Staff Contacts

Office of Research Services

Research Services


Nancy Hayter
Assistant Vice-President, Research Services
Email: nancy.hayter@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3859

Areas of responsibility:
• oversees ORS research processes and policies
• signs off on research funding applications and awards following review by ORS staff
• involved in major institutional applications
• liaises with Dal central units, hospital research offices and funding agencies
• undertakes institutional reporting.



Trevor Weissent
Director, Research Services
Email: trevor.weissent@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1743

Areas of responsibility:
• advises on and oversees major institutional awards on behalf of the Vice-President Research and Innovation (VPRI)
• advises on and oversees operating and discretionary fund accounts under VPRI control, including business planning, funding proposals, financial reporting, and process development
• oversees daily operation and administration of the Office of Research Services.

 


Elaine Lee-Adams
Receptionist and Administrative Assistant

Email: elaine.lee-adams@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1848

Areas of responsibility:
• provides reception support for the Office of Research Services
• maintains ORS boardroom schedule
• provides administrative support to ORS units.

Contracts/Legal


Jody Rice Gallagher
Legal Advisor

Email: jody.rice@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3431

Areas of responsibility:
• reviews legal agreements for ORS units (except ILI) related to research at Dalhousie including grants, contracts, transfer agreements, inter-institutional agreements, service agreements, sub-site agreements, clinical trials and other research matters
• provides legal advice on research-related issues through liaison with the Legal Counsel Office and provides advice on policies related to research.



Sara Leslie
Contracts Support Specialist &
ORS Administrative Assistant
Email: sara.leslie@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 4564

Areas of responsibility:
• provides specialized administrative support to ORS Legal
• serves as initial contact for ORS Legal and liaises with researchers and other departments on requests and queries
• provides administrative support to ORS units.

 

Ethics (Human)


Catherine Connors
Director, Research Ethics

Email: catherine.connors@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1462

Areas of responsibility:
• oversees University’s Research Ethics Boards, Research Ethics unit and manages ethics review and oversight process for research involving humans
• develops policy, procedures and educational resources
• provides ethical guidance to researchers, responds to research participant concerns and serves as principal liaison on ethics issues with external stakeholders.

 


Angela Hersey
Manager, Research Ethics

Email: angela.hersey@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1895

Areas of responsibility:
• advises researchers on project-related ethical issues
• prepares review letters.




Nardeen Grace
Ethics Support Specialist &
ORS Administrative Assistant
Email: ethics@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3423

Areas of responsibility:
• serves as initial contact for inquiries and coordinates Board meetings
• facilitates the research ethics review process for initial submissions, re-submissions, amendment requests, continuing and final reports, and release of funds requests
• communicates REB decisions to researchers.

 

Grants and Contracts


David Spurrell
Manager, Grants and Contracts
Faculties of Science and Engineering
Email: david.spurrell@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1160

Areas of responsibility:
• manages Grants and Contracts Unit
• facilitates grant applications to the Tri-Agency and other Canadian funding agencies
• organizes outreach sessions and manages Dalhousie’s NSERC internal funding programs.



Christine Whitehouse
Research Grants Facilitator
Faculties of Architecture and Planning, Arts and Social Sciences, Law, Management and Computer Science.
Email: christine.whitehouse@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 2872

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates grant applications to the Tri-Agency and other Canadian funding agencies
• organizes outreach sessions and educational resources
• manages Dalhousie’s SSHRC internal funding programs.



Susan Haydt
Research Grants Facilitator 

Dentistry, Health, Medicine (and Biomedical Engineering)
Email: susan.haydt@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1333

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates grants applications to the Tri-Agency and other Canadian funding agencies
• organizes outreach sessions and educational resources.



Caroline Sequeira
Research Grants Officer (Post-award)

Email: caroline.sequiera@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 2247

Areas of responsibility:
• authorizes the opening of research accounts
• facilitates the transfer of funds between institutions
• ensures compliance with university and agency policies and procedures.




Keerthi Baruah
Research Administrator (Pre-award)

Email: keerthi.baruah@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 4343

Areas of responsibility:
• supports the processing of grant applications and associated documentation
• updates and maintains grant application statistics and reports
• facilitates outreach sessions and events.

 



Cheryl Paris
Research Officer & Animal Care Coordinator

(Agricultural Campus)
Email: cheryl.paris@dal.ca  Phone: 902 893 2635

Areas of responsibility:
• provides post-award support for the Faculty of Agriculture (grants and contracts)
• coordinates Animal Ethics for Agricultural campus.

 


Sara Murphy
Research and Development Coordinator

(Agricultural Campus)
Email: sara.murphy@dal.ca  Phone: 902 893 6028

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates grant applications from the Faculty of Agriculture 
• advises on funding programs and university processes and policies 
• organizes outreach events on the Agricultural campus.

Information Management


Jaq-Lin Larder
IM Database Administrator

Email: jaq-lin.larder@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3853

Areas of responsibility:
• manages ROMEO research database and Researcher Portal
• prepares periodic and ad-hoc research funding reports
• oversees quality assurance program for ROMEO database.



Khyati Raval
Data Technician
Email: khyati.raval@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1376

Areas of responsibility:
• provides support to Research Portal users
• compiles quality assurance reports
• inputs research data into ROMEO database.

Institutional Programs and International Research & Development (CFI, CRC, CERC, NCE, Genome etc.)



Shelley Brown
Manager, Institutional Programs

Email: shelley.brown@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 8885

Areas of responsibility:
• manages CRC, CFI, NFRF and other major institutional funding programs
• advises on funding agency and University policies and procedures
• coordinates teams for large-scale institutional applications and liaises with external consultant.



Danielle Andres
Facilitator, Institutional Programs

Email: danielle.andres@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3036

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates and reviews applications to Genome Canada, CFI JELF and RNS
• manages reporting to CFI and RNS.



Amanda Leslie
International Research Administrator
Email: amanda.leslie@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 1738

Areas of responsibility:
• coordinates Dalhousie's Queen Elizabeth Scholars (QES), Global Affairs Canada/DFATD Student Exchange, and Mitacs Globalink programs
• supports processing of international applications and documentation
• supports various research (OVPRI/ORS) initiatives.

 


Chris Wirz
Financial Administrator
Email: chris.wirz@dal.ca  Phone: 902-494-1742

Areas of responsibility:
• assists with the development of proposal budgets (international and institutional)
• provides financial oversight on Dalhousie international project accounts
• provides financial administrative support for various OVPRI/ORS accounts.

 


Cynthia Sawler
Research Administrator

Email: cynthia.sawler@dal.ca  Phone: 902 494 3273

Areas of responsibility:
• facilitates CFO post-award, including Infrastructure Operating Fund (IOF)
• coordinates large-scale institutional competitions.