Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Our Season

We are in the process of posting our 2017-18 season events. Thanks for your patience. Many events are free and ticketed events are on sale at the Dal Arts Centre Box Office.

See our 2017-18 Season Brochure online.

  • All Ensembles are open to students and community members by audition. Auditions normally happen in September during the first week of classes. Check the link for more info or contact us at the FSPA office.
  • If you would like to become a Patron of the Fountain School, please see the link or contact us via email or by phone at 902.494.3772.
If you are not finding the event you are looking for, try one of the other units in the Dalhousie Arts Centre or the Dal Events calendar at the links on bottom right.
Date Time Event Venue
SEPTEMBER      
Friday, September 15 2:30-4:30 pm Malcolm Balk, Introduction to  Alexander Technique - FREE
Arts Centre 121
Friday, September 15
4:30-6:30 pm Stéphane Tétreault, Cello Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Saturday, September 16 9:00 am - 1:00 pm Shahin Sayadi, New Technologies & Multimedia in Today's Stage Design - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Thursday, September 21 11:30 am - 1:30 pm New Voices, Masterclass for Singers - FREE Arts Centre 121
Thursday, September 21 12:00-1:00 pm David Schreoder Music & Culture Series: Deborah McGrady, Silencing the Sirens: Guillaume de Machaut's Anxious Dealings with Song - FREE Arts Centre 406
Friday, September 22 9:30 am Dinuk Wijeratne, Composition and Improvisation Involving Non-Western Influences - FREE Arts Centre 409
Friday, September 22 1:00-2:00 pm Beverley Cooper, The Transition from Actor to Writer - FREE
Arts Centre Studio Two
Friday, September 22 5:00-6:30 pm Hendrik Vanden Abeele, Performance Practice Workshop: Mystery of Neumes - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Saturday, September 23 8:00 pm Salzinnes Saints concert
St. Mary's Basilica
Tuesday, September 26 11:30 am - 1:00 pm Hannah Moscovitch, Playwriting Masterclass - FREE McCain Bldg 1102
Friday, September 29 1:00-2:30 pm Eric Peterson and Alex Ivanovici, Documentary Theatre in Canada - FREE Arts Centre Studio Two
OCTOBER      
October 10-14
7:30 pm and Sat 2:00 matinee Orlando (Theatre) Arts Centre David Mack. Murray Studio
Friday, October 13
4:30-6:30 pm
Giora Schmidt, Violin Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Saturday, October 14 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Oboe Day at Dalhousie - FREE
Arts Centre
Tuesday, October 17 11:30 am - 1:00 pm Catherine Banks, Playwriting Masterclass - FREE
McCain Bldg 1102
Tuesday, October 17 7:00 pm The Sarajevo Haggadah: Music of the Book (Gilsig Series) - FREE
Sir James Dunn Theatre
Wednesday, October 18 2:00-4:30 pm Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser & Symphony NS, Student Composition Reading Sessions - FREE
Arts Centre 121
Wednesday, October 18 7:00 pm Titans of the 19th Century, Faculty Chamber Series
The Music Room
October 25-28 TBA Shawn Mativetsky, Indian Music Workshops - FREE TBA
Friday, October 27 4:30-6:30 pm Denise Djokic, Cello Masterclass - FREE Arts Centre 406
Saturday, October 28 7:30 pm Samsara, Dalhousie Wind Ensemble
St. Andrew's United Church
NOVEMBER      
Friday, November 3
1:00-2:30 pm Michael Kennard, Clown Masterclass - FREE Arts Centre Studio Two
Tuesday, November 14 11:30 am - 1:00 pm Mary Vingoe, Playwriting Masterclass - FREE McCain Bldg 1102
Wednesday, November 15 7:00 pm Peter & Patty in Concert: Faculty Chamber Series The Music Room
Thursday, November 16 7:30 pm Espacées, Dalhousie Wind Ensemble
Waegwoltic Club
Sunday, November 19 3:00 pm Grand Welcome, Chamber Music at First Baptist
First Baptist United Church
Monday, November 20 6:30 pm Draw the Line: Navigating Cultural Appropriation in Music, Dalhousie Chorus - FREE
Arts Centre Sculpture Court
Tuesday, November 21 7:00 pm Evenings @ Government House, Dalhousie Symphony Orchestra - FREE
Paul O'Regal Hall, Halifax Central Library
Wednesday, November 22 5:00-7:00 pm Alain Trudel, Trombone Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Thursday, November 23
11:30 am - 1:30 pm Wayne Weng, Piano Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Sunday, November 26 7:00 pm Michael McMahon, Masterclass on German Lieder - FREE Arts Centre 406
Tuesday, November 28
7:30 pm Dalhousie Collegium Cantorum St. Andrew's United Church
November 28 - December 2
7:30 pm and Sat 2:00 matinee The Man of Mode (Theatre) Sir James Dunn Theatre
Thursday, November 30 7:30 pm Partners in Swing, Dal Jazz Ensemble and All City Senior Jazz Ensemble
St. Andrew's United Church
Sunday, December 3 2:00 pm
Commemoration & Celebration, Dalhousie Symphony Orchestra
Kenneth C Rowe Hall, Pier 21
JANUARY      
Thursday, January 25 12:00-1:00 pm David Schroeder Music & Culture Series
Martha Radice, Crafting Carnival, Crafting Community: The New Mardi Gras in New Orleans - FREE
Arts Centre 406
FEBRUARY      
February 6-10
7:30 pm and Sat 2:00 matinee The Piper (Theatre) David Mack. Murray Studio
MARCH      
Thursday, March 1 12:00-1:00 pm David Schroeder Music & Culture Series
Kyra Gaunt, Booty Hopscotch (Keep That A$$ Jumpin'): Exploiting Tween Girls Twerking in YouTube's Corporate-Controlled Spaces
- FREE
 
Arts Centre 406
Wednesday, March 21 7:00 pm Beethoven's Three Worlds
Faculty Chamber Series
The Music Room
March 27-31
7:30 pm and Sat 2:00 matinee Drums and Organs, or, The Modern Frankenstein (Theatre)
Sir James Dunn Theatre
APRIL      
Thursday, April 5 12:00-1:00 pm David Schroeder Music & Culture Series
Gearóid Ó Hallmhuráin, Global Currents, Local Tides: Re-Imagining Irish Traditional Music in the 21st Century - FREE
 
April 7-8
Sat at 7:30 pm; Sun at 2:30 pm
S
Perhaps ...? A black box pastiche in opera and song (Opera) David Mack. Murray Studio