Annual Dalhousie Tigers celebration highlights stand‑out student‑athletes

- March 31, 2014

Highlights from the 60th Annual Black and Gold Athletic Awards Banquet
Highlights from the 60th Annual Black and Gold Athletic Awards Banquet

At the 60th Annual Black and Gold Athletic Awards Banquet this evening, Dalhousie's Department of Athletics and Recreational Services recognized inspirational athletes, committed coaches and incredible volunteers.

This season, Dalhousie celebrates six AUS championship titles, seven CIS all-Canadian awards, 36 major AUS and CIS awards, 57 AUS all-star awards and over 2,000 hours of community service. Swimmer David Shape earned his second consecutive Climo (male athlete of the year) award, his third in five years. High jumper Rebecca Haworth was named the Class of ’55 winner (female athlete of the year) for the first time in her four years with the Tigers.

This season 2012 Olympian Sharpe set new Dalhousie records in two events this year. The AUS champion in the 100 and 200 metre backstroke and butterfly events, Sharpe was named an AUS all-star and the AUS Swimmer of the Year. At the CIS championship Sharpe won a silver medals in the 50 metre backstroke and a bronze medal in the 200 metre butterfly, bringing his five year career CIS medal count to 13 (three gold, six silver and four bronze.)

A four-time AUS high jump champion, Haworth leapt to new heights this season, jumping higher at each event than she did the last. She was named and AUS all-star and the female field athlete of the year. At the CIS championship, Haworth set a new Dalhousie, AUS and Nova Scotia record on her way to a silver medal, jumping 1.82m. Haworth was also named the AUS student-athlete community service award winner for the fourth consecutive year and the CIS student-athlete community service award winner for the third time in four years.

Complete list of major award winners:

A.J. Sandy Young Award (for contribution to Nova Scotia sport): Rod and Joan Shoveller (posthumously)

Team Most Valuable Player Awards:


(M) Ritchie Kanza Mata                                                  

(W) Courtney Thompson

Cross Country   

(M) Matthew McNeil

(W) Ellen Chappell


(M) Brad McConnell

(F) Fielding Montgomery


(M) Bezick Evraire

(W) Joanna Blodgett


(M) David Sharpe                            

(W) Meagan Bernier                      

Track and Field 

(M) Chas Smith

(W) Rebecca Haworth


(M) Bryan Duquette

(W) Maggie Li & Desiree Nouwen

Manager of the Year Award: Kit Moran, Men’s & Women’s Swimming

Volunteer Awards: Hannah Gonzales, Women’s Basketball

Trainer of the Year: Gonzales, Women’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year Awards

(M) Chas, Track and Field

(W) Shalyn Field, Basketball 

Coach of the Year Award: Rick Scott, women's volleyball

President's Award for academic, athletics, leadership and community service:

(M) Nathan Rogers, Soccer

(W) Kristy McGregor-Bales, Soccer

Gordon S Rankin Memorial Scholarship Award: Hollie MacDonald, Basketball & Tony Liew, Swimming

Class of '55 Award - Female Athlete of the Year: Rebecca Haworth, Track and Field

Climo Award - Male Athlete of the Year: David Sharpe, Swimming


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus