Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Leadership Team

Dean, Faculty of Health (Acting)

Dr. Cheryl Kozey

Cheryl Kozey is Dean of Dalhousie's Faculty of Health (Acting) and professor in the School of Physiotherapy, with cross appointments in Biomedical Engineering and Health and Human Performance.  She has held roles as the Interim Director of the School of Biomedical Engineering, the Director of the BioMedic NSERC CREATE training program.

Dr. Kozey is a co-lead of the Innovation in Musculoskeletal Health and Physical Activity collaborative multidisciplinary team and the Co-Director of the Dynamics of Human Motion Research laboratory.  As a national and international leader in clinical biomechanics and neuromuscular control, her research is focused on keeping people with bone and joint conditions mobile and physically active so they can maintain health throughout their lifespan.   She does this through state of the art body motion tracking, as well as body force and muscle function measures during every day movements, such as walking and comprehensive multivariate statistical analysis techniques.  This work is leading to better measures of disease monitoring and in predicting who is at risk for more rapid disease progression so we can improve therapeutic interventions for better outcomes. 

Her research lies primarily in two clinical areas, knee arthritis and lower back disorders, two of the most prevalent and costly healthcare problems worldwide, but particularly relevant to Nova Scotia given our higher than average prevalence.  While she is interested in improving functional outcomes from all treatments including surgery (such as total knee arthroplasty) her main driving force is to develop early interventions that can thwart the need for surgical interventions, long term medication use and chronic disability. 

Her work is funded from a variety of sources including the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, Natural Sciences Engineering Research Council and the Nova Scotia Health Research Foundation.  She is a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the Canadian Arthritis Society, the CIHR College of Reviewers and the Nova Scotia Health Research Foundation Decade Club.

Cheryl Kozey, PhD
Dean (Acting), Faculty of Health
Professor, School of Physiotherapy

Email: cheryl.kozey@dal.ca
Telephone: (902) 494-2345
Fax: (902) 494-1966

To meet with Dr. Kozey, contact Cheryl Brown: cheryl.brown@dal.ca

Associate Dean Research (Acting)

Dr. Shaun Boe

Telephone: (902) 494-6360
Fax: (902) 494-1966
Email: s.boe@dal.ca

Associate Dean Academic (Acting)

Dr. Erna Snelgrove-Clarke

Erna Snelgrove-Clarke is Associate Dean Academic (Acting) of Dalhousie University’s Faculty of Health and an associate professor in the School of Nursing, with a cross appointment in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. She is also the CIHR Embedded Clinical Researcher and a casual staff nurse in the Women’s and Newborn Health Program at the IWK Health Centre. A registered nurse with 31 years of perinatal experience, Erna has a BN (Memorial University), MN (Dalhousie University) and PhD (McGill University).

Erna brings a broad range of experience to the Associate Dean, Academic role. During her 13-year career with Dalhousie she has strongly advocated for interdisciplinary research and education, been an academic integrity officer and sat on the Senate discipline committee.

Erna’s research explores the transfer of knowledge through mixed methodologies - concentrating on the relationships of consumers, health care professionals, organizations, and decision-makers - with a goal of developing strategies for health care providers based on best evidence to improve maternal/newborn outcomes. Additional areas of interest include practice development and person centred-care.

Erna’s teaching philosophy centers around a collaborative and participative environment of inclusion and activity learning. She recently received the Canadian Nursing Student Association Award for the recognition of Preceptors and Mentors.

Email: erna.snelgrove-clarke@dal.ca
Telephone: (902) 494-2490
Fax: (902) 494-1966

To meet with Dr. Snelgrove-Clarke, contact: health@dal.ca



Assistant Deans

Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Education

Professor Carol Gillis
Director, School of Health Sciences

Email: carol.gillis@dal.ca
Phone: 902-473-8439
Fax: 902-473-5115

Assistant Dean, Professional Graducate Education

Dr. Joy Armson
Director, School of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Email: j.armson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-5154
Fax: 902-494-5151

Assistant Dean, Research

Dr. Gail Tomblin Murphy
Director, School of Nursing

Email: gail.tomblin.murphy@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1143
Fax: 902-494-3487

Assistant Dean, Research (Students)

Dr. Laurene Rehman
Director, School of Health and Human Performance

Email: laurene.rehman@dal.ca
Phone: (902) 494-6389
Fax: (902) 494-5120

Assistant Dean, Citizenship

Dr. Lynn Shaw
Director, School of Occupational Therapy


Email: lynn.shaw@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-4213
Fax: 902-494-1229

Assistant Dean, Community Engagement

Professor Darren Oystreck
Director, Clinical Vision Science Program

Email: Darren.Oystreck@Dal.ca
Phone: (902) 470-8959
Mailing Address:

Assistant Dean, Partnerships

Dr. Tanya Packer
Interim Director, School of Health Administration

Email: tanya.packer@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2615
Fax: 902-494-1229

Assistant Dean - Innovation

Dr. Anne Fenety
Director, School of Physiotherapy

Office: Room 418, Forrest Building
Tel: (902) 494-2616
Email: anne.fenety@dal.ca

Assistant Dean, Development

Professor Susan Mansour
Director, College of Pharmacy

Email: susan.mansour@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3504

Assistant Dean, Equity and Inclusion

Dr. Brenda Richard (Acting)

Director, School of Social Work
Email: brenda.richard@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1356
Fax: 902-494-6709