Academic Advising

PREREQUISITE CHANGE

Please Note: Students entering second year biology courses in Fall 2017 or Winter 2018 are currently required to have a minimum grade of C+ (65%) in introductory biology (BIOL 1010/11/20/21) or the biology portion of SCIE 1505 (DISP). Effective Fall 2018, this prerequisite will change to C (60%).

Students who have already earned a final grade of C in BIOL 1010/11/20/21 or the biology portion of SCIE 1505 may be eligible for a prerequisite override to take second year biology courses in Fall 2017 and Winter 2018. Please contact a biology advisor immediately to discuss your options.

BIOLOGY UNDERGRADUATE ADVISING Fall 2019
Send an e-mail to biology.advising@dal.ca to get an auto-reply with this information.

 

Majors and Minors Advisors (Biology and Marine Biology)

Biology and Marine Biology Majors and Minors Availability
Todd Bishop todd.bishop@dal.ca by appointment
Margi Cooper mhcooper@dal.ca by appointment
Gillian Gass gillian.gass@dal.ca by appointment

Lara Gibson

ldgibson@dal.ca Wed. 10:30-11:30
and by appointment

Debra Grantham

grantham@dal.ca

Thu. 10:30-11:30
and by appointment
Jennifer Van Dommelen by appointment by appointment
Elizabeth Welsh elwelsh@dal.ca Mon & Fri 1:00-2:30
(advance booking preferred)
and by appointment

 

Honours Advisors (Biology and Marine Biology)

HONOURS (Biology and Marine Biology) Availability
Margi Cooper
mhcooper@dal.ca by appointment
Patrice Côté patrice.Cote@dal.ca by appointment
Julie LaRoche julie.laroche@dal.ca by appointment
Aaron MacNeil a.macneil@dal.ca by appointment  
Glenn Crossin glenn.crossin@dal.ca by appointment

 

Co-op Advisors (Biology and Marine Biology)

CO-OP (Biology) Availability
Mindy McCarville mindy.mccarville@dal.ca by appointment
CO-OP (Marine Biology) Availability
Nancy McAllister-Irwin
nancy.mcallister-irwin@dal.ca by appointment

 

Other Undergraduate Advisors

Transfer Credits/ Letters of Permission   Availability
Todd Bishop todd.bishop@dal.ca by appointment

 

Graduate Advisors

Graduate Coordinator Availability
Hal Whitehead hal.whitehead@dal.ca by appointment
Graduate Admissions Coordinator Availability
Daniel Ruzzante Ruzzante@dal.ca by appointment

 

Other links

 

Other
Degree Planning Checklists

http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/biology/undergraduate.html
Undergraduate Research Opportunities dal.ca/science/urops
Science Seminars dal.ca/science/events
Co-operative Education dal.ca/coop
Academic Support dal.ca/science/academicsupport
Intramurals & Clubs dal.ca/intramurals
Awards & Scholarships academiccalendar.dal.ca > Undergraduate > Awards (in sidebar)
Student Societies dal.ca/science/societies
Student Health and Wellness dal.ca/campus_life/health-and-wellness.html

The BIOL-MARI Undergrads e-mail list is updated semi-annually with all declared BIOL and MARI majors. If you are not yet on the list and would like to be added, send an e-mail to Jennifer Van Dommelen (jvandomm@dal.ca).