More Dal alumni join Order of Canada ranks

- July 6, 2023

Order of Canada recipients clockwise from top left: Kathryn Moran, Haissam Haddad, Grant Pierce, Peter Showler, James Igloliorte, Joan Garson, G. Lynn Jones.
Order of Canada recipients clockwise from top left: Kathryn Moran, Haissam Haddad, Grant Pierce, Peter Showler, James Igloliorte, Joan Garson, G. Lynn Jones.

Canada’s newest Order of Canada inductees were recently named, honouring individuals who exemplify the Order’s Latin moto, desiderantes meliorem patriam, or, “they desire a better country.” Considered one of Canada’s highest honours, the Order celebrates individuals across all sectors of society whose innovations have ignited imaginations and whose compassion has united communities.

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, described the Order’s most recent honourees as “a group of individuals who, through dedication and ajuinnata —perseverance — make our communities and country better every day.”

Joining the ranks of the now 7,800 Order recipients are seven of Dalhousie’s alumni, including Joan H. Garson (BA’75), G. Lynn Jones (BA’76), Peter Showler (LLB’83), James Igloliorte (LLB’85), Grant N. Pierce (MSc’79), Haissam Haddad (PGM’95) and Kathryn Moran (PhD’95).

Joan H. Garson (BA’75)

Joan Garson was appointed Member of the Order of Canada for her leadership and governance of numerous non-profit organizations within Jewish communities, across Canada and around the world. Throughout her career, she has been active in a range of Jewish and Zionist roles, including leadership roles in her synagogue, Toronto’s the Holy Blossom Temple, and within the Reform Movement in Israel and internationally.

Dr. G. Lynn Jones (BA’76)

Halifax’s own Dr. Jones was appointed Member for her leadership in the Canadian labour movement, and in advancing equity, justice and human rights, in her province and abroad. A longstanding Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC) member and federal public service employee, she has been an activist in the fight to eradicate racism, secure human rights, and achieve fair labour practices. Halifax’s Saint Mary’s University now proudly houses The Lynn Jones African Canadian & Diaspora Heritage Collection in its University Archives, documenting the lives of Dr. Jones, her family, and more than 50 years of African, African Diasporic and African Nova Scotian heritage and history.

Peter Showler (LLB’83)

For his leadership and mentorship in immigration and refugee law, Peter Showler was appointed Member of the Order of Canada. He has served as the University of Ottawa’s director of the Refugee Forum, which undertakes various research and law reform initiatives dealing with refugee law, is the former chairperson of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada, and is the author of Refugee Sandwich: Stories of Exile and Asylum, a story exposing the dilemmas faced by participants in the refugee determination process.

The Honourable James Igloliorte (LLB’85)

The honourable James Igloliorte was appointed Officer of the Order of Canada for his contributions as a provincial court judge, and for his transformational leadership at the helm of prominent public inquiries. Throughout his career, he had made it his mission to ensure that the administration of justice is more responsive to Inuit culture and traditions. A recipient of the 1999 National Aboriginal Achievement Award in Law and Justice, he is also the first judge in Canada to apply the code of colour when a group of Innu who stood before his court were charged with trespassing on the grounds of a Canadian Armed Forces base.

Dr. Grant Pierce (MSc’79)

For his contributions as a distinguished professor in the department of Physiology and Pathophysiology at the University of Manitoba, and for identifying the value of nutraceuticals in the prevention of cardiovascular disease, Dr. Pierce was named Member of the Order of Canada. He has published over 250 peer-reviewed research manuscripts, and eight textbooks on the topics of medicine and health. He has served in many roles in his career, including as Chair of the Executive Scientific Review Committee for the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada, where he oversaw all peer review for three years. Dr. Pierce is also the recipient of the Order of Manitoba, the highest distinction for a citizen of the province.

Dr. Haissam Haddad (PGM’95)

For his dedication to the field of medicine, notably with the University of Ottawa Heart Institute and the University of Saskatchewan, Dr. Haddad has been named Officer of the Order of Canada. He has earned numerous prestigious awards, including the 2004 Anemia Institute for Research Education Award, the 2000 First Award Prize in the International Competition of the American College of Physicians, and the 2011 Canadian Heart Failure Network Excellence Award.

Dr. Kathryn Moran (PhD’95)

Dr. Moran was named Officer of the Order of Canada for her innovative leadership as a researcher, policy advisor and administrator in ocean engineering and climate action. With research focusing on marine geotechnics and its application to the study of paleoceanography, tectonics and seafloor stability, she had led several major oceanographic expeditions, including the first drilling expedition to the Arctic Ocean. She has also advised the White House in its response to the 2010 Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico, and has authored more than 45 publications.

The newest appointees will be invited to an investiture ceremony at a later date to receive their insignia. The Dalhousie community extends heartfelt congratulations to all recent inductees.


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus