Academic Advising

Get to know one of our advisors

Our advisors will help you develop plans for a major, guide you through any questions you have about academic or administrative requirements, help you identify resources and opportunities on campus, and simply be there for you when you need to talk.

If you are interested in studying mathematics, statistics  or actuarial science, one of the advisors listed below would be happy to discuss how to mesh your plans and ambitions with the department's degree programs.

**The most effective way to communicate with the advisors is by email to make an appointment**

Mathematics Division

 

Roman Smirnov, Director & Undergraduate Advisor  

Tel:  (902) 494-3265
Email:roman.smirnov@dal.ca

 

David Iron, Graduate Coordinator

Tel:  (902) 494-2385
Email: david.iron@dal.ca

 

Dorette Pronk, Honours Coordinator  

Tel:  (902) 494-3732
Email: dorette.pronk@dal.ca

 

Statistics Division

 

Mike Dowd, Director

Tel: (902) 494-1048
Email: michael.dowd@dal.ca

 

Bruce Smith, Undergraduate Advisor & Honours Coordinator

Tel:  (902) 494- 2257
Email:bruce.smith@dal.ca

 

Joanna Mills-Flemming, Graduate Coordinator

Tel:  (902) 494-1268
Email:joanna.flemming@dal.ca
 

Actuarial Science Division

 
Toby Kenney, ACSC Undergraduate Advisor & ACSC Honours Coordinator Tel: (902) 494-3896
Email: tkenney@mathstat.dal.ca


You may also want to visit Dalhousie's Academic Support department which assists students in the discovery and development of their academic and career goals through advising.