Skip to main content

Meet the mentors

Get to know the seven students serving as mentors during the winter 2022 Together@Dal: Grad Edition.

Pictured from left to right: Iqbal Chowdhury, Jessi Bak, Pooyan Moradi, Taha Wasim, Erica Seelemann, Yanlin Wu, Samreen Momin

Jessi Bak (she/her)
Program: PhD, Physiology and Biophysics
Expected graduation year: 2025
Hometown: Vancouver, British Columbia

I grew up on the West Coast and made the move to the East Coast to go to Dalhousie for my undergraduate degree in Biochemistry and Biology. My educational journey continued inland to Edmonton, Alberta where I completed my MSc. in biochemistry. After that, I made my way back to Dalhousie to pursue a PhD in physiology and biophysics. Throughout each of these endeavours I learned that I love research and I hope to pass any insight I can to new graduate students!

Iqbal Chowdhury (he/him)
Program: PhD, Sociology and Social Anthropology
Expected graduation year: 2022
Home country: Bangladesh

I came to Canada in September 2013 to complete a second master's degree in sociology at the University of Manitoba and moved to Nova Scotia in September 2016 to pursue a PhD. Before moving to Canada, I was a faculty member in the department of sociology at Shahjalal University of Science and Technology in Bangladesh, where I completed bachelor's and first master's degrees as well.

I feel at home in Nova Scotia, thanks to a wonderful group of friends who helped me develop a strong sense of inclusion and community belonging. I love getting trained from different universities and places. I also volunteer with various social and educational organizations to support people of all walks of life in the transition in their lives. I love it as I learn a lot from others. Engaging with other is the great way to do that. I love adventure, cooking, gardening and reading books. I also write poems and have had a poetry book published.

Samreen Momin (she/her)
Program: Master of Applied Science in Chemical Engineering
Expected graduation year: 2022
Hometown: Pune, India

I am a current graduate student in Chemical Engineering (Master’s Research Program). I am from Pune, India where I completed my undergraduate education and moved to Canada to further pursue my graduate studies and explore the Western world. Spending three years in Dalhousie has given me a wonderful experience, both personally and professionally. I made wonderful friends and received amazing support from several people on campus. Due to the pandemic, I spent most of my time home; however, members of Dalhousie did not leave a stone unturned to help students engage virtually and make themselves comfortable. I hold the position of VP Communication in the Chemical Engineering Graduate Society (ChEGS), and have been involved in planning events actively. I would be really happy to connect with the new joiners of the Dalhousie community, and it would be a pleasure to make their journey as easy as possible with my awesome experience

Pooyan Moradi (he/him)
Program: PhD, Medical Neuroscience
Expected graduation year: 2023
Home country: Iran

I am third-year PhD student in the Department of Medical Neuroscience. I started my research career understanding the mechanisms of the Epileptic brain and finding noble treatments to revert the epileptic activity. Currently, I am studying the underlying mechanisms of Blood-Brain Barrier (BBB) impairment and its mediating role in different diseases, including Epilepsy, Dementia, and Alzheimer’s disease.

Erica Seelemann (she/her)
Program: Master of Science, Physiology and Biophysics
Expected graduation year: 2022
Hometown: Toronto, Ontario

Hello! My name is Erica and I study cardiovascular physiology. Specifically, I’m investigating sex differences in right heart failure. I’ve been studying at Dalhousie since 2016 and absolutely love Halifax. If I’m not in my lab, then you can find me rowing, hiking, or embroidering nerdy patches for my lab coat.

Taha Wasim (he/him)
Program: Master's in Chemical Engineering (thesis-based)
Expected graduation year: 2022
Hometown: Aligarh, India

I’m Taha, a second year Master’s (Thesis) in Chemical Engineering student. I’m from Aligarh, India where I got my bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering. I always wanted to establish myself in the field of science and research which led me to move to Canada to pursue my dream towards research. Moving far away from my family was a very tough decision however, my colleagues and friends in Dalhousie helped me a lot to make this journey beautiful and lovable. I’m very excited to be a part of something special and will be very keen to share more about my life experiences and connect with upcoming joiners of the Dalhousie student community.

Yanlin Wu (she/her)
Program: Master of Science, Kinesiology
Expected graduation year: 2022
Home country: China

I also completed my bachelor’s degree at Dal, graduating with a Bachelor of Science (Kinesiology) with First Class Honours in 2020. I’m currently supervised by Dr. Derek Kimmerly at the Autonomic Cardiovascular Control and Exercise (ACCE) lab. My master’s thesis focuses on the impact of sedentary behaviours (i.e. sitting, lying) on vascular health. I’m familiar with campus life and available resources. I’ve also tutored and served as a teaching assistant.