63rd Black & Gold Athletic Banquet

Varsity Student-Athlete Awards Night

- March 30, 2017

Team MVPs and major award winners. Photo by Nick Pearce
Team MVPs and major award winners. Photo by Nick Pearce

At the 63rd Annual Black and Gold Athletic Awards Banquet Wednesday night, Dalhousie University’s Department of Athletics recognized inspirational athletes, committed coaches and incredible volunteers. This season, Dalhousie celebrated seven AUS championship titles, seven U SPORTS all-Canadian awards, 37 major AUS and U SPORTS awards, 62 AUS all-stars, three U SPORTS medals and volunteered over 2,000 hours of community service. Kashrell Lawrence, of the men’s basketball team, earned his first Climo (male athlete of the year) award and swimmer Phoebe Lenderyou was named the Class of ’55 winner (female athlete of the year) for the second-consecutive season.

A fifth-year forward with the men’s basketball team, Kashrell Lawrence had a remarkable season with the Tigers, leading them to their third consecutive AUS championship title and a third place finish at the U SPORTS championship. A U SPORTS championship all-star, Lawrence was also an AUS first team all-star and AUS championship all-star.  He also received both the conference and national men’s basketball community service awards.

Phoebe Lenderyou had an outstanding year in the pool, leading the Tigers to an 11th place finish at the U SPORTS championships. In her third season with the Tigers, Lenderyou earned a bronze medal in the 100m backstroke, in addition to two fourth-place finishes (50m and 200m backstroke) at the U SPORTS championships. A two-time AUS female swimmer of the year, she won all 19 conference events she entered this season, including six gold medals at the AUS championships.

Complete list of major award winners:

Team Most Valuable Player Awards:

(M) Kashrell Lawrence
(W) Shalyn Field

Cross Country
(M) William Russell
(W) Colleen Wilson

(M) Wes Herrett
(W) Lisa Maclean

(M) Freddy Bekkers
(W) Amanda Bowles

(M) Gavin Dyke
(W) Phoebe Lenderyou              

Track and Field
(M) Mike Van Der Poel
(W) Sarah Myatt

(M) Kristen O’Brien
(W) Marisa Mota  

Manager of the Year: Katie Webster, Swimming

Volunteer Award: Evan Bezanson, Cross Country

Trainers of the Year:
Brett Armstrong, Women’s Volleyball
Lauren Johnston, Swimming/Track & Field

Rookies of the Year:
(M) Alec Karlsen, Swimming
(W) Maya Reynolds, Track & Field and Robertha Charles, Basketball

Coach of the Year: Rick Scott, Women’s Volleyball

President’s Award for academics, athletics, leadership and community service:
(M) Jonathan Doucett, Soccer
(W) Abby Czenze, Volleyball

Climo Award - Male Athlete of the Year: Kashrell Lawrence, Basketball

Class of ’55 Award - Female Athlete of the Year: Phoebe Lenderyou, Swimming


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus