Ferrier named AUS Rookie of the Year

- February 22, 2024

Women's basketball player Kaitlyn Ferrier has been named the AUS Rookie of the Year. Simona Matic has also been named to the all-rookie team.
Women's basketball player Kaitlyn Ferrier has been named the AUS Rookie of the Year. Simona Matic has also been named to the all-rookie team.

(HALIFAX, N.S.) - Atlantic University Sport is pleased to announce the 2023-24 AUS women's basketball all-stars and major award winners as selected by the conference's eight head coaches following regular season play. 

Jayda Veinot, a fifth-year wing for the UNB Reds has been chosen as the 2023-24 AUS Women’s Basketball Most Valuable Player.

Other major award winners include Dalhousie’s Kaitlyn Ferrier as the Rookie of the Year; Saint Mary’s Clara Gascoigne as Defensive Player of the Year; UNB’s Katie Butts as the Student-Athlete Community Service Award recipient; Avery Walker of STFX as the AUS nominee for the U SPORTS Tracy McLeod Award; and Saint Mary’s head coach Scott Munro as AUS Coach of the Year.

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Kaitlyn Ferrier, Dalhousie Tigers  

Kaitlyn Ferrier of the Dalhousie Tigers has been named the 2023-24 AUS Women’s Basketball Rookie of the Year.

In just her first AUS season, the Arts student from Calgary, Alta., started all 20 regular season games and averaged 18.7 points and 5.4 rebounds per contest. Her 34.8 minutes played per game ranked fourth amongst all AUS players.

Ferrier becomes the first Tiger to win the Rookie of the Year award since Alex Legge did so back in the 2006-07 season.

She will now represent the conference as the AUS nominee for the Kathy Shields Award for U SPORTS Rookie of the Year. Cape Breton University’s Kiyara Letlow took home the national honour in the 2021-22 season. 



First Team All Stars
Jayda Veinot, UNB, (5th year – Port Williams, N.S.)
Elizabeth Iseyemi, Acadia, (4th year – Dartmouth, N.S.)
Alaina McMillan, Saint Mary’s, (5th year – Brantford, Ont.)
Kiyara Letlow, Cape Breton, (3rd year – Toronto, Ont.)
Alana Short, Memorial, (5th year – Barrie, Ont.)

Second Team All Stars
Courtney Donaldson, Saint Mary’s, (5th year – Kelowna, B.C.)
Lauren Rainford, UPEI, (4th year – Toronto, Ont.)
Samantha Russell, Acadia, (3rd year – Dartmouth, N.S.)
Ekaterina Karchevskaya, STFX, (4th year – Mogilev, BY)
Lucina Beaumont, Saint Mary’s, (4th year – Fredericton, N.B.)

All Rookie Team
Kaitlyn Ferrier, Dalhousie, (Calgary, Alta.)
Shannon Neita, STFX, (Toronto, Ont.)
Simona Matic, Dalhousie (Belgrade, Serbia)
Lily Vrugteman, UPEI, (Cambridge, Ont.)
Maheva Ngassam, UNB, (Saint Hubert, Que.)


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus