» Go to news main

Dal Health Achievements ‑ September 2017

Posted by Trudi Smith on September 12, 2017 in Dal Health Achievements

Faculty and Staff Achievements

  • Dr. Lori Weeks, School of Nursing, received a Justice Partnership and Innovation grant in the amount of $159,406 for "Identifying and responding to the needs of diverse older women who experince intimate partner violence."
  • Dr. Marilyn MacDonald, School of Nursing, received a 2016 Sigma Theta Tau International/Canadian Nurses Foundation grant in the amount of $5,000 for "The experiences and perceptions of unpaid caregivers providing care for community-dwelling adults with dementia: A Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) qualitative systematic review."
  • Dr. Erna Snelgrove-Clarke, School of Nursing, and Krista Ritchie (MSVU), received a NSHRF Catalyst Grant in the amount of $5,000 for "Building evidence-based practice capacity in Nova Scotia schools."
  • Dr. Ingrid Waldron, School of Nursing and Dr. Sara Torres, School of Social Work have received an NSHRF Developmental Innovative Grant in the amount of $14,998 for "Examining protective factors for children's welfare: The case of Indigenous, African Nova Scotian, and immigrant refugee children of HRM."
  • Dr. Steven Beyea, School of Health Sciences, chaired the 14th International Conference on MRI Microscopy held in Halifax on August 13 - 17, 2017.  The conference attracted attendees from over 20 countries to discuss the most recent advances in the development and application of magnetic resonance microscopy.
  • Dr. Marsha Campbell-Yeo, School of Nursing, is one of 70 leaders in scholarly, scientific and artistic pursuits named to the Royal Society of Canada for 2017.   
  • Dr. Ellen Hickey, School of Human Communication Disorders, has completed a second edition of "Dementia: Person-Centred Assessment and Intervention" with co-editor Michelle Bourgeois.

Student Achievements

  • Jennifer Searle (MN, Nursing) has received an NSHRF Scotia Scholar award for her research into the role of nurses in LGBTQ+ health. Jennifer is supervised by Dr. Lisa Goldberg, School of Nursing.
  • Timothy Disher (PhD, Nursing) has been awarded the Vanier Scholarship for "Cost-effectiveness of single family room care in a Canadian NICU: A randomized controlled trial." Timothy will receive $50,000 per year for three-years to fund his research.
  • Neda Alizadeh Takhtehchoobi (PhD Health) received the NSHRF 2017 George Turnbull Student Research Award in recognition of her Parkinson's Disease research.  Neda will receive $1,000 to fund her research.