Regional and National Awards

*The following links open in new pages

Association of Atlantic Universities

Distinguished Teacher Award

This award recognizes excellence in teaching over a number of years. Please refer to the award criteria and examples on page one.

Instructional Leadership Award

This award recognizes sustained commitment to the improvement of university teaching by providing leadership in developing institutional structures and processes, and creating an environment in which teaching excellence is valued and fostered.

STLHE Awards

3M National Teaching Fellowship

In 1986, the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and 3M Canada partnered to recognize exceptional contributions to teaching and learning in Canadian post-secondary education. The community of 3M National Teaching Fellows embodies the highest ideals of teaching excellence and scholarship with a commitment to encourage and support the educational experience of every learner.

3M National Student Fellowship

For many years, 3M Canada has funded scholarships and awards for undergraduates in colleges and universities across Canada. In 2012, 3M added a student fellowship using the long-standing 3M National Teaching Fellowship Program for university professors as a model. The 3M National Student Fellowship Program arose out of consultations and collaboration with the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) Board of Directors and the Council of 3M National Teaching Fellows Executive.

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

Established in 2012, the D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning, sponsored by D2L (Desire2Learn), celebrates and recognizes up to five post-secondary educators each year for their innovative approaches that promote student-centred teaching and learning.

Christopher Knapper Awards

The Christopher Knapper awards are named in honour of the individual whose name they bear and the contributions he made to STLHE and to the educational development and teaching and learning communities, during the lifetime of his career. Christopher Knapper was the first recipient of the lifetime achievement award and STLHE’s founding president.

  • Christopher Knapper Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Christopher Knapper Outstanding Volunteer Award

Alan Blizzard Award

The Alan Blizzard Award was established to encourage, identify, and publicly recognize those whose exemplary collaboration in university teaching enhances student learning. The Award honours Dr. Alan Blizzard, STLHE President from 1987 to 1995, and his convictions about the effectiveness of collaboration in team teaching for student learning. Until 2012, the Award was sponsored by Pearson Canada. The Award seeks to make visible and disseminate scholarship of teaching and learning, based on values and practices of collaborative teaching.