Dalhousie Alumni Association Award of Excellence for Teaching Recipients


Congratulations to the 2023 recipient!

Dr. Sachin Seth, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, Faculty of Dentistry, is being honoured as an outstanding teacher and mentor with the Dalhousie Alumni Association Faculty Award of Excellence for Teaching. His helpful, open, and supportive way of dealing with students and colleagues exemplify the criteria for this award. Dr. Seth has taught across all years of the dentistry curriculum, and he is a favourite amongst the students. Dr. Seth’s publications help pass on his expertise to colleagues and his YouTube videos of introductory operative dentistry techniques are a valuable resource to both Dalhousie and non-Dalhousie students alike. His innovative small group practice model, which brought a diverse group of teachers and students together, has greatly impacted the education and the educational experience.


Sachin Seth, DDS, MEd is an assistant professor and associate dean of academics at Dalhousie University in Halifax. He completed his BSc and DDS degrees at Dalhousie University in 1996 and 2000 respectively and then obtained his MEd from Acadia University in 2011, with a focus on curriculum development.

Since 2002, Sachin has been involved with both clinical and didactic teaching at Dalhousie University, including operative dentistry, evidence-based dentistry, patient care, and communications.  In 2018, he led various stakeholders to deliver an innovative new clinical teaching program that exposes students to a setting which more closely resembles private practice, with collaboration between dentistry and dental hygiene.

Sachin has worked extensively with the National Dental Examining Board of Canada and been involved with standard setting, exam review, and question writing for licensure exams for dentists in Canada.

He was recently inducted as a Fellow into the American College of Dentists. Sachin has also received several teaching awards, including the Association of Canadian Faculties of Dentistry W.W. Wood Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2019 and the Association of Canadian Faculties of Dentistry National Teaching Award in 2022.


Dr. Jennifer Stamp, Department of Psychology & Neuroscience, Faculty of Science


Matthew Schnurr, International Development Studies

Dr. Schnurr, associate professor in the Department of International Development studies, is this year’s recipient of Dal’s top institutional award for teaching. The honour recognizes the interdisciplinary reach of Dr. Schnurr’s educational leadership in simulation-based learning. Through the establishment of an Atlantic Canada community of practice, facilitated by the frequently accessed Simulations and Student Learning Website, he has created an online hub for faculty, educational developers and graduate students. He also improved teaching through spearheading the creation of Dalhousie’s guidelines on research related to the scholarship of teaching and learning, an initiative aligned with his own evidence-based assessment of the impact of his teaching and learning initiatives.


Dr. Alison Thompson, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science

Respecting differences in the classroom and beyond

DalNews, Obinna Esomchukwu - November 22, 2018


Dr. Vivian Howard, School of Information Management

Vivian Howard, this year's recipient of the university's top teaching award, first joined Dal in a full-time role in 1999 as one of the original instructors in the then newly launched Bachelor of Management program. Since then, she has built a reputation as an outstanding teacher and community leader. An associate professor in the School of Information Management, Dr. Howard is being recognized for her scholarly contributions on teaching and learning and for her commitment to community engagement and helping boost retention efforts for international students. She has also provided consistent support for peers across faculties on major initiatives such as the development of the Indigenous Studies minor, which launched in the fall of 2015.

Meet this year's Dalhousie teaching award winners

DalNews, Ryan McNutt and Matt Reeder - June 15, 2017


Anne Marie Ryan, Department of Earth Sciences

This year’s top award for teaching is being presented to Anne Marie Ryan. Dr. Ryan has been with Dalhousie since 2001. She is being recognized for her leadership in developing programs for early career faculty within the Faculty of Science and the expansion to a “Community of Teaching Practice, Faculty of Science,” as well as her her scholarly contributions to pedagogic research. One student noted that, “Anne Marie is a great prof whose dedication and love for geology is evident through her teaching styles and enthusiasm.”

Originally posting: Helping students succeed: Meet this year's Dal teaching award winners. Posted by Michelle Soucy and Ryan McNutt, Dal News on May 11, 2016.

Turning teaching into a conversation

Posted by Emily Côté for Dal News on December 8, 2016

1997 - 2015


2015: Dr. Carolyn Campbell, School of Social Work

2014: Dr. Roberta Barker, Department of Theatre

2013: Dr. Arunika Gunawardena, Department of Biology

2012: Dr. Frank Harvey, Department of Political Science

2011: Dr. Simon Gadbois, Department of Psychology

2010: Dr. Jean Burnell, Department of Chemistry

2009: Dr. Tracy Taylor-Helmick, Department of Psychology

2008: Dr. Tom MacRae, Department of Biology

2007: Dr. Peter O’Brien, Department of Classics

2006: Dr. Peter Aucoin, School of Public Administration

2005: Dennis Phillips, Department of Psychology

2004: Stephen Coughlan, Schulich School of Law

2003: Marty Leonard, Department of Biology

2002: James Stolzman, Department of Sociology & Social Anthropology

2001: T. Stanley Cameron, Department of Chemistry

2001: A. Wayne MacKay, Schulich School of Law

2000: Patricia DeMéo, Department of French

1999: Phil Campagna, School of Health & Human Performance

1998: Timothy Lee, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

1997: Simpali Srinivas, Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computing Science