Cross‑Appointed Faculty

The ESS curriculum is enriched by the College's interdisciplinary roster of cross-appointed tenure-track faculty drawn from virtually every faculty on campus. These three- to five-year term appointments ensure a continuous flow of new people and ideas into the College and provide a rich collegial setting for student learning.

Cross-appointed faculty contribute to the hands-on delivery of the core SUST classes, either as part of the team teaching the class, or as guest lecturers and panelists. Others collaborate with students in problem-based learning classes and community-based experiential learning opportunities.

Faculty members interested in pursuing a cross-appointment to the College may inquire at sustainability@dal.ca


Michelle Adams
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-4588
Email: adamsm@dal.ca
View Profile


Karen Beazley
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-1383
Email: karen.beazley@dal.ca 
View Profile


John Bingham
Department of History
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-3641
Email: john.bingham@dal.ca
View Profile


David Black
Department of Political Science
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-6638
Email: david.black@dal.ca
View Profile


John Cameron
Department of International Development Studies,
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-7011
Email: john.cameron@dal.ca
View Profile


Elizabeth Fitting
Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-6346
Email: elizabeth.fitting@dal.ca 
View Profile

Graham Gagnon
Department of Civil and Resource Engineering
Faculty of Engineering

Tel: 902-494-3268
Email: Graham.Gagnon@dal.ca
View Profile

 

Andrew Hammermeister
Department of Plant, Food & Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Agriculture

Tel: 902-893-8037
Email: andrew.hammermeister@dal.ca
View Profile


Anders Hayden
Department of Political Science
Faculty of Arts and Social Science

Tel: 902-494-6602
Email: anders.hayden@dal.ca
View Profile


Larry Hughes
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Faculty of Engineering

Tel: 902-494-3950
Email: larry.hughes@dal.ca
View Profile


Jeff Karabanow
School of Social Work
Faculty of Health

Tel: 902-494-1193
Email: jeff.karabanow@dal.ca
View Profile


William Lahey
*On leave, currently serving as President and Vice-Chancellor of University of King's College
Health Law Institute
Schulich School of Law

Tel: 902-494-4500
Email: william.lahey@dal.ca
View Profile

Derek Lynch
Department of Plant, Food and Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Agriculture

Tel: 902-893-7621
Email: derek.lynch@dal.ca
View Profile

Joseli Macedo
School of Planning
Faculty of Architecture and Planning

Tel: 902-494-3260
Email: joseli@dal.ca
View Profile
 


Tara Anne Perrot
Department of Psychology and Neuroscience
Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-6585
Email: tara.perrot@dal.ca
View Profile


Lawrence Plug
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-1200
Email: lplug@dal.ca
View Profile


Daniel Rainham
School of Health and Human Performance
Faculty of Health

Email: daniel.rainham@dal.ca
View Profile


Matthew Schnurr
Department of International Development Studies
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Tel: 902-494-7711
Email: matthew.schnurr@dal.ca
View Profile


Kate Sherren
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-1359
Email: kate.sherren@dal.ca
View Profile

Son Truong
School of Health and Human Performance
Faculty of Health

Tel: 902-494-7061
Email: struong@dal.ca
View Profile


Peter Tyedmers
School for Resource and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Management

Tel: 902-494-6517
Email: peter.tyedmers@dal.ca
View Profile


Hal Whitehead
Department of Biology
Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-3723
Email: hal.whitehead@dal.ca
View Profile

 

Dominika Wranik
Department of Community Health and Epidemiology
School of Public Administration

Tel: 902-494-3764
Email: dwl@dal.ca
View Profile


Tarah Wright
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Science

Tel: 902-494-1831
Email: tarah.wright@dal.ca
View Profile