Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Our People

Dalhousie's Psychology and Neuroscience faculty are experts in a number of distinct, but complementary, research areas and have a strong commitment to integrating their research interests into their training and teaching.

Our clear strengths are in training knowledge creators in the science of the mind, brain, and behaviour and excellent clinicians who apply this knowledge. These strengths and this approach attract strong graduate students, who contribute significantly to a thriving research environment.

We also educate many undergraduate students who benefit from our strong and diverse faculty and also from a departmental mindset to not just teach the facts, but to educate students in how to think critically and analytically about scientific issues.

Click on Faculty name for more detailed information


Primary Faculty
 

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M   N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z   
 

                                                                             

Tara Perrot, Chair

tara.perrot@dal.ca
(902) 494-2269
LSC 3333

Neuroscience, Development, Epigenetics, Behavioural endocrinology, Adolescence, Stress, Prenatal stress, Sex differences

Faculty Profile

   

Shelley Adamo 

shelley.adamo@dal.ca
(902) 494-8853
LSC  3324

Invertebrate behavioural physiology, Comparative psychoneuroimmunology, Ecoimmunology, cephalopod behaviour


Faculty Profile

Sean Barrett

sean.barrett@dal.ca
(902) 494-2956
LSC  2525

Addiction, Neuroscience, Clinical psychology

Faculty Profile

Janusz Borycz

jborycz@dal.ca
(902) 494-8826
LSC  3319

Neurotransmitters and their transporters – cellular and molecular mechanisms investigated using invertebrate and vertebrate models. Currently mostly focused on histamine (photoreceptor neurotransmitter) recycling in the eye of Drosophila.

Faculty Profile

Richard Brown

richard.brown@dal.ca
(902) 494-3647
LSC  3335

Behavioural endocrinology, Developmental psychobiology, Drugs and behaviour, Behaviour of transgenic and mutant mice, Development, Animal behaviour, Memory

Faculty Profile

Christine Chambers
Joint Appointment, Pediatrics

christine.chambers@dal.ca
(902) 470-8877
IWK

Health psychology, Pain, Children, Families, Clinical psychology, Social media, Knowledge Translation

Faculty Profile

Jason Chatman

jason.chatman@Dal.ca
(902) 494-4186
LSC  3349 

Child and adolescent mental health, family therapy, issues of diversity in clinical psychology, cross-cultural competence, ethnic identity development

Faculty Profile

John Christie

john.christie@dal.ca
(902) 494-4573
LSC  2519

Attention, Memory, Learning

Faculty Profile

Penny Corkum

penny.corkum@dal.ca
(902) 494-5177
LSC 2521

Clinical psychology, Sleep and childhood psychopathology, Psycho-social interventions, School psychology, Health

Faculty Profile

Nathan Crowder

nathan.crowder@dal.ca
(902) 494-6025
LSC 3337

Neuroscience, Perception, Development, Electrophysiology,Neuroanatomy, Optical imaging, Psychophysics, Vision

Faculty Profile

Hélène Deacon

helene.deacon@dal.ca
(902) 494-3229
LSC 2337

Reading and spelling development, Bilingualism, Reading difficulties

Faculty Profile

Kevin Duffy

kevin.duffy@dal.ca
(902) 494-3944
LSC 2338

Development, Neuroscience, Vision impairment, Cellular mechanisms,Neuroplasticity

Faculty Profile

Gail Eskes
Joint Appointment, Psychiatry

gail.eskes@dal.ca
(902) 494-4032
LSC 2536

Cognitive impairment, Dementia, Executive functioning, Memory,Neuroplasticity, Neuropsychology, Rehabilitation, Working memory

Faculty Profile

Tamara Franklin

tamara.franklin@dal.ca 
(902) 494-2923
LSC 2526

Neuroscience, epigenetics, in vivo electrophysiology, animal behaviour, neuroconnectivity, sociability

Faculty Profile

Simon Gadbois

simon.gadbois@dal.ca 
(902) 494-8848
LSC 3326

Animal behaviour, Neuroscience, Olfactory processing, Learning, Behavioural endocrinology, Canids, Reptiles

Faculty Profile

Sophie Jacques

sophie.jacques@dal.ca
(902) 494-8055
LSC 2336

Development, Cognitive psychology, Self-control, Socio-cognitive development, Socio-emotional development, Cognitive development

Faculty Profile

Shannon Johnson

shannon.johnson@dal.ca
(902) 494-4504
LSC 3371

Development, Cognition, Social cognition, Typical and atypical development, Autism spectrum, Cognitive neuropsychology, Clinical psychology
 
 

Tim Juckes

tim.juckes@dal.ca 
(902) 494-1855
LSC  3320

Sociopsychology, History of psychology, Scientific writing, Social influence

Faculty Profile

Raymond Klein

ray.klein@dal.ca
(902) 494-6551
LSC 2535

Attention, Perception, Neuroscience, Cognitive neuroscience, Applied cognitive psychology

Faculty Profile

Sean Mackinnon

mackinnon.sean@dal.ca
(902) 494-3385
LSC 2540

Personality, multivariate statistics, alcohol, well-being, relationships

Faculty Profile

Paddy McMullen

patricia.mcmullen@dal.ca
(902) 494-7025
LSC 3336

Memory, Perception, Face recognition, Categorization, Cognitive neuropsychology, Object recognition, Visual cognition

Faculty Profile

Ian Meinertzhagen

i.a.meinertzhagen@dal.ca
(902) 494-2131
LSC 2388

Development, Neuroscience, 3-D visualization and reconstruction,Invertebrate neurobiology, Synaptic fine structure, Electron microscopy,Connectomics

Faculty Profile

Chris Moore

chris.moore@dal.ca
(902) 494-3540
LSC 3321

Development

Faculty Profile

Aaron Newman

aaron.newman@dal.ca
(902) 494-1911
LSC 3325

Neuroimaging, Language, Neuroplasticity, Aphasia, Deafness, Gesture,Second language acquisition, Sign language

Faculty Profile

Alissa Pencer

alissa.pencer@dal.ca
(902) 494-4466
LSC 2538

Emerging adults, Anxiety Disorders, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, Early interventions for severe mental illness, First episode psychosis, Anxiety disorders, Addictions

Faculty Profile

Leslie Phillmore

leslie.phillmore@dal.ca
(902) 494-2794
LSC 3338

Learning, Memory, Songbirds, Perception, Neurogenesis,Neuroplasticity, Seasonality

Faculty Profile

Elaine Ply

Elaine.Ply@dal.ca
(902) 494-6976
LSC 2520

Clinical training, Psychotherapy outcome

Faculty Profile

Natalie Rosen

Natalie.Rosen@dal.ca
(902) 494-4044
LSC 3339

Clinical psychology, Health psychology, Human sexuality, Pain

Faculty Profile

Ben Rusak
Joint Appointment, Psychiatry

benjamin.rusak@dal.ca
(902) 494-2433
LSC

Chronobiology and sleep, Circadian rhythms, Mood disorders,Neurodegenerative diseases

Faculty Profile

Simon Sherry

simon.sherry@dal.ca
(902) 494-7719 
LSC 2537

Clinical psychology, depression, personality, perfectionism, psychopathology, suicide, eating disorders

Faculty Profile

Jennifer Stamp

jennifer.stamp@dal.ca
(902) 494-3432
LSC 2533

Addiction, Neuroscience, Steroid hormones and behaviour, Stress

Faculty Profile

Leanne Stevens

leanne.stevens@dal.ca
(902) 494-6809
LSC 5215

Faculty Profile

Sherry Stewart
Joint Appointment, Psychiatry

sherry.stewart@dal.ca
(902) 494-4546
LSC 2530

Addictions, Anxiety disorders, Comorbidity, Treatment matching,Problem gambling, Alcohol abuse, Personality, Substance use motives

Faculty Profile

Tracy Taylor-Helmick

tracy.taylor-helmick@dal.ca
(902) 494-3001
LSC 2529

Memory, Intentional forgetting, Directed forgetting, Mnemonics,Cognition

Faculty Profile

Ian Weaver

ian.weaver@dal.ca
Office: (902) 494-1133
Lab: (902) 494-1088
LSC 3340

Neurobehavioural epigenetic mechanisms, Early life experience,Steroid hormone function, DNA and chromatin modification, Programming of gene expression, Cortical development, Endocrine and behavioural stress responses, Pharmacological interventions, Psycho-social interventions

Faculty Profile


Not sure who your question should be directed to?
Email us at psychology@dal.ca and we will direct you to the proper person.

Learn about our staff.