Academic Advising

PREREQUISITE CHANGE

Please Note: Students entering second year biology courses in Fall 2017 or Winter 2018 are currently required to have a minimum grade of C+ (65%) in introductory biology (BIOL 1010/11/20/21) or the biology portion of SCIE 1505 (DISP). Effective Fall 2018, this prerequisite will change to C (60%).

Students who have already earned a final grade of C in BIOL 1010/11/20/21 or the biology portion of SCIE 1505 may be eligible for a prerequisite override to take second year biology courses in Fall 2017 and Winter 2018. Please contact a biology advisor immediately to discuss your options.
More info:  https://www.dal.ca/campus_life/academic-support/advising/advising-month.html .

BIOLOGY UNDERGRADUATE ADVISING Fall 2018
Send an e-mail to biology.advising@dal.ca to get an auto-reply with this information.

 

Majors and Minors Advisors (Biology and Marine Biology)

Biology and Marine Biology Majors and Minors Availability
Todd Bishop todd.bishop@dal.ca by appointment
Margi Cooper mhcooper@dal.ca by appointment
Gillian Gass gillian.gass@dal.ca by appointment

Lara Gibson

ldgibson@dal.ca Wed 9:30-10:30 and
by appointment

Debra Grantham

grantham@dal.ca

Tue 11:00-12:30 and by appointment
Elizabeth Welsh elwelsh@dal.ca Fri 1:00-3:00 and by appointment

 

Honours Advisors (Biology and Marine Biology)

HONOURS (Biology and Marine Biology) Availability
Margi Cooper
mhcooper@dal.ca by appointment
Patrice Côté patrice.Cote@dal.ca by appointment
Julie LaRoche julie.laroche@dal.ca by appointment
(starting Jan 2019)
Aaron MacNeil a.macneil@dal.ca by appointment (on leave Sep 20-Jan 20)
Mindy McCarville mindy.mccarville@dal.ca by appointment
Alan Pinder alan.pinder@dal.ca by appointment

 

Co-op Advisors (Biology and Marine Biology)

CO-OP (Biology) Availability
Mindy McCarville mindy.mccarville@dal.ca by appointment
CO-OP (Marine Biology) Availability
Nancy McAllister-Irwin
nancy.mcallister-irwin@dal.ca by appointment

 

Other Undergraduate Advisors

Transfer Credits/ Letters of Permission   Availability
Todd Bishop todd.bishop@dal.ca by appointment

 

Graduate Advisors

Graduate Coordinator Availability
Hal Whitehead hal.whitehead@dal.ca by appointment
Graduate Admissions Coordinator Availability
Daniel Ruzzante Ruzzante@dal.ca by appointment

 

Other links

Other
Degree Checklists;
http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/biology/programs.html
Co-operative Education dal.ca/coop  
Intramurals dal.ca/intramurals  
Faculty-based awards & scholarships dal.ca/scienceawards  
Academic Support dal.ca/learnwell
dal.ca/science/academicsupport
 
Student Societies dal.ca/science/societies