Tigers athletes celebrated at 65th annual Black & Gold Athletic Banquet

Celebrating a successful 2018-19 season

- March 29, 2019

2019 varsity major award winners
2019 varsity major award winners

At the 65th Annual Black and Gold Athletic Awards Banquet Thursday night, Dalhousie University’s Department of Athletics recognized inspirational athletes, committed coaches and incredible volunteers. 

This season, Dalhousie celebrated nine AUS championship titles, nine U SPORTS all-Canadian awards, 27 major AUS and U SPORTS awards, 45 AUS all-stars, four U SPORTS medals and volunteered over 4,000 hours of community service. Matthew Coolen, of the men’s track and field team, earned his second Climo (male athlete of the year) award and volleyball player Courtney Baker was named the Class of ’55 winner (female athlete of the year) for the second-consecutive year. 

A fourth-year sprinter on the men’s track and field team, Matthew Coolen had a tremendous season on the track. An AUS all-star for the fourth-straight year, Coolen won two gold and one silver at the AUS championships. Two weeks later, he went on to win the 60m event on day one of the U SPORTS championships for the second-consecutive season, earning U SPORTS first team all-Canadian honours. The next day, earned a sliver medal in the 60m hurdles. 

Courtney Baker had an outstanding year on the court, leading the Tigers to their seventh-consecutive AUS championship title. Currently in her fourth season with the Tigers, she was named the conference’s most valuable player for the second-straight year and was selected as an AUS first team all-star for the third time. The AUS championship MVP, Baker earned recognition on the national stage as a U SPORTS first team all-Canadian and was selected to the championship all-star team after leading the Tigers to a fourth-place finish. 

Complete list of major award winners:

Team Most Valuable Player Awards: 

(M) Cedric Sanogo
(W) Robertha Charles

Cross Country   
(M) James Cromack
(W) Michelle Reddy

(M) Matthew Manuel
(W) Kristin Clarke 

(M) Reilly Pickard & Connor Hicks
(W) Fabiana Petricca

(M) Ben Grondin
(W) Maya Venkataraman

(M) Alec Karlsen
(W) Isabel Sarty              

Track and Field
(M) Matthew Coolen
(W) Maya Reynolds

(M) Graham Schmuland
(W) Courtney Baker

Manager of the Year: Andrea Plato, Men’s Basketball

Volunteer Awards:
Ann Johnsen, Swimming
Kieshia Mills, Swimming
Tony Eden, Men’s Hockey
Mike Bawol, Track & Field 

Trainers of the Year:
Claire Reardon, Women’s Basketball
Emily Boulding, Women’s Volleyball 

Rookies of the Year:
(M) Christian Payne, Swimming
(W) Reagan Crowell, Swimming 

Coach of the Year: Rick Scott, Women’s Volleyball 

President’s Award for academics, athletics, leadership and community service:
(M) Tyler Immel-Herron, Swimming
(W) Diedre Alexander, Basketball

Climo Award - Male Athlete of the Year: Matthew Coolen, Track & Field

Class of ’55 Award - Female Athlete of the Year: Courtney Baker, Volleyball


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus