For fun and fitness

- August 30, 2010

The Dalplex team: (back) Corey Young, Aidan Rafuse, Ryan Blair, Maia Dauphinee, Alex Girard, Pat Nearing. Front, Andrew Harding, Pat McGrath, Andrea Nelson, Chris Keough.

The Dalhousie Summer Softball League, also known as the Bruce Moore Memorial Softball League, enjoyed another great season with 11 teams from across campus competing for the league title.

The league consisted of the following teams: English Canons, Adiabats (Oceanography), RegiStars, Microbiology and Immunology, Dal News Bears, Chemistry, I.T.S. Geek Squad, SBME (School of Biomedical Engineering), Dalplex, Psychology/History, and Tupper.

The regular season ended with the Adiabats ranked first, RegiStars second, Dalplex third, and Tupper fourth, but the playoffs would prove that the top-ranked teams don't always win the title. As the double elimination playoffs progressed, Tupper defeated the RegiStars in the quarter final elimination match, setting up the semi-final elimination match with Dalplex. Dalplex ended up winning this very close game by one run to advance to the final to face the undefeated Adiabats.

In order to win Dalplex had to win twice, while the Adiabats, who had defeated Dalplex earlier in the tournament, only had to win once. Dalplex ended up winning both games to claim the title, but each game went down to the final inning with both teams making great defensive plays and timely hits.


All comments require a name and email address. You may also choose to log-in using your preferred social network or register with Disqus, the software we use for our commenting system. Join the conversation, but keep it clean, stay on the topic and be brief. Read comments policy.

comments powered by Disqus