Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Our Season

Our 2017-18 Season is in full swing! Many events are free and ticketed events are on sale at the Dal Arts Centre Box Office.

See our 2017-18 Season Brochure online.

  • All Ensembles are open to students and community members by audition. Auditions normally happen in September during the first week of classes. Check the link for more info or contact us at the FSPA office.
  • If you would like to become a Patron of the Fountain School, please see the link or contact us via email or by phone at 902.494.3772.
If you are not finding the event you are looking for, try one of the other units in the Dalhousie Arts Centre or the Dal Events calendar at the links on bottom right.
Date/Time Event Venue
NOVEMBER    
Wed, Nov 22
5:00-7:00 pm
Alain Trudel, Trombone Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Thu, Nov 23
11:30 am - 1:30 pm
Wayne Weng, Piano Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Sat, Nov 25
2:15-3:30 pm
Christina Mahler and John Abberger
Cello and Oboe Masterclasses
with Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra Members
Arts Centre 409 and 406
Sun, Nov 26
7:00 pm
Michael McMahon, Masterclass on German Lieder - FREE Arts Centre 406
Tue, Nov 28
7:30 pm
Dalhousie Collegium Cantorum St. Andrew's United Church
Nov 28 - Dec 2
7:30 pm and Sat 2:00 matinee
The Man of Mode (Theatre) Sir James Dunn Theatre
Thu, Nov 30
7:30 pm
Partners in Swing, Dal Jazz Ensemble and All City Senior Jazz Ensemble
St. Andrew's United Church
DECEMBER
   
Sun, Dec 3
2:00 pm
Commemoration & Celebration, Dalhousie Symphony Orchestra
Kenneth C Rowe Hall, Pier 21
JANUARY    
Jan 5-8 Open Waters Festival of new and improvised music
Various
Fri, Jan 12
2:30-4:30 pm
Malcolm Balk, Alexander Technique - FREE Arts Centre 121
Sun, Jan 14
3:00 pm
Student Musicale, presented by Women's Division of Dal Alumni Association Arts Centre 406
Thu, Jan 18
7:00-9:30 pm
Jeri Brown, Oral Traditions of Cuba - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Thu, Jan 25
12:00-1:00 pm
David Schroeder Music & Culture Series
Martha Radice, Crafting Carnival, Crafting Community: The New Mardi Gras in New Orleans - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Fri, Jan 26
1:00-2:30 pm
Norm Foster, Being a Theatre Artist and Playwright in Canada - FREE
Sir James Dunn Theatre
Sun, Jan 28
7:00 pm
Schubert and Friends, Chamber Music at First Baptist
First Baptist Church, 1300 Oxford Street
FEBRUARY    
Feb 6-10
7:30 pm and Sat 2:00 matinee
The Piper (Theatre) David Mack. Murray Studio
Fri, Feb 9
4:30-6:30 pm
Rachel Barton Pine, Violin Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Thu, Feb 15
7:30 pm
Concerto Night Sir James Dunn Theatre
Wed, Feb 28
7:00 pm
Paysages, Faculty Chamber Series The Music Room
MARCH    
Thu, Mar 1
11:30 am
Julien LeBlanc, French Mélodie Masterclass - FREE
Arts Centre 121
Thu, Mar 1
12:00-1:00 pm
David Schroeder Music & Culture Series
Kyra Gaunt, Booty Hopscotch (Keep That A$$ Jumpin'): Exploiting Tween Girls Twerking in YouTube's Corporate-Controlled Spaces
- FREE
 
Arts Centre 406
Sun, Mar 4
7:00 pm
French Mélodie concert Arts Centre 406
Wed, Mar 7
7:00-9:00 pm
Michael Schade, Voice Masterclass - FREE Arts Centre 406
Mar 5-9 Shawn Mativetsky, Workshops on the Tabla and Indian Music - FREE TBA
Fri, Mar 9
7:30 pm
Guitorchestration, Guitar faculty and students The Music Room
Wed, Mar 14
4:00-6:30 pm
Daniel Bartholomew-Poyser and Symphony Nova Scotia, Student Composition Reading Session - FREE
Rebecca Cohn Auditorium
Thu, Mar 15
2:30-4:30 pm
Quasar Saxophone Quartet, Contemporary Music Workshop - FREE
Arts Centre 409
Sat, Mar 17
7:30 pm
Spring Fair, Dalhousie Wind Ensemble
Via Rail Station, 1161 Hollis St
Mon, Mar 19
1:45-3:15 pm
Ladom Ensemble, World Fusion Workshop - FREE Arts Centre 121
Wed, Mar 21
7:00 pm
Beethoven's Three Worlds
Faculty Chamber Series
The Music Room
Sat, Mar 24
7:30 pm
Called to Action: Living Reconciliation Through Song, Dalhousie Chorus St. Matthew's United Church
Mon, Mar 26
7:30 pm
Verdi's Requiem, Dalhousie Collegium Cantorum Faith Tabernacle, 6225 Summit St
Mar 27-31
7:30 pm and Sat 2:00 matinee
Drums and Organs, or, The Modern Frankenstein (Theatre)
Sir James Dunn Theatre
APRIL    
Wed, Apr 4
3:00 pm
Shakespeare in Performance - FREE Arts Centre Stdio Two
Wed, Apr 4
4:00-6:00 pm
Regina Carter, Strings and Improvisation Masterclass - FREE
Sir James Dunn Theatre
Thu, Apr 5
12:00-1:00 pm
David Schroeder Music & Culture Series
Gearóid Ó Hallmhuráin, Global Currents, Local Tides: Re-Imagining Irish Traditional Music in the 21st Century - FREE
Arts Centre 406
Thu, Apr 5
7:30 pm
Spring Swings with Strings, Dalhousie Fountain of Youth Jazz Orchestra
Sir James Dunn Theatre
Apr 7-8
Sat at 7:30 pm; Sun at 2:30 pm
Perhaps ...? A black box pastiche in opera and song (Opera) David Mack. Murray Studio