Hard work, big results: Legacy Awards shine light on individual and collective achievements at Dalhousie

- November 10, 2023

Dal President Kim Brooks addresses attendees at the Legacy Awards Tuesday. (Nick Pearce photos)
Dal President Kim Brooks addresses attendees at the Legacy Awards Tuesday. (Nick Pearce photos)

For a pep talk, it started out on a surprisingly sleepy note.

"I thought I'd start just by seeing who has worked hard and feels a little tired,” said Dal President Kim Brooks during her opening remarks at the sixth-annual Legacy Awards earlier this week.

"When I feel like that, I remind myself that the things that make me tired in an hourly way, in a daily way, in a weekly way, monthly and then annually, are the kinds of things we are going to be celebrating today.”

The Legacy Awards event, first launched in 2018 during Dal’s bicentennial year, provides a chance for members of the Dal community to come together to celebrate the dozens of individuals and groups who’ve won university-based awards for their achievements over the past year.

Dalhousie Legacy Awards are hand-crafted with wood and glass work.

Some of these awards have been previously recognized at small ceremonies and events throughout the year, others via announcements and communications.

But what’s special about the Legacy Awards, said President Brooks, is the way in which it celebrates everyone collectively.

“Think of this as a moment that's celebrating everybody in the room and getting a chance to spend a little bit of time together, forgetting maybe about how tired we are. And thinking of how many cool things we've made possible."

Related reading: Always evolving — This year’s winner of Dal’s top teaching award puts students first

Chris Hattie, acting co-AVP of Human Resources, served as announcer and emcee for this year’s celebration, offering a short description of each award winner’s achievements as they crossed the stage in the Rebecca Cohn Auditorium for a photo in the spotlight with President Brooks.

Attendees at this year’s ceremony were treated to a performance from Aquakulture, the Halifax-based soul and R&B act led by Lance Sampson. Sampson performed one tune mid-way through the ceremony and offered another to conclude the awards portion of the day’s festivities as the Dal Tiger got its groove on from the sidelines of the Cohn.

Aquakulture brought soulful vibes to this year's gathering.

As usual, each recipient took home a N.S. hand-crafted glass and wood award. A reception in the sculpture court of the Dal Arts Center followed the awards ceremony.

See the full list of this year's winners below, followed by more photos from the event.

Anne Marie Ryan Community Growth Award (NEW)

Dr. Megan Bailey, Faculty, Science 

Dr. Tom Ue - Faculty, Arts & Social Sciences

President's Research Excellence Awards

Emerging Investigator

Dr. Michael Halpin, Faculty, Arts & Social Sciences

Dr. Brandon Heung, Faculty, Agriculture

Dr. Finlay Maguire, Faculty, Computer Science

Dr. Caitlin McArthur, Faculty, Health

Dr. Amina Stoddart, Faculty, Engineering

Dr. Alana Westwood, Faculty, Science

Research Impact

Dr. Raluca Bejan, Faculty, Health

Dr. Tony Walker, Faculty, Science

Distinguished Research Professors (formerly University Research Professors)

Dr. Marsha Campbell-Yeo, Faculty, Health

Dr. Graham Dellaire, Faculty, Medicine

Arthur B. McDonald Chair in Research Excellence

Dr. Vasantha Rupasinghe, Faculty, Agriculture

DPMG Awards

Early Career Award 

Nicole Fraser, Faculty, Graduate Studies

Mabel Ho, Faculty, Graduate Studies

Cody Turner, Communications, Marketing and Creative Services

Career Award 

Tereigh Ewert, Centre for Learning and Teaching 

Stephanie MacKenzie, Facilities Management

Career Award (10+ Years)

Maureen Keough, Research Services

Stuart McCormack, Facilities Management

Kimberly McDonald Winsor, Advancement

IDDEA Award (Inclusion, Diversity, Decolonization, Equity, Accessibility) 

Órla McDevitt, Human Resources

Dr. Allan Cohen Memorial Award for Community Service, Faculty, Medicine

Dr. Nicholas Giacomantonio, Faculty, Medicine (Cardiology)

Environmental Health and Safety Award

Suzie Officer, Faculty, Health

Gladys Littler Award, Faculty, Dentistry

Jesslyn Kinney 

Healthy Workplace Award

Office of Advancement

President's Awards for the Advancement of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Accessiblity (EDIA)

Michelle Williams, Faculty, Law [Individual category]

Promoting Leadership in Health for African Nova Scotians (PLANS) [Group category]

Rosemary Gill Award

Michelle Patrick, Faculty, Medicine

Carolyn Bartlett, Health Services, Truro

Lori Gagnon, Mark A. Hill Centre for Accessibility

Staff Award for Excellence in Service, Faculty, Agriculture 

Gillian Hatch, Student Success Centre (Truro)

University-Wide Teaching Awards 

Award for Excellence in Online/Blended Course Development, Design, and Delivery (NEW)

Dr. Lisa Berglund, Faculty of Architecture and Planning

Dalhousie Alumni Association Faculty Award of Excellence for Teaching

Dr. Sachin Seth, Faculty, Dentistry

Contract and Limited-term Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Tom Ue, Faculty, Arts & Social Sciences

Early Career Faculty Award of Excellence for Teaching

Dr. Amy Mui, Faculty, Science

President's Graduate Student Teaching Award

Dr. Adrienne Allison, Faculty, Science

Wayne Paquet Award for Indispensable Service, Registrar's Office (NEW)

Brittany Sutherland, Student Information and Operations, Registrar’s Office


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus