Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

SRES Research Legacy Scholarship

NOTE: This scholarship is not available for September 2018 entry.  Stay tuned for its possible return in September 2019.

After 40 years of research excellence SRES is pleased to announce the creation of a new scholarship for highly qualified students interested in the Master of Environmental Studies program. Eligible students would pursue research in one of the five topic areas described below.

Eligibility

Eligibility for the SRES Legacy Scholarship is limited to Canadian citizens and permanent residents. Other interested candidates should contact the faculty member to discuss alternative funding sources.

Amount

Each scholarship is valued at $18,000 per year for two years and is unencumbered – recipients are not required to undertake any TA or RA work as a condition of taking up these scholarships.

We will work with Legacy Scholarship recipients to pursue additional external scholarships. Should additional scholarship support be secured, Legacy Scholarship funds will be used to top up to a maximum of $24,000 per year for years in which additional funds are secured.

How to Apply

Interested students must contact the SRES professor associated with the project(s) they are interested in as soon as possible, but ideally before the deadline of January 9, 2019.  Although six potential project topics are generally on offer, only two will be funded to start in the Fall of 2019.

Some recent research topics included:

Social and Environmental Issues Related to Harbour Divestiture in Canada

Project lead and contact: Tony Walker (trwalker@dal.ca)

How Can We Learn to Love the Renewable Energy Landscapes of the Anthropocene?

Project lead and contact: Prof. Kate Sherren (kate.sherren@dal.ca)

Landscape Ecology Meets Road Ecology

Project lead and contact: Prof. Karen Beazley (karen.beazley@dal.ca)  

The Living Among the Dead: Prospects for Better Tree Populations in Halifax Cemeteries

Project lead and contact: Prof. Peter Duinker (peter.duinker@dal.ca)

Hands Off My Wind Turbine: What is the Nature of ‘Community Energy’?

Project lead and contact: Prof. Michelle Adams (michelle.adams@dal.ca)

Understanding the Scale and Sources of Bait Inputs to Global Fisheries

Project lead and contact: Prof. Peter Tyedmers (peter.tyedmers@dal.ca)