Our Team

Kenneth Rockwood, MD, FRCPC, FRCP
Professor
Divisions of Geriatric Medicine and Neurology
Department of Medicine


Phone: 902-473-8687
Email: kenneth.rockwood@dal.ca

Google Scholar
Twitter @krockdoc

Melissa Andrew, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Associate Professor
Division of Geriatric Medicine
Department of Medicine

Phone: 902-473-4995
Email: melissa.andrew@nshealth.ca

ResearchGate

 

Olga Theou, PhD
Assistant Professor
School of Physiotherapy

Phone: 902-494-4248
Email: olga.theou@dal.ca

Pubmed
Google Scholar
Arnold Mitnitski, PhD
Research Professor
Department of Medicine

Phone: 902-473-2878
Email: arnold.mitnitski@dal.ca

Google Scholar

Research Staff

Sherri Fay, MA
Research Manager

Phone: 902-473-4575
Email: sherri.fay@nshealth.ca

PubMed

Judith Godin, PhD
Research Associate / Data Analyst

Phone: 902-473-3849
Email: judith.godin@dal.ca

ResearchGate
Twitter @1DrJG
Linkedin

Jodie Penwarden, MFSGN
Research Administrative Coordinator

Phone: 902-473-3363

Email: Jodie.Penwarden@nshealth.ca

Linkedin
Twitter: @JodiePenwarden

Alex van der Valk, BSc
Research Assistant

Email: alexandra.vandervalk@nshealth.ca

Twitter @vanderValkAlex
Linkedin
ResearchGate

Jeremy Smith, BA
Research Assistant

Email: jeremy.smith@nshealth.ca

Jack Quach
Research Assistant

Email: jack.quach@nshealth.ca

 

Research Fellows/Scholars

 

Marci Dearing, BSc (Pharm), ACPR, PharmD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Supervisor(s): Dr. Susan Bowles, Dr. Emily Reeves

Email: marci.dearing@nshealth.ca

Ulises Perez-Zepeda, MD, PhD
Research Fellow
Supervisor(s): Dr. Olga Theou, Dr. Kenneth Rockwood

Email: ulises.perezzepeda@nshealth.ca

Personal Web page
Twitter @chilangopaisa
Google Scholar

Mohammad Pulok, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Supervisor(s): Dr. Kenneth Rockwood, Dr. Olga Theou, Dr. Mohammed Hajizadeh

Email: mohammad.pulok@nshealth.ca

http://mohammadpulok.com/
Google Scholar
ResearchGate

David Ward, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Supervisor(s): Dr. Kenneth Rockwood

Email: d.ward@dal.ca

ResearchGate
Google Scholar
Twitter @David_D_Ward

Shanna Trenaman, BScH, BScPharm, MAHSR, ACPR, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Supervisor(s): Dr. Melissa Andrew

Email: shanna.trenaman@dal.ca

Twitter: @ShannaTrenaman
LinkedIn

Graduate Students

Lindsay Wallace, MSc
PhD Student, Interdisciplinary PhD Program
Supervisor(s): Dr. Melissa Andrew, Dr. Kenneth Rockwood

Email: Lindsay.Wallace@dal.ca

ResearchGate
Twitter @WallaceLindsay
Google Scholar

Andrea Mayo, MESSc
PhD Student, Faculty of Health
Supervisor(s): Dr. Olga Theou

Email: an768692@dal.ca

 

Twitter @A_lorenamayo

 

Research in Medicine Students

Saif Syed (2016 – present)
Topic:  Redesigning Patient Hospital Gowns
Supervisor(s): Dr. Kenneth Rockwood, Dr. Gary Markle

Alyson Colborne (2017- present)
Topic: Medical students’ perceptions of physical activity education at Dalhousie University.
Supervisor(s): Dr. Olga Theou, Dr. Leah Cahill

Peri Fenwick (2017-present)
Topic: Medical students’ perceptions of nutrition education at Dalhousie University.
Supervisor(s): Dr Olga Theou, Dr. Leah Cahill

Kayla Mallery (2017-present)
Topic: Functional decline during hospitalization
Supervisor(s): Dr. Olga Theou

Sophie Church (2017-present)
Topic: Scoping review on the Clinical Frailty Scale
Supervisor(s): Dr. Olga Theou