidence, media and persuasion, media and the legal system

Keys, Elizabeth
BSc, BN, PhD (Calgary)

School of Nursing, University of British Columbia
Elizabeth.Keys@ubc.ca

early childhood, sleep, parent-child relationships, community health

Vallis, T. Michael 
BSc (Dalhousie), MA, PhD (Western)

Psychology Department, QEII Health Sciences Centre
(902) 473-4799
T.Michael.Vallis@nshealth.ca

health psychology, diabetes, gastroenterology, cardiovascular risk reduction, obesity, motivational readiness to change, cognitive therapy

Khoury, Jennifer
BSc (Toronto), MA, PhD (Ryerson)

Psychology Departmnet
Mount Saint Vincent University
Email: Jennifer.Khoury@msvu.ca

early life stress, child maltreatment, stress physiology, cortisol, emotion regulation, parent and child psychopathology, meta-analysis

 

Watt, Margo 
BA (St. FX), PhD (Dalhousie)

Psychology Department, St. Francis Xavier University
(902) 867-5215
mwatt@stfx.ca

anxiety, cognitive-behavioural interventions, health-related behaviour, forensic psychology

Lackner, Christine
MSc (Queen's), PhD (Brock)

Psychology Department
Mount Saint Vincent University
Email: christine.lackner@msvu.ca

Developmental neuroscience, self-regulation, executive function, adverse childhood experiences, attentional control, event-related potentials, single-subject statistics, independent components analysis