Kudos across campus

- July 18, 2011

Dr. David Precious is honored for his humanitarianism with the Canadian Dental Association's Medal of Honour.
Dr. David Precious is honored for his humanitarianism with the Canadian Dental Association's Medal of Honour.

Kudos from the Vice-President Academic and Provost celebrates external recognition for outstanding achievements of Dalhousie faculty, staff, and students.


Congratulations to Dalhousie’s Web Revitalization Project Team, upon receiving a Canadian Association of University Business Officers (CAUBO) award for the Web Revitalization Project. The Atlantic Region 2011 Quality and Productivity Award was presented to Dalhousie University at the CAUBO annual conference held in Calgary in June. This award recognizes the best among innovative solutions and initiatives that address institutional needs.  Dwight Fischer, Asa Kachan and Catherine Bagnell Styles lead the Web Steering Group in transforming how the web is managed—moving it from a decentralized model to an integrated team approach in its management—exemplifying how a shared leadership model can work toward institutional goals.  Congratulations for the efforts of all involved!

Board of Governors

Congratulations to Wadih Fares (Board member) who was recently named Atlantic Business Magazine's Atlantic Canada CEO of the Year. 

Faculty of Dentistry

Congratulations to Reginald Goodday upon receiving a Distinguished Service Award from the Canadian Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, for long standing contribution to the oral and maxillofacial specialty and the dentistry profession.

Congratulations to David Precious upon receiving the 2010 Canadian Dental Association (CDA) Medal of Honour, recognizing outstanding service, leadership and humanitarianism at the local, provincial, national and international levels. Dr. Precious is the second-ever recipient of the CDA Medal of Honour.

Congratulations to David Precious are extended again. Dr. Precious was awarded an honourary doctorate at Laval University on June 19, 2011 in Quebec City.  Dr. Precious was recognized for his outstanding contribution to the advancement of his specialty and various philanthropic missions. Laval's Recteur, Denis Briere, presided.

Faculty of Health Professions

Congratulations to Marilyn MacKay-Lyons (Physiotherapy) who was awarded an Outstanding Volunteer Award by Lieutenant Governor Mayann Francis in recognition of her long-term contribution to the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Nova Scotia.

Congratulations to Mary Petty (Adjunct Professor, School of Social Work) who received the 2011 Award of Excellence in HIV and Rehabilitation from the Canadian Working Group on HIV and Rehabilitation (CWGHR).  Dr. Petty received her award at a ceremony in Toronto on June 11.

Congratulations to Ingrid Sketris (College of Pharmacy) – on May 12 a motion was read in the Nova Scotia House of Assembly  by the Honorable Maureen MacDonald, Minister of Health and Wellness, recognizing the contribution of Health Services Research at Dalhousie and thanking Dr. Sketris for her commitment and leadership in this area for the past 10 years.

Faculty of Science

Congratulations to Bernie Boudreau (Oceanography) upon being elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society of Canada by his peers in the Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences Division of the Academy of Science. As his letter of appointment states, “Your election is a telling recognition of your remarkable accomplishments and an invitation to further the leadership you have already shown in advancing knowledge and scholarship in Canada.”  

Congratulations to Sherry Stewart (Psychiatry, Psychology) who was honoured as a CPA Fellow at the Welcoming Ceremony at the 2011 CPA Convention.  CPA Fellows are members of the Canadian Psychological Association who have made a distinguished contribution to the advancement of science, education and training, and/or the practice of psychology or who have given exceptional service to their national or provincial associations.

The Office of the Vice-President Academic and Provost relies on you to provide information regarding awards and recognitions received.  If you have recently received special recognition, or know of a colleague who has, please submit this news to kim.thomson@dal.ca for inclusion in an upcoming publication of Kudos.


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus