Dalhousie Conference on University Teaching and Learning

 

EDUCATING THE WHOLE STUDENT

April 27, 28 & 29, 2021 | Free Virtual Event

The 2021 Dalhousie Conference on University Teaching and Learning is being supported by Centre for Learning and Teaching to enable free attendance for presenters and participants.

April 27
Pre-conference

April 28

April 29

DCUTL Home

Registration

Contacts

Download the program at a glance

 

Students enter and leave their post-secondary education with a multiplicity of commitments and identities that inform their experiences as learners. The majority of 21st-century students juggle jobs, family, health, and finances, in addition to coursework and planning for the future. Teaching the whole person – encompassing mind, body, heart, and spirit – addresses these competing pressures by affirming students’ and instructors’ humanity. According to Schoem, Modey and St. John (2017), supporting the whole student through teaching and learning provides a number of benefits by increasing “student commitment to learning because students see themselves as part of an engaged, supportive and caring scholarly community” (p. xii). How do we consider these factors as we educate the whole student at our institutions?

The DCUTL is a great experience for higher education enthusiasts to come together and explore new ideas and ways to educate students!

Keynote Speaker

April 28

7:30 AM Pacific | 8:30 AM Mountain | 9:30 AM Central | 10:30 AM Eastern | 11:30 AM Atlantic | 12:00 PM NL

 

The Revolution Will Be Backward Designed - Inclusive Practices in the College Classroom

Dr. Bryan Dewsbury
Assistant Professor of Biology
University of Rhode Island

 

Abstract

Meaningful enactment of inclusive practices needs a clarity of vision of the inclusive futures we hope for students and ourselves. Pure application of best practices is inauthentic if the practitioner does not fully understand the social context of the teaching and learning process. In this talk, I discuss inclusive practices in the context of their meaning and purpose. I will also provide specific examples from my classrooms on the practice and impacts of inclusive approaches.

 

Closing Panel

April 29

12:00 PM Pacific | 1 PM Mountain | 2 PM Central | 3 PM Eastern | 4 PM Atlantic | 4:30 PM NL

 

Trauma-Informed Teaching: Exploring Holistic Practices for Indigenous and African Nova Scotian Student Success

Barb Hamilton-Hinch Dr. Barb Hamilton-Hinch
Assistant Vice-Provost Equity and Inclusion
Dalhousie University
Dr. Margaret Robinson
Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Reconciliation, Gender, & Identity
Coordinator, Indigenous Studies 
Assistant Professor, Departments of English, Sociology & Social Anthropology
Dalhousie University

Abstract

Emerging research has highlighted the prevalence of traumatic experiences among postsecondary students and the impact of such trauma on factors crucial to academic success, such as concentration, memory, organization, and literacy. Although trauma impacts the learning process few teachers are equipped to engage in trauma-informed teaching. This panel will explore ways to support academic success for Indigenous and for African Nova Scotian students