Funding and Awards

You may be eligible for a financial aid support program. Financial aid may be in the form of grants, scholarships or awards.

Financial assistance is available through Dalhousie, as well as a number of external organizations. There are several other general scholarship, bursary and funding aid opportunities available on the Money Matters page under Funding Sources.  

Scholarships and Bursaries

Art and Dorothy Cooke Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship was established in memory of Art and Dorothy Cooke by their daughters, Janet Jerico and Susan MrKich. Art and Dorothy both attended Dalhousie University in the 1930s, taking degrees in English. They then lived near Dalhousie most of their lives, their children attended Dalhousie and Dorothy became University Librarian. This scholarship will be awarded to a full-time student entering their fourth year in an Honours or Combined Honours in Environmental Science whose Honours thesis research proposal is judged to be of strong merit.

The James L. Hall Scholarship will be awarded to a student who has completed their first year of residence at Dalhousie with a high academic standing, and preference will go to a student planning a career in the mining industry. The scholarship was created by the widow of James L. Hall, in memory of her husband, who was a student at Dalhousie from 1919 to 1921, and by Elizabeth L. Hall, his sister. The first Hall Award was made in 1939 and this is the 81st presentation of the award.

Undergraduate Prizes and Awards

The Brian MacLean Memorial Prize is awarded to an undergraduate student in the Faculty of Science, who is pursuing a major or honours degree in Earth Sciences, and shows excellence in their work related to Arctic Geology, Glacial Geology or Marine Geology.  

The Milligan Undergraduate Award for Excellence in Geology is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student who has shown academic excellence and embodies good citizenship (the most supportive to fellow students or making a significant contribution to the community at large).

The MacEachern - Ponsford Memorial Award is to be made on the recommendation of the Chair of the Earth Sciences Department after consultation with the Dawson Geology Club and the staff of the department, to a student who has excelled in field school and has completed the second year of a program majoring in Geology, whose academic performance is of honours calibre, and who has been an active participant in student activities.

The G. V. Douglas Memorial Award commemorates Professor George Vibert Douglas, Head of the Department of Geology, Dalhousie University from 1932-1957. The award is given to a student entering second year Earth Sciences with an outstanding academic record in their first-year studies.

The David Barlow Memorial Award was established to provide an endowed award to be presented annually to a student in the second year of the Geology (Earth Sciences) Program.

The Earth and Environmental Sciences Best Thesis Award is awarded annually to the the student who is judged to have submitted the best Honours Thesis.

The Earth and Environmantal Sciences Best Thesis Presentation Award is awarded annually to the student that is judged to have given the best Honours Thesis presentation.

The Environmental Science Award is given to an Environmental Science Programs in her/his third year of study who has shown academic promise in her/his environmental course work.

The Environmental Science Honours Society Award is awarded annually to students graduating with a BSc Honours/Major in Environmental Science or BSc Combined Honours or a Double Major in Environmental Science who has achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or more.

The Owen Hertzman Prize is granted annually to an Environmental Science student who is deemed to have contributed significantly to Environmental Science school life.
Earth and Environmental Sciences offers University Medals in both Earth Sciences and  Environmental Science to the top First Class Honours graduate in each program in recognition of superior achievement.

Summer Research Awards

Faculty of Science Summer Research Awards (NetID login required)

There are about 70 FoS-coordinated summer research awards available each year, on a competitive basis, for current undergraduate students. Interested students may apply for an award and indicate the faculty member they’d like to work with. Award recipients spend 16 weeks participating in a research project, alongside graduate students and other undergraduates. 

The Michael J. Keen Memorial Award provides stipend funding for a female undergraduate student summer research experience in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences similar to an NSERC USRA. The successful student will work closely with a supervisor in the department with the goal of exposing the student to scientific research work in general and to specific research in the field of Earth and Environmental Sciences.

The tenure of the award runs from June 1 to August 31, 2024.

The Joy M. Cunningham Award (NetID Login Required)  

The Joy M. Cunningham Award is given each year to an outstanding undergraduate student enrolled in Environmental Science or the College of Sustainability and interested in conducting research aimed at environmental protection or restoration, or the sustainable use of our natural resources.

Dr. Cunningham obtained her Bachelor of Science (BSc) degree in Chemistry from Dalhousie University and wants this award to encourage students’ participation in research that will lead to a healthier environment.

Deadline for the submission of applications is January 26, 2024 - electronic submissions only.

EES Supervisors Interested in Hosting Students in 2024

  James Brenan
Killiam Professor
+1 902 494 2358
  John Gosse
Professor; Killiam Professor
+1 902 494 2358
  Sian Kou-Giesbrecht
Assistant Professor
  Owen Sherwood
Assistant Professor
+1 902 494 3604
  Tarah Wright
+1 902 494 1831