Christie named AUS MVP

- February 22, 2024

Men's basketball player Malcolm Christie has been named the AUS Most Valuable Player and Spencer Riar has been named to the all-rookie team.
Men's basketball player Malcolm Christie has been named the AUS Most Valuable Player and Spencer Riar has been named to the all-rookie team.

(HALIFAX, N.S.) - Atlantic University Sport is pleased to announce the 2023-24 AUS men's basketball all-stars and major award winners as selected by the conference's eight head coaches following regular season play.

Malcolm Christie, a third-year guard with the Dalhousie University Tigers has been chosen as this year’s AUS Men’s Basketball Most Valuable Player.

Other major award winners include STFX’s Koat Thomas, named AUS Rookie of the Year; UNB’s Javordo Mitchell, named AUS Defensive Player of the Year, CBU’s Mitchell Mersereau the AUS Student-Athlete Community Service Award winner; and Saint Mary’s head coach Jonah Taussig as AUS Coach of the Year.
MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Malcolm Christie, Dalhousie Tigers 
Malcom Christie, a third-year guard from Fredericton, N.B., has been named the 2023-24 AUS Men’s Basketball Most Valuable Player.

The Bachelor of Management student finished second in the AUS in scoring this season, averaging just over 22 points per contest (22.1) as he led his Tigers to a 11-9 record – good enough for second place in the conference and a first-round bye through to the semifinals of the AUS playoffs.

Christie set a new AUS record with 79 three-point shots made this season, breaking the old record of 71 set by Memorial University’s Jeff Saxby back in the 2001-02 campaign.

During the season, Christie scored 30 or more points in six games – his best coming on Nov. 25 when he poured in 51 against the UNB Reds.

In addition to being named MVP, Christie was also selected as a First Team All-Star.

This season marks the first time a Dalhousie player has earned conference MVP honours since Keevan Veinot did so back in the 2019-20 season.

Christie now becomes the AUS representative for the Mike Moser Memorial Trophy as the Most Outstanding Player in U SPORTS basketball. The last Atlantic conference player to win the national award was William Njoku of the Saint Mary's Huskies in 1992-93. 


First Team All-Stars
Malcolm Christie, Dalhousie, (3rd year – Fredericton, N.B.)
Dondre Reddick, STFX, (4th year – Antigonish, N.S.)
Glen Cox, Acadia, (3rd year – Scotsburn, N.S.)
Jayrell Diggs, Saint Mary’s, (3rd year – East Preston, N.S.)
Flynn Boardman-Raffet, Memorial, (3rd year – London, UK)

Second Team All-Stars
Kamari Scott, UPEI, (4th year – Malton, Ont.)
Shak Pryce, Cape Breton, (4th year – Pickering, Ont.)
Marc-Denault Gabriel, Saint Mary’s, (3rd year – Montreal, Que.)
Norm Burry, UNB, (3rd year – Grafton, N.B.)
Marcus Barnes, UNB, (2nd year – Kitchener, Ont.)

All-Rookie Team
Koat Thomas, STFX, (Waterloo, Ont.)
Spencer Riar, Dalhousie, (Montreal, Que.)
Tjark Lademacher, Saint Mary’s, (Luneberg, Germany)
Aaron Cunningham, Cape Breton, (Shelburne, Ont.)
Josh Francis, Memorial, (Calgary, Alta.)

The 2024 AUS Basketball Championships, presented by Bell and G-Series, will be hosted at Scotiabank Centre in Halifax, N.S., Feb. 23 to 25. 
For more information on tickets, standings and the full event schedule, visit


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus