61st Annual Black & Gold Athletic Banquet

Tigers shine at awards night

- March 25, 2015

The top award winners at the Tigers banquet.
The top award winners at the Tigers banquet.

At the 61st Annual Black and Gold Athletic Awards Banquet on Wednesday evening, Dalhousie’s Department of Athletics and Recreational Services recognized inspirational athletes, committed coaches and incredible volunteers.

This season, Dalhousie celebrated eight AUS championship titles, nine CIS all-Canadian awards, 38 major AUS and CIS awards, 68 AUS all-star awards, five CIS medals and over 2,000 hours of community service. Bryan Duquette, of the men’s volleyball team, earned his first Climo (male athlete of the year) award and swimmer Meagan Bernier was named the Class of ’55 winner (female athlete of the year) for the first time in her five-year career with the Tigers.

A fifth-year outside hitter with the men’s volleyball team, Bryan Duquette had a remarkable season with the Tigers, leading them to an AUS championship title and a fourth place finish at the CIS championship. He led the AUS with 3.38 kills per set, and was just one dig away from leading the league in digs as well. Bryan was an AUS all-star and was selected as the league MVP. At the CIS level, he was recognized as a CIS first team all-Canadian and a CIS championship all-star. He is the first Dalhousie player to be named a CIS championship all-star since Niklas Rademacher in 2008.

Meagan Bernier had an outstanding year in the pool, leading the Tigers to a fifth place finish at the CIS championship. She ended her five-year career with a CIS gold medal in the 800m freestyle. She beat her previous best time in the event by almost seven seconds on her way to becoming a CIS first team all-Canadian. She is the first women’s swimmer to win gold at the CIS championships since Patti Boyles in 1985. In addition to being an AUS all-star, she received swimmer of the year honours for the third time in her career.

Complete list of major award winners

Team Most Valuable Player Awards:

(M) Kashrell Lawrence
(W) Courtney Thompson

Cross Country
(M) Matthew McNeil
(W) Emily Clarke

(M) Corbin Boes
(W) Lisa MacLean

(M) Bezick Evraire
(W) Kristy McGregor-Bales

(M) Kyle Watson
(W) Meagan Bernier                      

Track and Field
(M) Jordan Bruce
(W) Rebecca Haworth

(M) Bryan Duquette
(W) Abby Czenze and Marisa Mota

Manager of the Year Award: Meghan Toswell, Swimming

Volunteer Awards: Diane Bell, Swimming and Carol Rosenthall, Women’s Basketball

Trainer of the Year: Colin Flysak, Swimming

Rookie of the Year Awards:
(M) Corbin Boes, Hockey and Sean Berrigan, Swimming
(W) Phoebe Lenderyou, Swimming

Coach of the Year Award:
Dan Ota, Men’s Volleyball and Rick Plato, Men’s Basketball

President’s Award for academics, athletics, leadership and community service:
(M) Ben MacAskill, Hockey
(W) Rebecca Haworth, Track and Field

Class of ’55 Award - Female Athlete of the Year: Meagan Bernier, Swimming

Climo Award - Male Athlete of the Year: Bryan Duquette, Volleyball


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus