Senate

What we do

The Senate is the university's senior academic governing body

It is responsible for:

  • the approval of new programs
  • approving the granting of degrees and diplomas
  • managing the reviews of Faculties, Centres and Institutes

The Senate is also responsible for setting academic regulations (including regulations governing student conduct and discipline), which affect the University as a whole, and it establishes the academic calendar.


Mailing Address:


University Secretariat - Senate 
Suite 210,
Henry Hicks Academic Administration Building
Dalhousie University
6299 South Street
PO Box 15000, Halifax, NS 
Canada  B3H 4R2

E-mail: senate@dal.ca
Tel:  902-494-3715
Fax: 902-494-6668

Map showing University Secretariat location on Studley campus (Building C300).

Officers of Senate:

Chair of Senate Alan Pinder
alan.pinder@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-3822
Senate Vice-Chair (Student Affairs) Katherine Harman
k.harman@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-8820
Senate Vice-Chair (Academic Programs)   Jeff Hoyle
hoylej@dal.ca
Tel. 902-494-2529

Staff:

Secretary of Senate

Susan Broussseau
susan.brousseau@dal.ca
902-494-1598

Associate Secretary of Senate & Manager, Secretariat Operations
Andrea Power
andrea.power@dal.ca

902-494-3715
Manager, Discipline & Appeals Robert (Bob) Mann
bob.mann@dal.ca
902-494-7619

Senate Administrative Coordinator, 
Senate & Senate Committees

Nancy Martin-Dempsey
nancy.martin-dempsey@dal.ca
902-494-6564

Acting Coordinator, Discipline & Appeals

TBA

902-494-8097