Congrats, Tigers! Celebrating varsity athletic excellence at the 2023 Black and Gold awards banquet

- April 6, 2023

2023 Major Award Winners - Nick Pearce photo
2023 Major Award Winners - Nick Pearce photo

Dalhousie University’s Department of Athletics recognized inspirational athletes, committed coaches and incredible volunteers at the 68th Annual Black and Gold Athletic Awards Banquet.

This season, Dalhousie celebrated eight AUS championship titles, five U SPORTS All-Canadian awards, 21 major AUS and U SPORTS awards, 51 AUS all-stars, and four U SPORTS medals. The men’s and women’s curling teams both earned silver medals at the U SPORTS championships, while the women’s volleyball team finished in third to bring home the bronze. U SPORTS silver medallist Aidan Goslett of the men’s track & field and cross country teams earned his first Climo Award (male athlete of the year), while volleyball player Lucy Glen-Carter was named the Class of ’55 winner (female athlete of the year).

A fourth-year runner, Aidan Goslett had a breakout season. He helped lead the men’s track and field team to an AUS championship title earning two gold and a silver medal at the conference championships this year. An AUS all-star, he was also named a U SPORTS second team All-Canadian after earning a sliver medal in the 1000m event at the national championships. Goslett also crossed the line in fourth in the 1500m event and anchored the 4x800m relay team to a fifth-place finish. He also set two new Dalhousie records in the 1000m and 1500m.

Fourth-year outside hitter Lucy Glen-Carter led the nation in kills per set this year and set a new Dalhousie record for kills in a regular season with 368. The AUS MVP, she was also a first team all-star and was instrumental in securing the Tigers 10th consecutive AUS championship title. A U SPORTS first team All-Canadian, she was named to the championship all-star team after leading Dalhousie to a bronze medal finish at the national championship.


Complete list of major award winners:

Team Most Valuable Player Awards: 

(M) Nginyu Ngala            
(W) Mercy Olugu

Cross Country   
(M) Hudson Grimshaw-Surette & Daniel Rosen
(W) Lauren Lowther

(M) Adam McEachren
(W) Marin Callaghan 

(M) Matt Green
(W) Gabrielle Noordijk 

(M) Kyle Routledge
(W) Megan Chiasson 

(M) Noah Mascoll-Gomes                           
(W) Reagan Crowell & Allison McCloy     

Track and Field 
(M) Aidan Goslett
(W) Temi Toba-Oluboka

(M) Michael Donovan
(W) Lucy Glen-Carter

Manager of the Year: Chris MacNeil, Men’s Hockey 

Volunteer Award: Joe Wells, Women’s Basketball

Trainers of the Year:
Neil Pickett, Men’s Basketball
Julia Pottie, Women’s Hockey

Rookies of the Year:
(M) Lucas Condon-Oldreive, Volleyball
(W) Elise Evans, Soccer

Coach of the Year: Cindy Tye, Women’s Soccer

President’s Award for academics, athletics, leadership and community service:
(M) Hudson Grimshaw-Surette, Cross Country/Track & Field
(W) Annabel Gravely, Soccer
(W) Temi Toba-Oluboka, Track & Field

Climo Award - Male Athlete of the Year: Aidan Goslett, Track & Field/Cross Country

Class of ’55 Award - Female Athlete of the Year: Lucy Glen-Carter, Volleyball


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus