Ocean Yearbook

Ocean Yearbook

The International Ocean Institute's major publication is the Ocean Yearbook, published by Brill Nijhoff Publishers in cooperation with the Marine & Environmental Law Institute at the Schulich School of Law.

Ocean Yearbook was founded by the late Elisabeth Mann Borgese and is currently edited by Aldo Chircop, Scott Coffen-Smout and Moira L McConnell. The editorial offices of Ocean Yearbook are in the Marine & Environmental Law Institute. Thirty-five volumes have been published, with the University of Chicago Press publishing volumes 1-19. 

The objectives of the Ocean Yearbook include encouraging emerging young scholars and fostering contributions from developing countries.

Current Issue: Ocean Yearbook 35 (2021)

Call for papers

Articles on issues and prospects, ocean governance, living resources of the ocean, non-living ocean resources, transportation and communications, environment and coastal management, maritime security, military activities, regional developments, training and education and ocean polar issues will be considered.

Ocean Yearbook Limited Open Access

We are pleased to announce that the Ocean Yearbook is part of a new Research4Life program launched in March 2018, providing online access to academic legal content in developing economy countries. Researchers, librarians, policy-makers, judges and legal experts from more than 115 low- and middle-income countries will receive free or low-cost online access to law and law-related academic and professional peer-reviewed content through their institutions.  Access is provided by a new program, Global Online Access to Legal Information (GOALI), a multi-stakeholder initiative of the Research4Life partnership.  

Additional details are available online: http://www.research4life.org   
Eligibility access to Research4Life: https://www.research4life.org/access/eligibility/ 
How to Register: https://www.research4life.org/access/how-to-register/

Ocean Yearbook Student Prize

The Ocean Yearbook Student Prize is an annual competition open to students writing research papers on marine affairs subjects at any university or other tertiary education institution.

The winning paper in the 2021 Ocean Yearbook Student Paper Competition is Leah M. Robertson, "Mining the Deep: Can the Law ‘Get it Right’ with Balancing the Environment and Resource Extraction through Environmental Impact Assessments?"

This paper will be published in Volume 36 in 2022..