Faculty & Staff

The School of Planning is vibrant and successful. Our programs attract large numbers of good applicants, our graduates easily find work and success in their careers, and the quality of our education is recognized within the planning profession across the country. As well, faculty research has flourished and students benefit from collaboration between professors, community members, and each other. Our faculty and staff, as well as our students pursuing professional planning degrees, are all part of our community here.

Please click on the options in the side menu to learn more about our administration, faculty, BCD Honours students, and MPlan students. 


Ahsan Habib
dirplan@dal.ca (902) 494-3209
Kate Thompson
Undergraduate Advisor
kate.thompson@dal.ca (902) 494-4255
Lisa Berglund
Graduate Program Coordinator
Jeffrey Biggar
Undergraduate Program Coodinator
Jeffrey.biggar@dal.ca (902) 494-3993
Brenda Matheson
Undergraduate Secretary & Assistant to the Director
brenda.matheson@dal.ca (902) 494-3260
Punit Patel
Graduate Secretary
(902) 431-0280
Undergraduate Inquiries planning@dal.ca  
Graduate Inquiries  plangrad@dal.ca  



Lisa Berglund lisa.berglund@dal.ca (902) 494-1763
Jeffrey Biggar jeffrey.biggar@dal.ca (902) 494-3993
Ahsan Habib ahsan.habib@dal.ca (902) 494-3209
Eric Rapaport eric.rapaport@dal.ca (902) 494-7801
Mikiko Terashima mikiko.terashima@dal.ca (902) 494-3114
Ren Thomas ren.thomas@dal.ca (902) 494-7504
Kate Thompson  kate.thompson@dal.ca (902) 494-4255
Chad Walker chad.walker@dal.ca  


Professors Emeriti

Jill Grant jill.grant@dal.ca
Frank Palermo frank.palermo@dal.ca  


Cross-appointed Faculty

  Affiliation Interests
James Boxall GISciences Centre, Killam Library Maps and geospatial information
Daniel Rainham Elizabeth May Chair in Sustainability and Environmental Health Human health, sustainability
Tarah Wright Faculty of Science, Environmental Programs Coordinator Environmental science, sustainability
Martha Radice Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology Social and cultural dynamics of space

Adjunct Faculty

Kate Greene

MD Jahedul Alam

Jason Fox

Neil Lovitt

Jan Skora

Tristan Cleveland

Asif Hasan Anik

Alan Howell

Patricia Manuel

Hasan Shahrier

Reid Shepherd

Connor Wallace

Gareth Wasylynko

Colin Whitcomb