Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Faculty and Staff

Co-ordinator

Dr. Margaret Denike, Political Science
Henry Hicks Rm. 301
m.denike@dal.ca 902-494-6298


Cross-appointed faculty by department

Black Canadian Studies

Afua Cooper
Email: afua.cooper@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3012

Social justice and inequality, African diaspora, body and embodiment, critical race theory, decolonizing studies and methodologies, gender, slavery, abolition and freedom, Africa, Black Canada

 

Contemporary Studies - University of King's College

Elizabeth Edwards
Email: elizabeth.edwards@ukings.ca
Phone: 902-422-1271 ext. 205

Middle English Literature, Literary and Critical Theory, Psychoanalysis, Derrida

Dorota Glowacka
Email: dorota.glowacka@ukings.ca
Phone: 902-422-1271 ext. 206

Continental philosophy, politics of memory, Holocaust and genocide literature and art, critical race theory, philosophy "after Auschwitz," Polish-Jewish relations

Laura Penny
Email: laura.penny@ukings.ca
Phone: 902-422-1271 ext. 182

Early Modern Studies – University of King's College

Kathryn Morris
Email: kathryn.morris@ukings.ca
Phone: 902-422-1271, ext. 207

English

Christina Luckyj
Email: christina.luckyj@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6912

Early Modern literature, gender studies, Elizabethan and Jocobean drama, 17th century women's writing

Marjorie Stone
Email: marjorie.stone@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3876

Victorian literature, gender studies, 19th century British culture, health and literature

History

Mona Holmlund
Email:  mona.holmlund@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3578

Visual culture, representation and art history, 19th century British visual cultural history, Saskatchewan visual culture, archives and public policy

Krista Kesselring
Email: krista.kesselring@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3623

Early modern British history, law and crime, gender & women's history

Shirley Tillotson
Email: shirley.tillotson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3365

Modern Canadian history, socio-political history, taxation history, gender and women's history, Canadian history

Impact Ethics

Alana Cattapan
Email: alana.cattapan@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2936

Public policy and women’s health, citizenship, social policy, bioethics, and gender

International Development Studies

Theresa Ulicki
Email: ulickit@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1377

Gender and development, gender equity and organizations, gender-based violence, labour migration

Law

Diana Ginn
Email: d.ginn@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2798

Alternative dispute resolution, religion and the law, property law, administrative law, women and the law

Music

Steven Baur
Email: steven.baur@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6502

Musicology, 19th century music, American music, music and culture, popular music, Russian music

Jacqueline Warwick
Email: jwarwick@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1926

Musicology, music and culture, popular music, American music, performance studies, celebrity studies, child prodigies

Nursing

Ingrid Waldron
Email: iwaldron@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2467

Health and mental health of Black and Indigenous women and other women of colour, health inequalities, racism in psychiatry, social determinants of health, environmental racism, Black feminisms, anti-colonialism, anti-racism, indigenous knowledge

Philosophy


Kirsten Borgerson
Email: kirstin.borgerson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3338

Philosophy of medicine, bioethics, feminist philosophy, epistemology

Letitia Meynell
Email: letitia.meynell@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3536

Philosophy of science, feminist philosophy, epistemology, aesthetics

 

Political Science

Louise Carbert
Email: louise.carbert@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6628

Canadian parliamentary governance, electoral systems, elections, federalism and intergovernmental relations, political behaviour

Margaret Denike
Email:    m.denike@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6298

Biopolitics and genealogical inquiry, feminist and queer philosophies, human rights (theory, institutions, politics), political activism of sexual and racial minorities, politics of terror, state-sanctioned discrimination

School of Health and Human Performance

Jacqueline Gahagan
Email:  jacqueline.gahagan@dal.ca
Phone:  902-494-5120

Harm-reduction policies and programs, gender-based analyses of health policies, research ethics, program monitoring and evaluation, social and behavioural aspects of sexual health, STI/HIV/Hep C prevention, care, treatment and support

Lois Jackson
Email: lois.jackson@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1341

Health promotion, marginalized populations, sex industry, rural women, harm reduction

Matthew Numer
Email: matthew.numer@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1153

HIV prevention, gay men's sexual health, health promotion, policy development, gender and health

School of Social Work

 

Catrina Brown
Email:  catrina.brown@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-7150

Childhood trauma, women's health, eating disorders and body image, depression, addictions, sexual abuse, violence against women and children, health and mental health policy, cross-cultural diversity research, feminist research

Marion Brown
Email: marion.brown@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1192

Critical girlhood studies, critical social work pedagogy, professional identity development, interprofessional education and practice

 

Brenda Richard
Email:  brenda.richard@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1356

Gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered health, anti-oppressive practice, HIV-AIDS

Sociology and Social Anthropology

Elizabeth Fitting
Email:  elizabeth.fitting@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6346

Economy, work and development, food and food movements, gender, Indigenous peoples, migration-immigration, transnationalism, development, Latin America

KarenFoster_profileimg

Karen Foster
Email: karen.foster@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6751

Economy, work and development, Knowledge, science and expertise, Political economy, Research methods, Rural studies, Social policy, Social statistics, Atlantic Canada

Liesl Gambold
Email:  liesl.gambold@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-3689

Economy, work and development, aging and retirement, gender, migration-immigration, political economy, post-socialism, Europe, North America

Pauline Gardiner Barber
Email: pgbarber@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-2069

Economy, work and development, citizenship, class, gender, migration-immigration, political economy, transnationalism, Southeast Asia

Fiona Martin
Email:  f.martin@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6750

Critical health studies, body and embodiment, drug use, gender, knowledge, science and expertise, personhood, poverty andn social marginalization, reproduction and mothering

Emma Whelan
Email:  emma.whelan@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-6752

Critical health studies, classification and standards, drug use, gender, knowledge, science and expertise, medical sociology, pain and chronic illness, social theory

Theatre

Roberta Barker

Roberta Barker
Email: barkerr@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1495

Theatre History, Performance Studies, Early Modern and Modern Drama, Opera in Performance, Canadian Theatre and Performance, Realism, Medical Humanities, Gender in Performance

Shannon Brownlee
Email: shannon.brownlee@dal.ca
Phone: 902-494-1490

Film theory, experimental film, queer and feminist cinemas and theories, psychoanalytic theory