Swell of recognition builds buzz at Dal's 2022 Legacy Awards

First in-person ceremony since 2019

- November 10, 2022

Glass sculptures gleam in the spotlight ahead of Dalhousie's 2022 Legacy Awards on Monday. (Danny Abriel photos)
Glass sculptures gleam in the spotlight ahead of Dalhousie's 2022 Legacy Awards on Monday. (Danny Abriel photos)

The stage in the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium looked a lot different this past Monday than it did a week earlier during Fall Convocation ceremonies, but the mood in the room was no less celebratory.

Gone were the rows of seats. In their place, a single table covered in dozens of glass sculptures — each shaped like a wave to symbolize the rippling impact of the faculty and staff who received them at this year’s Legacy Awards ceremony.

"Thank you to all of you for joining us today as we celebrate our faculty and staff, the people whose leadership, dedication and hard work leaves such an important legacy in the lives of our students and our communities,” said Dal President Deep Saini in opening remarks at the event, the first held in person since 2019.

The Legacy Awards ceremony first launched in 2018 as part of the university’s 200th anniversary and is held annually to celebrate and showcase recipients of university-wide awards distributed throughout the year across a range of university functions from teaching and research to administration.

“[The Legacy Awards] give us an opportunity to highlight the strength of our community and the strengths of our faculty and staff,” said Chris Hattie, Dal’s acting assistant vice-president, human resources, and emcee for this year’s ceremony.

Colleagues, friends, family and other supporters turned out to see award recipients cross the stage at the Cohn to receive their sculpture from President Saini.

Attendees at this year’s ceremony were also treated to a musical performance by Morgan Toney, an award-winning Mi’kmaq fiddler from Cape Breton. He was joined on stage by songwriter Keith Mullins.

The formal ceremony was followed by a short reception in the sculpture court of the Dalhousie Arts Centre. Light food and refreshments were offered as people chatted and posed for photos, with the Dal Tiger and Ram on hand for added picture fun.

Below, see a full list of this year’s Legacy Awards recipients and following that more images from the ceremony. You can also view images of individual recipients here.

This year's ceremony was also livestreamed and can be viewed now on YouTube.

Recommended reading: Milestones tea ceremony celebrates contributions of long‑serving faculty and staff

President's Research Excellence Awards

  • Emerging Investigator

    • Dr. Erin Bertrand, Faculty, Science
    • Dr. Olga Theou, Faculty, Health
    • Dr. Eric Oliver, Faculty, Science
    • Dr. Tom Ue, Faculty, Arts & Social Sciences
    • Dr. Francesca Di Cara, Faculty, Medicine
    • Dr. Brendan Leung, Faculty, Dentistry
  • Research Impact

    • Dr. Daniel Boyd, Faculty, Dentistry
    • Dr. Jeanna Parsons Leigh, Faculty, Health
    • Dr. Dana Kabat-Farr, Faculty, Management
  • Distinguished Research Professors (formerly University Research Professors)

    • Dr. Paul Amyotte, Faculty, Engineering
    • Dr. Sara Kirk, Faculty, Health
    • Dr. Heike Lotze, Faculty, Science

DPMG Awards

University-Wide Teaching Awards 

  • Academic Innovation Award
    • Biodiversity Working Group
  • Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision
    • Dr. Jason Brown, Faculty of Science 
  • Contract and Limited-term Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching
    • Dr. Heather Cray, Faculty of Science 
  • Early Career Faculty Award of Excellence for Teaching
    • Dr. Angela Crane, Faculty, Science
  • President's Graduate Student Teaching Award
    • Luana Almeida, Faculty, Engineering
    • Reem Karaballi, Faculty of Science
    • Nick Roberts, Faculty of Science
    • Tareq Yousef, Faculty of Medicine
  • Sessional and Part-time Instructor Award for Excellence in Teaching
    • Dr. Rebecca Babcock, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus